Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Merlin Beach Resort

99 Muen-Ngoen Rd., Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Patong, Phuket, Thailand 83150 (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Patong

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type


Very Good


based on
305 reviews

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (305)
Sort by:
Leanne C. Couples Australia, March 31, 2011
Amazing hotel!!

So many restaurants, three big beautiful pools and amazing surrounds.
We really loved this hotel. We had so many choices on where to eat as there were different cafes and restaurants for every taste. It was definately the biggest hotel we stayed in on our vacation and had a beautiful private beach with lovely gardens surrounding the hotel. The location was nice and quiet but a couple of kilometers away from the main district of Patong. Our favourite part was definately the pools and the swim up bar. The service was also great. Our room was lovely, we would definately stay at this hotel again.
Report this review
Marcos L. Couples Brazil, March 26, 2011
Nice hotel with private beach

Swimming pool, private beach, location, staff
this merlin beach resort has its won private beach really close to patong beach area (2.7km). the swimming pools (3) are big and well equiped. the rooms were clean and all faced the pools and the beach.
Report this review
Marita D. Solo travelers Australia, March 24, 2011
Clean rooms and facilities

Good rooms and swmming pools
i enjoyed my stay - the rooms were good, serviced daily and the swimming pools and pool bar areas were enjoyable. the front desk and luggage counter staff were polite but did appear to struggle with conversations in english quite a lot of the time which often caused confusion when trying to make arrangements. the housekeeping staff and some of the bar staff were very welcoming, friendly and communicated well.
Report this review
Noelene P. Couples Australia, March 14, 2011
A Classy Resort

Beautiful facilities; friendly, courteous and attentive staff
an absolutely amazing resort-beautiful setting, every convenience with a variety of restaurants, bars and entertainment. the staff were extremely courteous and efficient.
Travel tip: Very geared towards families with young children so probably not your best choice if you are past that stage.
Report this review
Euan W. Families with older children United Kingdom, March 6, 2011
Fantastic location, great service and quality.

Quiet location very close to Patong
what a hotel! one of the best we've ever experienced. the location was so peaceful yet it was only 5 minutes to the lively patong. the rooms were big and very comfortable. staff were so helpful and the service was first class. a great choice of restaurants from cafe style to to class thai food as well as a selection of european. the spa was luxurious and well worth the visit - two and a half hour of treatments was less than. we would recommend this hotel to anyone, both young and old. for those with young families (not us!!) there was a seperate pool area and great kids clubs (well away from the older generation as there were 3 pools. the small private beach was an added bonus.
Shopping Tip: Head to Jungcelon for day time and evening shopping. It's a great mall with plenty on offer and the food choices are world class and cheap.
Report this review
Ramy S. Families with young children Australia, March 3, 2011
best ever

swwiming pool
we enjoyed and will be back same resort and same room
Travel tip: I will recommend this resort to every one
Report this review
Bianca F. Groups Australia, February 24, 2011
Great location, fantastic service!

Private beach and great location - up the hill from Patong means peace and quiet!
loved the merlin beach resort! we were staying somewhere else previously and had to move due to the quality of the resort, but merlin beach provided no complaints! large deluxe room, two king single beds, great bathroom with separate shower and bathtub and clean! fantastic lagoon-style pool, although day beds were scarce.. resort food was an average price. would definitely come back!
Report this review
Araya A. Couples Australia, February 23, 2011
Relax 24/7!!!

The resort was very nice and it offered everything that we could ask for our moneys worth!! The staff were helpful and most of them at the reception spook very good english.
Report this review
Michelle N. Groups Australia, February 19, 2011
Pretty Location but service was very poor

Pools - although they need a good clean, mouldy rubbish under capping around whole pool
The Hotel is pretty on the surface and they do a lovely Wedding (I was a guest - Bride & Groom treated well though. As it was a big party I saw various rooms and heard various opinions. Stays varied between 5-12 days. Reception, Spa, Bar, housekeeping and various restaurant staff were lazy and slow, showed no enthusiasm, were untrained, rude and unwilling to help guests. Hotel fittings were tired and not always clean (mouldy bathrooms, lobby toilets always dirty and unkept. Pool toilet seats all need to be replaced as they look like dirty seconds from a nightclub. Pool - between capping and water line very old rubbish (covered in black mould)around whole pool - a long time between cleans - health hazard. Do not eat at the buffet - I will eat anything but that was inedible, cold and had been sitting around for hours. Be prepared to clean/set own table at breakfast as plates were often not cleared for a half hour or so - staff too busy staring into space to do that (even when requested to do so). Over 7 days offered coffee/tea once. Food average and same every morning. Bar staff (pool and lounge)not familiar with own cocktail list, took ages to serve you and then (on more than one occasion) forget to make your drink but still remembered to bill you. Average wait for drink was 15 minutes - 40 minutes was the longest. Only one hairdresser to deal with Weddings - forcing guests to make a trip into town to get hair done. Spa and reception staff unwilling to help with finding appointments as the hairdressers are contract not direct employees - not sure what that has to do with helping their guest though. Simple and polite requests baffled staff. Be prepared to repeat request to more than 4-5 employees before you receive(or have to demand)an answer. Don't get locked out of your room - the first 4 housekeeping staff I spoke to were unable to help me - told me to keep knocking!!! Not enough space to write more. Staff a total let down. Wedding co-ord did an outstanding job.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Give Simon's Cabaret a miss - 5 year olds could do better. Fantasea outstanding - worth every penny.
Report this review
Slavomir D. Couples Slovakia, February 15, 2011
Lovely family friendly hotel

Swimming pools, large rooms, good food
One of the best hotels we stayed in Patong. Further away from the city centre which meant you couldn't walk to Patong but take a taxi, tuk-tuk or a free shuttle bus provided by hotel. On a plus side, it also meant the hotel itself was quiet at night and you couldn't hear the music thumping from the Patong local discotheques. The rooms are very spacious and so are the bathrooms. We had a nice balcony with a view of a swimming pools. Swimming pools were quite big as well, we had no problems finding free sunbeds. Breakfast was excellent , good choice of delicious food.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Although the hotel has a private beach, it is not really suitable for swimming. However; there is a path to Tritang beach , just opposite the hotel (after the taxis are stationed) about 7 minute walk from the hotel's entrance.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.