Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Merlin Beach Resort

99 Muen-Ngoen Rd., Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Patong, Phuket, Thailand 83150 (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Patong

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type


Very Good


based on
305 reviews

240 reviews in English

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (305)
Sort by:
Fiona E. Families with older children New Zealand, July 20, 2012
Exceptional hotel

Beautifully manicured gardens, clean rooms, friendly service
Merlin Beach Resort was fantastic. Top class hotel in lovely surroundings. Staff were friendly and hotel was very clean and looked after. We read many reviews before staying here and were not disappointed. Few minutes out of town but plenty of taxis to transport you and there is a courtesy shuttle that runs fairly regularly. Would definitely stay here again.
Report this review
Rosalie S. Couples Australia, July 18, 2012
What an impressive welcome to Thailand!

Hotel had everything we needed, was beautifully kept and the staff were excellent.
For our first visit to Thailand, we were more than happy with this resort and the helpful, polite and friendly staff. Loved our stay here!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Hotel is in a great location, far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Patong Beach but close enough to visit by taxi or tuk tuk. Courtesy bus runs from hotel.
Report this review
Fiona J. Groups China, June 24, 2012
fancy hotel

location food
hotel provide shuttle bus to the downtown. Great location with great view. you can enjoyo your breakfast face to the ocean. it's really awesome. If hotel can provide free wifi, it will be best.
Report this review
Cheung S. Couples Hong Kong, June 23, 2012
Good resort for vacation with family

swimming pool, private beach, overall decoration
Merlin Beach is a very nice resort for vacation because it's quite far from the city as well as the noise. There are good view with private beach. But the beach is not good for swimming. However, big swimming pool is provided. Many families love to play in the pool together. The hospitality is nice and room is good. Very good place to relax. But the location is a bit far from patong.
Report this review
Pei Y. Couples Malaysia, June 12, 2012
Great location

Near the beach have very nice environment
The check in procedure quite slow but the staff are friendly...they is so many bees around...there has three swimming pool...all is huge and clean...
Restaurant Tip: Nice food at the Italian outlet.
Report this review
Jed S. Couples Australia, June 10, 2012
Very Nice Hotel for Relaxing

Quiet,Good Breakfast for english food,good room, good shower, good bed,good pool.
me & my thai wife stayed there for 3 nights to catch up with some of my family. the hotel was very nice & clean, good staff and helpful, the breakfast was very good for english food but not much for thai food. the pools are good and the rooms where very nice with a good strong shower and a good bed. a lot of ferangs staying there from young guys to family's, so lots of people to talk to if your into that. it is a little bit out the way but good for if you want to just chill out at the hotel, but it isn't hard to get to patong, baht to get there and get back. if your on holiday its fine, but from living in thailand it is expensive but it is phuket so the prices are jacked up a bit.
Report this review
Jeremy F. Families with young children Malaysia, June 8, 2012
lovely hotel, quiet, private beach, good service

location...away from the noise of Patong
overall, a good hotel. ok service, rooms good, some renovation was going on during my stay, hence a little noisy, but did not inconvenience us. pity there is no wifi all around the hotel. pool, snooker payment required....
Report this review
Roderic C. Couples United States of America, May 5, 2012
Nice but Out of the Way

Swimming Pools
Stayed for 3 nights because out first choice hotel was unavailable, the site looked nice on the web, and the rate was OK - $97 USD/night w/ bkfst. Rooms are fine - but had to change after the first night as the first room smelled of mold. Most of the staff was friendly but there was one particularly surly waiter at breakfast that did not want to serve us as we showed up at 10:20am - 10 minutes before the 10:30 closing. Hotel was much further from Patong Beach than it appeared on aerial photo and map. Taxi's have a deal set up with Merlin so you can only take those taxis that sit out front - you can't hop in a taxi or tuk tuk that is delivering someone. Problem is all the taxi's working for hotel charge 300 baht for the 10 min ride into Patong. It's an OK place, just not the attention to detail that you'd see in a 5 star resort (like thin, thread bare towels for the pool, no answer at room service, etc). The beach is quite rocky but the swimming pool areas are very nice.
Report this review
Shane K. Couples Australia, April 29, 2012
Great Resort away from the hustle & bustle

Large enough to never feel cluttered
Stayed here 4 times now. Lovely and impressive resort, rooms are a good size and all have balconies. Staff could speak a little better English however this is not a real issue. We spent a lot of money going back and forth to Patong to shop and eat yet were happy to pay as this is a quiet oasis once your day ends.
Report this review
Mark C. Couples Australia, April 19, 2012
Good location away from city life

Pool areas
good location for families , maybe not so if you want night life near by
Report this review
Previous page 101 - 110 of 240 reviews Next page

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.