Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Merlin Beach Resort

99 Muen-Ngoen Rd., Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Patong, Phuket, Thailand 83150

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

8.0

based on 310 reviews

240 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (310)
Sort by:
Sadi V. Couples Japan, August 22, 2012
Good hotel but inconvenient location

Good and clean hotel with big swimming pool
5.3
The hotel is good for people who wants to have their holiday in a hotel. If you want to enjoy night life, I do not recommend you to stay here. Hotel is far from patong city center. You have to use taxi to go and come back. Each time it takes 300baht which is too much. Also, the hotel restaurants for lunch are not enough. However, the dinner has many varieties. I still recommend you to try restaurants in Patong.
Nugent A. Families with older children Australia, August 20, 2012
Lovely hotel with appauling service

Seperate pools for Adults and young children
5.3
Check in was impersonal and certainly not the typical Thai style that one wold and shoudl expect. Room was clean, well maintained and well equipt Service from restaurants is below average at best. breakfast is nothing short of a bismal disaster. rare to have a host welcome you. Ever more rare if you have anyone offer you tea or coffee. One ends up getting it yourself, if there is any left at the waiter side station. Egg station is appauling. Chefs provide no welcome, pleasantries, personality, hospitality or basic elements of customer service. More of a "what do you want" and leave it there. You also have to wait in line for at least 10 - 20 minutes to receive your food as once chef cooking omlettes etc for the whole resort is a joke. With no scrambled eggs in teh bayne marie, I asked the egg chef who said it is in the bayne marie and was not happy when i advised that there had been none in the bayne marie for 30 minutes. He reluctantly made me fresh eggs. Several managers were walking around and more concerned about getting their breakfast then helping the local staff. i also found it strange that there is no service during breakfast shift, yet to clean up, each morning around 10am 6 0 8 other staff magically appreared to help clean up. Would have been nice if they came earlier & actually helped the restaurant staff who were trying under difficult circumstances. Food quality is average at best, except the lasagna which was quite delicious. Pizzas are pretty good as well and resonably prices. Cocktails are a big focus at teh resort, reasonably priced but quality is average at best with what seems local spirits and not the real deal. Housekeeping is probably the high light of the staff. friendly, attentive, hard working and helpful. most other staff seem very tired, unmotivated, disinterested and lack the typical Thai hospitality that i have experienced for over 16 years in thailand. Very dissapointed as it is such a lovely resor
Restaurant Tip: Hogs Breath cafe has just opened up opposite Robinsons Department Store, up on the 3rd floor. Although service is beginning, it is very friendly and food is amazing if you need a western change. Prices very reasonable and staff are very accommodating. Rib eye is AMAZING!!! Aussie owner is lovely.
Corey A. Couples Australia, August 19, 2012
awesome hotel and great breakfast

pools, swim up ba,r breakfas,t restaurants were all fantastic
8.7
felt very comfortable and welcomed at this hotel and all the pools and breakfast was amazing. staff spoke good english compared to other places which is a plus, only bad thing i could say is you have to pay for wifi... would definatley stay here again
Matthijs S. Couples Netherlands, August 17, 2012
Honest Opinion Pros and Cons (8.5/10)

Secluded, large area, Beautiful views and swimming pools
8.7
I observed the following rooms and size of the rooms service is good, but speaking English with the Thai people doesn't always work, but for simple things its fine. Things to do are a bit limited at the resort, no tennis, squash, ping pong, archery, kayaking, water polo(which could easily be done with the number of swimming pools they have). Expect to be a bit screwed when it comes to money matters with any Thai establishment... remember this is a 3rd world country where money=survival Pool bar is great, so are the facilities for young children Ages 2-6 Taxi to/from Patong 300-500 baht depending on the time of day/night Food is quite good (but that's personal for most people) Beautiful areas to walk to and from if you like nature Of course you have to be active and get into town and book fun activities Hanuman Ziplining was my best experience, quite thrilling too!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Take the cheaper open boats for sightseeing the islands. Most people don't get a good view on the speed boats and I was lucky enough to get a guy sitting near me vomiting during most of the trip. Avoid the trips to many islands as well, since you're on the boat most of the time.
Mamiko K. Families with young children Japan, August 15, 2012
Lovely hotel & great service !

Good management & well trained staffs
10
We stayed for just 1 night. The moment we checked-in to this hotel, everything felt so good ! The services and especially the staffs were well trained & every single person greeted us. There was also a Japanese staff as well as few Filipinos staffs. The breakfast was great, the rooms were a little small but okay for us & comfortable. They have 3 big swimming pools with pool bars & music so adults could enjoy and the kids enjoyed the other side of the pool with slides. The hotel is located on the cliff, away from the busy patong beach but they have free shuttle bus so not much a problem.
Mark G. Groups United Kingdom, August 13, 2012
Very nice big quiet hotel outside patong

Amazing swimming pools and it's own beach
7.7
We stayed for 3 nights in a sea view room and we all really liked this resort. The kids loved the swimming pools and you can swim between two of them. The food was nice, breakfast was good and the cocktails great. My only moan is a bit quiet in the evenings but the resort was quite empty at the time so not Really there fault. Overall a really nice family resort.
Adrian L. Couples Australia, August 11, 2012
Teriffic location, lovely views

Pool area
6.7
We stayed for 2 and a half days, the air conditioner broke down 3 times with one of theses break downs being fixed by 2 a.m. I need to say no more. Very disappointed.
Geoffrey L. Couples Malaysia, August 10, 2012
Great place to relax

out from the busy town
9.3
Merlin Beach Resort is great. Although is situated slightly far compared to the rest of the hotel/resorts in Patong but you are able to get out from the busy town of Patong and relax at the resort.
Hotel Feature Tip: There is a little restaurant up the hill next to the beach called Little Tiger where food is cheaper than hotel's and taste really good too :) Addition to that, there are also massage and laundry service available next to the beach. Walk across the road from the hotel and you can catch a cheaper tuk tuk to Patong :) There is also free shuttle bus to Patong few times a day too.
Glyn D. Couples United Kingdom, August 2, 2012
Lovely hotel in great location

Lovely rooms, beautiful swimming pools, lovely food, helpful staff
9.3
We had a lovely time at Merlin Beach Resort. It is.a great place to relax by the pool sipping cocktails and it is only 10 minutes from Patong Beach, Bengla Road and the shopping precinct. The rooms are a great size and staff are very helpful and polite. We will definitely be staying there again.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Fantasea is a must see - amazing place! Day trip to Phi Phi Island and surrounding Islands is also a must do as is Elephant Trekking and visiting the big Buddha.
Danny C. Couples Australia, July 22, 2012
good resort

clean, open, good location
8
generally good resort style hotel with friendly staff. I thought the food was only average except for the Italian restaurant which was very good. Holiday experience could have been enhanced if the hotel had a sports bar showing live international sport (AFL, golf)and more access to international newspapers.
Previous page 91 - 100 of 240 reviews Next page


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C08