Sign in and get better rates!
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Merlin Beach Resort

99 Muen-Ngoen Rd., Tri-Trang Beach, Kathu District, Patong, Phuket, Thailand (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Patong

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
41 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
7.7
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
7.6
Families with older children (41)
Sort by:
Julie P. Families with older children Australia, September 30, 2013
Nice Hotel but too many young families for me

Private beach.large pools and access to massages,manicures,pedicures and hair braiding by locals on beach that have been set up unobtrusively with no hasselling
6
Our stay was nice but started off badly when transfer from airport that was organised through hotel never showed. Hotel did refund the cost.This is a very child friendly hotel and as my children are all older I found the age and amount of young children to be annoying.Breakfast with screaming kids!.I really should have realised that the pool slide would be a family magnet
Suchai P. Families with older children Thailand, May 9, 2013
Triple nice

Nice view (beach front room) , nice service, nice room.
8
Nice resort for those who looking for really relax. The beach view is nice but no swim due to rock beach. Recommend to hire car for convenience.
Kery A. Families with older children United Kingdom, April 2, 2013
The resort has everything you need, we had a lovel

Soft beds, good breakfast and 3 pools
7.3
Everything was great at the Merlin beach. The location was a bit quiet and out of the way, however the hotel runs regular shuttle buses to and from Patong. The breakfast was good, a great omlette station. All in all a really nice place.
Rhythm H. Families with older children United Kingdom, February 20, 2013
Could have been better

Beach front
7
We were three families, meeting after years. Inspite of booking months before the arrival date the rooms were given to us in different wings and also not the rooms that we had booked, ie twin room. Instead we were given double room. The receptionist was very impolite. We were to be refunded for 2 days extra bed, we never received the refund in-spite of multiple follow-ups via emails. On a holiday one does not want to spend 2-3 hours of their time going through their bookings for the rooms and not getting what one had booked. It was a very disappointing experience.
Mark S. Families with older children United States of America, February 17, 2013
Wonderful

Quiet, beautiful setting
7.7
high season so adjacent city was crazy. we could travel in and out as we pleased. would return and request first floor room that steeped out into pool.
Robert U. Families with older children New Zealand, February 14, 2013
Awesome place to stay

Pool bar
9.3
Excellent place to stay. Great location friendly staff. The rooms where clean with great views of the Pool and beach If you want a romantic getaway or just relax by the pool. This is the place to stay. There are plenty of things to do as a family to. With great restaurants you don't even need to leave the resort, it's all there. I highly recommend this resort
Nelson L. Families with older children Australia, January 25, 2013
Lovely hotel and service with a smile

Not close to shopping town,need to travel by taxi.
7.3
Lovely hotel,quite relaxing and nice breakfast . Helpfull staff and friendly.
Shopping Tip: Always bargain and shop around first before buying specially side stall.
Russell M. Families with older children Australia, November 7, 2012
Great service & awesome pools

large swimming pools, has own beach
9.3
Had a great stay at the Merlin Beach. Staff very friendly & swimming pools were amazing!
Khaled T. Families with older children United Arab Emirates, November 3, 2012
Very nice 4 star hotel with angry front desk staff

Private beach, large pools with nice swim up bar, beautiful sea view
6.3
We booked superior rooms but felt they were too claustrophobic as they were locked between two 4 story buildings and noise from waterfall was a bit annoying so we upgraded to deluxe pool view (for a fee) which also had sea view. Breakfast was very good although featured only one type of cheese (seems to be the norm in Thailand), room standard was very good, even the superior room was not bad albeit smaller. The private beach is not exactly private as you pay for the sunbeds to the small cafeteria that runs it but you can get it for only 50 Baht/bed, and they sell you very cheap beers and soft drink so overall it's not bad. The seashore is a bit rocky so you can only swim when the tide is high (till around 2 pm), there's a 10 dollar/hour massage booth right on the beach, I didn't find it much different from the expensive massage spa unless you are keen on listening to music during massage rather than the Thai women babbling with colleagues, I personally preferred the babbling! Three downsides of this hotel: 1- no free wifi, it's expensive and per computer, it also refused to work on a mac and the person who came to fix it didn't have a clue, they say there's free wifi in the lobby but it's quite a hassle as you have to request a username and password and they deliberately try to avoid giving you one and it's also only one username/room and even though we had two rooms they still refused to give another username and said it requires (manager's permission) to do that! 2- frontdesk staff are very rude (the rudest people in Thailand), they don't speak proper English so they don't understand what you want, they also reply in a very provocative manner that you don't believe you are treated like this in a hotel, I'm afraid I'll never come back to this hotel because of it's staff! 3- It takes an hour to make the pool bar people understand what mustard is then they charge you extra for it!!!!
Restaurant Tip: I didn't see the point in dining at the hotel at all, we dined there once and regretted it! On the beach to the left you'll find a beautiful restaurant on a hill, it closes on Friday so we never got to try it but the view downhill was amazing . We had very nice food at TriTrang beach which is a walking distance from entrance, we used the shuttle bus to Patong and ate there many times and it was fantastic.
Nugent A. Families with older children Australia, August 20, 2012
Lovely hotel with appauling service

Seperate pools for Adults and young children
5.3
Check in was impersonal and certainly not the typical Thai style that one wold and shoudl expect. Room was clean, well maintained and well equipt Service from restaurants is below average at best. breakfast is nothing short of a bismal disaster. rare to have a host welcome you. Ever more rare if you have anyone offer you tea or coffee. One ends up getting it yourself, if there is any left at the waiter side station. Egg station is appauling. Chefs provide no welcome, pleasantries, personality, hospitality or basic elements of customer service. More of a "what do you want" and leave it there. You also have to wait in line for at least 10 - 20 minutes to receive your food as once chef cooking omlettes etc for the whole resort is a joke. With no scrambled eggs in teh bayne marie, I asked the egg chef who said it is in the bayne marie and was not happy when i advised that there had been none in the bayne marie for 30 minutes. He reluctantly made me fresh eggs. Several managers were walking around and more concerned about getting their breakfast then helping the local staff. i also found it strange that there is no service during breakfast shift, yet to clean up, each morning around 10am 6 0 8 other staff magically appreared to help clean up. Would have been nice if they came earlier & actually helped the restaurant staff who were trying under difficult circumstances. Food quality is average at best, except the lasagna which was quite delicious. Pizzas are pretty good as well and resonably prices. Cocktails are a big focus at teh resort, reasonably priced but quality is average at best with what seems local spirits and not the real deal. Housekeeping is probably the high light of the staff. friendly, attentive, hard working and helpful. most other staff seem very tired, unmotivated, disinterested and lack the typical Thai hospitality that i have experienced for over 16 years in thailand. Very dissapointed as it is such a lovely resor
Restaurant Tip: Hogs Breath cafe has just opened up opposite Robinsons Department Store, up on the 3rd floor. Although service is beginning, it is very friendly and food is amazing if you need a western change. Prices very reasonable and staff are very accommodating. Rib eye is AMAZING!!! Aussie owner is lovely.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Merlin Beach Resort Phuket - Hotel Entrance


AS-AGWEB-3B04