Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Merlin Beach Resort

99 Muen-Ngoen Rd., Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Patong, Phuket, Thailand 83150 (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Patong
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

from 303 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
7.6
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (303)
Sort by:
Russell M. Families with older children Australia, November 7, 2012
Great service & awesome pools

large swimming pools, has own beach
9.3
Had a great stay at the Merlin Beach. Staff very friendly & swimming pools were amazing!
Report this review
Khaled T. Families with older children United Arab Emirates, November 3, 2012
Very nice 4 star hotel with angry front desk staff

Private beach, large pools with nice swim up bar, beautiful sea view
6.3
We booked superior rooms but felt they were too claustrophobic as they were locked between two 4 story buildings and noise from waterfall was a bit annoying so we upgraded to deluxe pool view (for a fee) which also had sea view. Breakfast was very good although featured only one type of cheese (seems to be the norm in Thailand), room standard was very good, even the superior room was not bad albeit smaller. The private beach is not exactly private as you pay for the sunbeds to the small cafeteria that runs it but you can get it for only 50 Baht/bed, and they sell you very cheap beers and soft drink so overall it's not bad. The seashore is a bit rocky so you can only swim when the tide is high (till around 2 pm), there's a 10 dollar/hour massage booth right on the beach, I didn't find it much different from the expensive massage spa unless you are keen on listening to music during massage rather than the Thai women babbling with colleagues, I personally preferred the babbling! Three downsides of this hotel: 1- no free wifi, it's expensive and per computer, it also refused to work on a mac and the person who came to fix it didn't have a clue, they say there's free wifi in the lobby but it's quite a hassle as you have to request a username and password and they deliberately try to avoid giving you one and it's also only one username/room and even though we had two rooms they still refused to give another username and said it requires (manager's permission) to do that! 2- frontdesk staff are very rude (the rudest people in Thailand), they don't speak proper English so they don't understand what you want, they also reply in a very provocative manner that you don't believe you are treated like this in a hotel, I'm afraid I'll never come back to this hotel because of it's staff! 3- It takes an hour to make the pool bar people understand what mustard is then they charge you extra for it!!!!
Restaurant Tip: I didn't see the point in dining at the hotel at all, we dined there once and regretted it! On the beach to the left you'll find a beautiful restaurant on a hill, it closes on Friday so we never got to try it but the view downhill was amazing . We had very nice food at TriTrang beach which is a walking distance from entrance, we used the shuttle bus to Patong and ate there many times and it was fantastic.
Report this review
Mei J. Couples Malaysia, October 29, 2012
Paradise Hotel Found at last

The Pool
9.3
The service was excellent, food marvellous but above all the 3 swimming pools were definitely the highlite of the trip for us highly recommended for families or couples who just wanna have a getaway from the busy hustle and bustle of the Big City
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: go for Phi Phi island tour and snorkel, worth every penny!
Report this review
Kazakov K. Families with young children Russia, October 28, 2012
Very tranquil place

pool area, good options for dining and relaxing, great facilities
9.3
We stayed in Merlin Beach Resort for two weeks in October, 2012. My wife and I decided to bring our youngest daughter right before our departure to Thailand and we were not disappointed. We chose this hotel, because on one hand we wanted to be close to our friends who stayed in Patong (the hotel is about 3 km from Patong Beach), but on the other hand we wanted to stay in a peaceful place isolated from hustle and bustle of the busy Patong streets. An important part was that the hotel has its private beach. Pros. Very tranquil place, great pool area suitable for both adults and kids, excellent playing ground in front of the beach, excellent restaurants specialized on different types of cuisine (the chef of Chang Thai restaurant is a creative man. Thumbs up!), beautiful lawns and gardens. My wife liked live music very much which is played by local musicians in Lobby Lounge every night. Cons. Actually it is only one. We were not quite satisfied with the buffet breakfast in terms of choice of food and service. It is not a good value for money we paid.
Report this review
Fiona T. Couples New Zealand, October 28, 2012
Everything was fantastic

