Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Merlin Beach Resort

99 Muen-Ngoen Rd., Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Patong, Phuket, Thailand 83150

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

8.0

based on
306 reviews

240 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (306)
Sort by:
Damien W. Solo travelers Australia, October 23, 2011
Great location lovely hotel rooms very comfortable

pools awesome pillows in room so soft bed comfortable. great views. breakfast indulging.
9
I enjoyed my stay at Merlin Beach Resort. Breakfast food selection each day was amazing. Amenities were first class, pools amazing. Staff are very friendly however at times they are a little too relaxed and service could be quicker and with more of a smile from some a few male staff members. Communication between staff could improve at times resulting in less frustration shown towards guests. Otherwise I cannot fault, and would highly recommend this resort to other travellers for sure. Look forward to returning in 2012.
Hotel Feature Tip: Check out staff preparing for a wedding, which was almost a daily event. They are efficient and well equipped. Very romantic place to have a wedding, spectacular location by secluded beach with views of sunset and the horizon.
Report this review
Lindsey H. Couples United Kingdom, October 22, 2011
Lovely hotel with great facilities

Pools and facilities were great
8.3
Had a great time at the Merlin resort. Staff were great and very friendly. It is quite far from patong though and it becvose expensive going in and out. The hotel does operate shuttle buses but in my opinion they're not frequent enough. Room was nice and big, refurbished rooms have flat screen tv's the others don't. Not a great selection of movie chanels in English which was a bit dissapointing. Non of the bars serve beer after about 11:30pm so if you're looking for some beers at that stage you'll either need to go to Patong or hit the mini bar. The hotel organises taxi's to and from the airport at 1000 bht each way. If you're organised a taxi from Patong the airport can be negotiated for about 600 BHT
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Make sure you visit Trang Trang beach for some rest and relaxation. Have a massage on the beach and then hire a canoe and head to the coral for a snorkel.
Report this review
Karina D. Groups Australia, October 19, 2011
Good Hotel

Nice beaches and room
7.3
was a nice resort and lovely rooms, although breakfast food was a bit average.
Report this review
Bernhard K. Families with young children Germany, October 15, 2011
hotel with a great friendly and helping staff

the different amenities
9.3
we went there for 3 to 4 days of vacation and enjoyed our stay very much. the hotel has everything that you need (even when a little bit more expensive as you would get it outside. but the staff, the food, the service is just wow. on top you get a nice view on the ocean. it is overall a very nice family hotel.
Report this review
David P. Couples Australia, October 8, 2011
Great Atmosphere

Swim up bar, poolside rooms, lots of resturants available
9
the merlin beach resort is a great place if you have never been to phuket before. you are treated very well and feel very welcomed. there are a lot of aussies that stay there, from all ages so it can be great if you want to socialise. there are also great spots for a bit of privacy and great resources available for those travelling with children! free shuttles are availabe to and from patong beach and most drinks and resturants are very cheap. you can also book any tour you want at the hotel lobby for a good price. highly recommend.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: If you want best deals for tours, simply go into patong and speak to the stalls. Go to a couple of different ones before choosing. This is the cheapest way to go.
Report this review
Shylie J. Groups Australia, September 24, 2011
Fantastic Hotel but staff not all up to scratch

Great location out of the hustle and bustle of Patong Beach. Shuttle service was fantastic as was the breakfast. Rooms were lovely and clean.
8
Hotel room wasn't ready for us when we got there and we were offered a temporary room (which also took an hour to be ready). Actual room for some reason wasn't available until 6pm even though we let Hotel know we were arriving at midday. Heard similar stories from other travellers. Staff were not overly friendly at front desk. Airconditioning was quite loud but rooms were nice and no noise could be heard from outside.
Restaurant Tip: There is a lovely restaurant across the road from the Hotel.
Report this review
Francesco R. Couples Australia, September 16, 2011
felt relaxed as soon as we walked in the door

huge swimming pool and restaurants attached
9.3
stayed for 9 nights, enjoyed every minute, great hotel with very friendly staff and up to date facilities. very clean and great breakfast. also a very good idea with the shuttle bus they have going into patong(4 times a day), which makes life easier.
Report this review
Danielle K. Families with young children Australia, September 6, 2011
Absolutely Amazing Resort.

pools, staff, food, atmosphere.
9.7
This was the best resort that we have ever stayed in. The 3 pools were so big and great for kids. One pool in particular looked over the beach which was amazing. The staff could have not been more helpful. If we needed something, they were so quick to get it to us, and nothing was ever a problem. They are great with kids, every morning at breakfast we had a few of the staff come up to us and talk to our 4 year old and try to play. There were plenty of resturands to choose from in the resort, all great food. Would highly recommend this resort to anyone wanting an amazing Thai holiday. Will definately be back for sure. Thanks Agoda for the great room rates.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Directly across the road from the enterence to the resort are heaps of Taxi drivers, we hired one to take us on a tour around Phuket. That was great. Really cheap and we seen everything. Temples, elephants, monkeys, snake show, and he drove us past other great beaches around phuket. The phi phi Island tour was amazing as well. But make sure you book through the resort, so you know your getting a great tour.
Report this review
Helen O. Families with older children Australia, September 3, 2011
Very welcoming reception and clean.

Pools had private areas to swim
8.7
merlin beach resort was a very picture perfect place to stay. nestled in a lovely beach cove of its own, and surrounded by lawns and palm trees it made the guests feel like you were on an island paradise. would stay here again.
Restaurant Tip: Restaurant choices were wide and varied.
Report this review
Rosemary B. Families with older children New Zealand, September 1, 2011
Very friendly staff and very hard working.

The choice of swimming pools - incredible!
9.3
a friendly welcome and a refreshing complimentary drink on arrival. room was large enough with a walk in shower instead of climbing into the bath for a shower. much safer. restaurants; breakfast superb,dinners great choice and to a high standard.
Shopping Tip: The hotel provides a free transport to the main shops but this does not go at meal times and to travel by taxi is at least 250 baht each way. Allow for this in your budget.
Report this review
Previous page 121 - 130 of 240 reviews Next page


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B07