or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Merlin Beach Resort

99 Muen-Ngoen Rd., Tri-Trang Beach, Kathu District, Patong, Phuket, Thailand (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Patong

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
300 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
7.6
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (300)
Sort by:
Mei J. Couples Malaysia, October 29, 2012
Paradise Hotel Found at last

The Pool
9.3
The service was excellent, food marvellous but above all the 3 swimming pools were definitely the highlite of the trip for us highly recommended for families or couples who just wanna have a getaway from the busy hustle and bustle of the Big City
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: go for Phi Phi island tour and snorkel, worth every penny!
Kazakov K. Families with young children Russia, October 28, 2012
Very tranquil place

pool area, good options for dining and relaxing, great facilities
9.3
We stayed in Merlin Beach Resort for two weeks in October, 2012. My wife and I decided to bring our youngest daughter right before our departure to Thailand and we were not disappointed. We chose this hotel, because on one hand we wanted to be close to our friends who stayed in Patong (the hotel is about 3 km from Patong Beach), but on the other hand we wanted to stay in a peaceful place isolated from hustle and bustle of the busy Patong streets. An important part was that the hotel has its private beach. Pros. Very tranquil place, great pool area suitable for both adults and kids, excellent playing ground in front of the beach, excellent restaurants specialized on different types of cuisine (the chef of Chang Thai restaurant is a creative man. Thumbs up!), beautiful lawns and gardens. My wife liked live music very much which is played by local musicians in Lobby Lounge every night. Cons. Actually it is only one. We were not quite satisfied with the buffet breakfast in terms of choice of food and service. It is not a good value for money we paid.
Fiona T. Couples New Zealand, October 28, 2012
Everything was fantastic

Swimming pools, landscape, staff
9
Although it was a short stay to end our holiday in Patong, it was definitely worth it and by far the best hotel. From presentation to helpful staff and all amenities I would definitely recommend to others and will be the only one we will stay at in the future. Love the shower pressure and all over room lighting. Thanks Merlin:)..,see you in the near future...keep up your high standards:)
David B. Couples United States of America, October 23, 2012
Nice Hotel private beach

Nice facilities, Pools, beach
8
Nice hotel, great service a little out of the way from Patong. You need to take shuttle otherwise it's 300 bhat a trip from Hotel to Patong and back. The hotel shuttle is really odd hours and they dont make it convenient. Plan on taking a taxi a lot. Make sure you know where your room is when you book. I was in building 4 the second booking I made which is near the construction site. I originally booked a deluxe and was in building 3 then wanted to stay 1 extra day and not realizing that I booked a Superior and had to move all my stuff to the ghetto. I wasn't pleased thought it was pretty dirty of the hotel to do that to me. It was far from everything. Also breakfast when I was there was a complete zoo. It was good but just so many people and a line for making eggs etc. Get there early or else!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Get to Patong lots to see and do.
Ian T. Couples Australia, October 22, 2012
Large hotel with great pools

Pools and the beach when the tide was high
5.7
We upgraded to a beach front room but this was expensive ie., 1600 baht a day Some rooms would have been in a poor location Breakfast was substantial . However, the queue was very lengthy to order an omellette It was nice to have band in lobby bar each night but the particular band was at times a little boring and repetitive
Travel tip: You Are restricted wit shuttle times into patong Make sure you go for a walk around to next beach for swim and to eat
Bernadette M. Couples Australia, October 19, 2012
beautiful stay staff excellent

food and pool
10
rooms very comforable and clean and would stay again
Hotel Feature Tip: out of all the hussell of phuket but close enough to get into town free transport
Matthew M. Couples New Zealand, October 18, 2012
Beautiful resort

Swimming Pool is awesome
5.7
the resort was a relaxing experience with the surroundings of the pool and the beach very close by
Nightlife Tip: Best Friends Bar in Patong opposite the Holiday Inn
Jacqueline S. Families with young children Australia, October 6, 2012
Great Hotel, will return!!

Large Pools, spacey rooms, good housekeeping, food variety
8
This is my 2nd stay at Merlin Beach and it was better then the first time. They have added a few new food outlets and they are also working on a kids water playground. My daughter loved the swimming pools and there were tears when I made her get out. Our housekeeper Jomsri was great, we would come back to a nice clean room and she would have different towels wrapped at the end of the bed in different shapes (My daughter loved the elephant) Staff are friendly and polite and will try and assist you. We had a small problem with the power flickering every now and then in our room, but there response was very good to come fix the problem. Only downside was that it was ongoing for the whole stay. My other suggestion to the hotel was they need better service around the pool. People come down and place towels on the lounges trying to reserve them for when they want to come down which isnt fair to other guests wanting to swim and use the lounge at that time. They need some normal chairs also around the pool area for those that cant get lounges during the day. Secondly you have to go to the pool bar to get service, I suggest the hotel have a flag at the tables around the pool so when you want a drink or food you stand the flag up on the table so wait staff know and can attend to you, and keep the flag down if you dont want anything, a simple but effective idea that would better improve guest service in this area. The hotel is only a 5min tuk tuk or taxi ride from the main area in patong. We were happy to pay the 300 baht for taxi to get into patong, and my daughter loved getting the tuk tuk back, but if you want to be close to the nightlife then I would suggest staying in patong.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Look up Patong cooking school, we did a 4hr cooking class we was excellent. They also took us to the fresh food markets which was good. They are located in patong near the christian massage building. Phuket fantasea is always a must do if you have never been before. If you dont like to barter then I suggest looking at Juncelyon shopping centre in patong, they have the arts & craft on the bottom floor which is all the same stuff out along the roads but with prices and I found they were cheaper then want the other stalls tried bartering with me for. Also Montra massage is fantastic, I went to them for my massages and they braided my daughters hair which she loved. Very polite and friendly plus well priced.
Li C. Groups Taiwan, October 6, 2012
Average hotel

Good food
6.7
I think it's an ok hotel, huge pools, good food. Dislike-a bit far from everything although they provide shuttle to Patong beach but it's not so convent . The room is small and has a smell to it.
Leanne F. Couples Australia, September 4, 2012
Great resort, Great service

Friendly staff, great food, peaceful,
10
Absolutely loved this resort. We upgraded to a room where our back door opened to the pool. Food was lovely and plenty of it. Free shuttle bus into Patong or Phuket or taxis right outside. Very warm welcome on arrival.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: We booked tours from resort as advised from others. You never know what you get when you book on the street. Taxi in Patong to resort is 250 THB

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Merlin Beach Resort Phuket - Hotel Entrance

Customer Reviews - Merlin Beach Resort, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3B04