Swimming pools, landscape, staff
9
Although it was a short stay to end our holiday in Patong, it was definitely worth it and by far the best hotel. From presentation to helpful staff and all amenities I would definitely recommend to others and will be the only one we will stay at in the future. Love the shower pressure and all over room lighting. Thanks Merlin:)..,see you in the near future...keep up your high standards:)
Report this review
David B. Couples United States of America, October 23, 2012
Nice Hotel private beach

Nice facilities, Pools, beach
8
Nice hotel, great service a little out of the way from Patong. You need to take shuttle otherwise it's 300 bhat a trip from Hotel to Patong and back. The hotel shuttle is really odd hours and they dont make it convenient. Plan on taking a taxi a lot. Make sure you know where your room is when you book. I was in building 4 the second booking I made which is near the construction site. I originally booked a deluxe and was in building 3 then wanted to stay 1 extra day and not realizing that I booked a Superior and had to move all my stuff to the ghetto. I wasn't pleased thought it was pretty dirty of the hotel to do that to me. It was far from everything. Also breakfast when I was there was a complete zoo. It was good but just so many people and a line for making eggs etc. Get there early or else!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Get to Patong lots to see and do.
Report this review
Ian T. Couples Australia, October 22, 2012
Large hotel with great pools

Pools and the beach when the tide was high
5.7
We upgraded to a beach front room but this was expensive ie., 1600 baht a day Some rooms would have been in a poor location Breakfast was substantial . However, the queue was very lengthy to order an omellette It was nice to have band in lobby bar each night but the particular band was at times a little boring and repetitive
Travel tip: You Are restricted wit shuttle times into patong Make sure you go for a walk around to next beach for swim and to eat
Report this review
Bernadette M. Couples Australia, October 19, 2012
beautiful stay staff excellent

food and pool
10
rooms very comforable and clean and would stay again
Hotel Feature Tip: out of all the hussell of phuket but close enough to get into town free transport
Report this review
Matthew M. Couples New Zealand, October 18, 2012
Beautiful resort

Swimming Pool is awesome
5.7
the resort was a relaxing experience with the surroundings of the pool and the beach very close by
Nightlife Tip: Best Friends Bar in Patong opposite the Holiday Inn
Report this review
Jacqueline S. Families with young children Australia, October 6, 2012
Great Hotel, will return!!

Large Pools, spacey rooms, good housekeeping, food variety
8
This is my 2nd stay at Merlin Beach and it was better then the first time. They have added a few new food outlets and they are also working on a kids water playground. My daughter loved the swimming pools and there were tears when I made her get out. Our housekeeper Jomsri was great, we would come back to a nice clean room and she would have different towels wrapped at the end of the bed in different shapes (My daughter loved the elephant) Staff are friendly and polite and will try and assist you. We had a small problem with the power flickering every now and then in our room, but there response was very good to come fix the problem. Only downside was that it was ongoing for the whole stay. My other suggestion to the hotel was they need better service around the pool. People come down and place towels on the lounges trying to reserve them for when they want to come down which isnt fair to other guests wanting to swim and use the lounge at that time. They need some normal chairs also around the pool area for those that cant get lounges during the day. Secondly you have to go to the pool bar to get service, I suggest the hotel have a flag at the tables around the pool so when you want a drink or food you stand the flag up on the table so wait staff know and can attend to you, and keep the flag down if you dont want anything, a simple but effective idea that would better improve guest service in this area. The hotel is only a 5min tuk tuk or taxi ride from the main area in patong. We were happy to pay the 300 baht for taxi to get into patong, and my daughter loved getting the tuk tuk back, but if you want to be close to the nightlife then I would suggest staying in patong.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Look up Patong cooking school, we did a 4hr cooking class we was excellent. They also took us to the fresh food markets which was good. They are located in patong near the christian massage building. Phuket fantasea is always a must do if you have never been before. If you dont like to barter then I suggest looking at Juncelyon shopping centre in patong, they have the arts & craft on the bottom floor which is all the same stuff out along the roads but with prices and I found they were cheaper then want the other stalls tried bartering with me for. Also Montra massage is fantastic, I went to them for my massages and they braided my daughters hair which she loved. Very polite and friendly plus well priced.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Customer Reviews - Merlin Beach Resort, Phuket

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C05