Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 848 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 6.9

Nai K. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2016
Room need to refurbished
nice lobby. friendly staff. free parking
The room is old and below expectation. I was disappointed. I regret that i did not choose a new budget hotel. Totally not 4 star at all!
Reviewed January 12, 2016

ARUMUGAM T. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in January 2016
value for money
staff, location & affordability
good
Reviewed January 11, 2016

Jonathan J. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2015
smart Looking
1. View , location , Price
One night stay excellent parking and location
Reviewed January 09, 2016

Akhbar P. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in December 2015
A night in Kuching
Location, Clean, Good for relaxing
My stay is great, but the room i stayed was a bit small
Reviewed January 07, 2016

Tommy B. from Indonesia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in January 2016
The rooms are very nice
easy access to parking lot, location in the city, great view of from the hotel
Kids was very happy to enjoy the rooms. But the swimming pool is too small. Overall the we were very enjoy. Thanks
Reviewed January 07, 2016

Chung T. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Do not expect too much on the 4 star rating
Location, helpful staff,quiet
The safe deposit in my room wasn't working, but then the manager change a room for me.So, problem solved. The toiletries supplies tissues,soap,shampoo,cotton buds and shower cap. I was expecting a full set of toiletries including toothbrush and toothpaste. But it's fine, I just walk to nearby mall to get it. The size of the room is really packed for 2 person, but it's fine for single traveler with less luggage.The most surprising thing for me is, the room is not equipped with any mini fridge!!! Both room, my first and second room. The tv channel is very basic, probably suggesting the guest to go outdoor more. I hope there will be some improvement as not everyday is good for outdoor. I understand the price of RM170 per night is rather low, but it would be fair if the hotel highlight all the 'discounted quality' at the first place.
Reviewed January 05, 2016

Ahmed S. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in December 2015
Unfriendly staff
Unfriendly staff, hotel condition need maintenance, bad service, lousy breakfast
Reviewed January 05, 2016

ABDUL J. from Singapore
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Merdeka Palace Hotel and Suites Dec 2015 stay
1) Good location to nearby attractions 2) Easy to get taxi around the area.
Checking in was a breeze. 1st room allocate (unit 1105) was terrible. Carpet and sofa was dirty. No bar fridge and toilet with flickering lights. Free wifi given only when asked. Requested change of room. 2nd room (unit 1404) was no different in cleanliness. Sofa was torn and windows were dirty. Good high floor but unable to enjoy the view. Why a 4 star rated hotel have old CRT type TV fitted in both rooms?. 4 star rated in the 80's yes but not now. I do wonder if its because I book thru Agoda I was given such a run down rooms? Hope Agoda monitors types of rooms given to its customers.
Reviewed January 03, 2016

Toh H. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Excellent Staff Service
1, Staffs provide very good service. The location is at the center of Kuching city. 3. Near the shopping mall, riverside and china tower.
I am happy to stay at the Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites because of the excellent serivce.
Reviewed December 31, 2015

KUN T. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Disappointed stay at Merdeka Palace
Strategic location right in the middle of the city, convenient parking place for guest and nice lobby decoration and spacey.
Unpleasant experience due to a few factors. Firstly, the room are stink due to Cigeratte smell. Secondly, rooms are not well make up upon checking. There are no towels, floor mate, hand and face towels are not available event at 5pm. Drinking waters are not available until the next day. There are no kitchen utensils except a microwave oven. There are some cockroaches crawling at the living rooms. Limited choices of breakfast menu.
Reviewed December 24, 2015