or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Merlin Beach Resort

99 Muen-Ngoen Rd., Tri-Trang Beach, Kathu District, Patong, Phuket, Thailand (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Patong

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
300 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
7.6
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (300)
Sort by:
Marita D. Solo travelers Australia, March 24, 2011
Clean rooms and facilities

Good rooms and swmming pools
9
i enjoyed my stay - the rooms were good, serviced daily and the swimming pools and pool bar areas were enjoyable. the front desk and luggage counter staff were polite but did appear to struggle with conversations in english quite a lot of the time which often caused confusion when trying to make arrangements. the housekeeping staff and some of the bar staff were very welcoming, friendly and communicated well.
Noelene P. Couples Australia, March 14, 2011
A Classy Resort

Beautiful facilities; friendly, courteous and attentive staff
9.3
an absolutely amazing resort-beautiful setting, every convenience with a variety of restaurants, bars and entertainment. the staff were extremely courteous and efficient.
Travel tip: Very geared towards families with young children so probably not your best choice if you are past that stage.
Euan W. Families with older children United Kingdom, March 6, 2011
Fantastic location, great service and quality.

Quiet location very close to Patong
10
what a hotel! one of the best we've ever experienced. the location was so peaceful yet it was only 5 minutes to the lively patong. the rooms were big and very comfortable. staff were so helpful and the service was first class. a great choice of restaurants from cafe style to to class thai food as well as a selection of european. the spa was luxurious and well worth the visit - two and a half hour of treatments was less than. we would recommend this hotel to anyone, both young and old. for those with young families (not us!!) there was a seperate pool area and great kids clubs (well away from the older generation as there were 3 pools. the small private beach was an added bonus.
Shopping Tip: Head to Jungcelon for day time and evening shopping. It's a great mall with plenty on offer and the food choices are world class and cheap.
Ramy S. Families with young children Australia, March 3, 2011
best ever

swwiming pool
10
we enjoyed and will be back same resort and same room
Travel tip: I will recommend this resort to every one
Bianca F. Groups Australia, February 24, 2011
Great location, fantastic service!

Private beach and great location - up the hill from Patong means peace and quiet!
9
loved the merlin beach resort! we were staying somewhere else previously and had to move due to the quality of the resort, but merlin beach provided no complaints! large deluxe room, two king single beds, great bathroom with separate shower and bathtub and clean! fantastic lagoon-style pool, although day beds were scarce.. resort food was an average price. would definitely come back!
Araya A. Couples Australia, February 23, 2011
Relax 24/7!!!

everything!!!
8.7
The resort was very nice and it offered everything that we could ask for our moneys worth!! The staff were helpful and most of them at the reception spook very good english.
Michelle N. Groups Australia, February 19, 2011
Pretty Location but service was very poor

Pools - although they need a good clean, mouldy rubbish under capping around whole pool
4.7
The Hotel is pretty on the surface and they do a lovely Wedding (I was a guest - Bride & Groom treated well though. As it was a big party I saw various rooms and heard various opinions. Stays varied between 5-12 days. Reception, Spa, Bar, housekeeping and various restaurant staff were lazy and slow, showed no enthusiasm, were untrained, rude and unwilling to help guests. Hotel fittings were tired and not always clean (mouldy bathrooms, lobby toilets always dirty and unkept. Pool toilet seats all need to be replaced as they look like dirty seconds from a nightclub. Pool - between capping and water line very old rubbish (covered in black mould)around whole pool - a long time between cleans - health hazard. Do not eat at the buffet - I will eat anything but that was inedible, cold and had been sitting around for hours. Be prepared to clean/set own table at breakfast as plates were often not cleared for a half hour or so - staff too busy staring into space to do that (even when requested to do so). Over 7 days offered coffee/tea once. Food average and same every morning. Bar staff (pool and lounge)not familiar with own cocktail list, took ages to serve you and then (on more than one occasion) forget to make your drink but still remembered to bill you. Average wait for drink was 15 minutes - 40 minutes was the longest. Only one hairdresser to deal with Weddings - forcing guests to make a trip into town to get hair done. Spa and reception staff unwilling to help with finding appointments as the hairdressers are contract not direct employees - not sure what that has to do with helping their guest though. Simple and polite requests baffled staff. Be prepared to repeat request to more than 4-5 employees before you receive(or have to demand)an answer. Don't get locked out of your room - the first 4 housekeeping staff I spoke to were unable to help me - told me to keep knocking!!! Not enough space to write more. Staff a total let down. Wedding co-ord did an outstanding job.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Give Simon's Cabaret a miss - 5 year olds could do better. Fantasea outstanding - worth every penny.
Slavomir D. Couples Slovakia, February 15, 2011
Lovely family friendly hotel

Swimming pools, large rooms, good food
10
One of the best hotels we stayed in Patong. Further away from the city centre which meant you couldn't walk to Patong but take a taxi, tuk-tuk or a free shuttle bus provided by hotel. On a plus side, it also meant the hotel itself was quiet at night and you couldn't hear the music thumping from the Patong local discotheques. The rooms are very spacious and so are the bathrooms. We had a nice balcony with a view of a swimming pools. Swimming pools were quite big as well, we had no problems finding free sunbeds. Breakfast was excellent , good choice of delicious food.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Although the hotel has a private beach, it is not really suitable for swimming. However; there is a path to Tritang beach , just opposite the hotel (after the taxis are stationed) about 7 minute walk from the hotel's entrance.
Evan G. Couples Australia, February 14, 2011
Disgusting service !!!

Pool bar - cost a fourtune for a drink and they charge a surchage :(
3
They made my girlfriend cry for taking a towel out the hotel as they were very rude. TV has shocking picture and they make you pay for watching digital. You can’t get a sunbed as there aren’t enough and everyone reserves them for the day with these books and towel. The hotel is designed in a way of there is entertainment at night you hear everything until around 12pm. Very loud! Sheets on the bed are made back to front as well as they give you carpet burn. The breakfast is disgusting made me sick. They charge you to sit on the beach. You can’t swim in the private beach as its unsafe coz it’s full of rocks. You can’t bring your own water to the pool as you have to pay for their expensive bottles. They will charge you a thb 1000 for a late checkout even if it’s for an hour. Restaurants are so expensive but very average. Heaps of kids!! When you complain they just look at you like your crazy and they don’t even write down your problem. There is a hidden sercharge in there pricing eg food and drinks so its like 10% more ontop of everthing. the spa is overpriced and my girlfriend got her nails done the paint came off.Allot of the staff at reception are incompetent and can’t explain things to you properly. I tried to get a taxi organised by the hotel when i left to the airport and they told me to do it myself. This hotel gets a 0 for customer service. There are so many more hotels in Phuket that are so much better for the money. eg amari or graceland or centura as its the same price but amazing locations and facility’s and much better customer service. It took me 5 times of trying to get a response from management about my issues and I never received anything. Don’t stay here as you will regret it! Not worth the money
Hotel Feature Tip: Dont bother with this hotel!!
Matthew B. Couples Australia, February 14, 2011
Awesome hotel with friendly staff

huge swimming pool, lots of restaurants, friendly staff, big & clean rooms
8.7
My stay with Merlin Beach Resort was most enjoyable - the resort was huge, the service was top notch and the food choice was incredible. Would definately return.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Take advantage of the tours on offer out the front of the hotel - quadbiking, white water rafting, phi phi island etc.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Merlin Beach Resort Phuket - Hotel Entrance

Customer Reviews - Merlin Beach Resort, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3C05