Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, P.O. Box A298, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93000

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.3

based on
779 reviews

676 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.2
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (779)
Sort by:
Christina K. Solo travelers Malaysia, January 31, 2016
Good value for money

friendly staff, value for money , location
9.3
Good value for money,overall stay is satisfied. Will look forward to come back for next visit
Report this review
John W. Solo travelers Malaysia, January 17, 2016
Good value

Value for money, good location and excellence service.
9
My stay was excellence. Friendly and helpful staff. Well done to all staff. Keep it up.
Report this review
Arumugam T. Business travelers Malaysia, January 10, 2016
value for money

staff, location & affordability
9
good
Report this review
Nai L. Couples Malaysia, January 8, 2016
Room need to refurbished

nice lobby. friendly staff. free parking
4.3
The room is old and below expectation. I was disappointed. I regret that i did not choose a new budget hotel. Totally not 4 star at all!
Report this review
Tommy B. Families with young children Indonesia, January 3, 2016
The rooms are very nice

easy access to parking lot, location in the city, great view of from the hotel
7
Kids was very happy to enjoy the rooms. But the swimming pool is too small. Overall the we were very enjoy. Thanks
Report this review
Akhbar P. Families with young children Malaysia, January 1, 2016
A night in Kuching

Location, Clean, Good for relaxing
6.3
My stay is great, but the room i stayed was a bit small
Report this review
Ahmed H. Families with young children Malaysia, January 1, 2016
Unfriendly staff
4.7
Unfriendly staff, hotel condition need maintenance, bad service, lousy breakfast
Report this review
Chung U. Solo travelers Malaysia, January 1, 2016
Do not expect too much on the 4 star rating

Location, helpful staff,quiet
7.3
The safe deposit in my room wasn't working, but then the manager change a room for me.So, problem solved. The toiletries supplies tissues,soap,shampoo,cotton buds and shower cap. I was expecting a full set of toiletries including toothbrush and toothpaste. But it's fine, I just walk to nearby mall to get it. The size of the room is really packed for 2 person, but it's fine for single traveler with less luggage.The most surprising thing for me is, the room is not equipped with any mini fridge!!! Both room, my first and second room. The tv channel is very basic, probably suggesting the guest to go outdoor more. I hope there will be some improvement as not everyday is good for outdoor. I understand the price of RM170 per night is rather low, but it would be fair if the hotel highlight all the 'discounted quality' at the first place.
Report this review
Yusuf A. Business travelers Malaysia, January 1, 2016
Excellent Hotel reasonable Price

Excellent Clean Hotel Reasonable Price Near City Centre
8
Report this review
Abdul S. Families with older children Singapore, December 29, 2015
Merdeka Palace Hotel and Suites Dec 2015 stay

1) Good location to nearby attractions 2) Easy to get taxi around the area.
7
Checking in was a breeze. 1st room allocate (unit 1105) was terrible. Carpet and sofa was dirty. No bar fridge and toilet with flickering lights. Free wifi given only when asked. Requested change of room. 2nd room (unit 1404) was no different in cleanliness. Sofa was torn and windows were dirty. Good high floor but unable to enjoy the view. Why a 4 star rated hotel have old CRT type TV fitted in both rooms?. 4 star rated in the 80's yes but not now. I do wonder if its because I book thru Agoda I was given such a run down rooms? Hope Agoda monitors types of rooms given to its customers.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 676 reviews Next page
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites KuchingMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - LobbyMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Guest RoomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Guest RoomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Exclusive Apartment Suite Room OnlyMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - ApartmentMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Executive BoardroomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Meeting RoomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - BallroomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - RestaurantMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Seattle Coffee & TeaMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - RestaurantMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Food and BeveragesMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Fitness RoomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Swimming PoolMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Surroundings - Sarawak Museum Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - RestaurantMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - RestaurantMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Meeting RoomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Meeting Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C04