or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Minshuku Iwatakan

4-166-3 Ooshin-machi, Takayama City, Takayama, Japan 506-0851 (Show on map)

Book now!

Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Guest Room Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Restaurant Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Restaurant Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Restaurant Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Restaurant Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Restaurant Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Spa Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Spa Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Spa Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Spa Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Spa Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Recreational Facilities Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Surroundings Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Surroundings Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Surroundings Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Surroundings
Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Surroundings Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Surroundings Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Exterior Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Exterior Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Entrance Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Guest Room
Area: Takayama City Number of Rooms: 14
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
22 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
7.3
Staff Performance
7.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (22)
Sort by:
Alain A. Families with older children France, July 6, 2014
Good ryokan!

Gorgeous, nice place, close to the downtown. The place to be for the japan lovers'ryokan
7.3
Very good welcome from the owner.quiet and nice room
Alexandra Y. Couples United Kingdom, April 4, 2014
Nice but way overpriced

Authentic Japanese house, hot bath, quiet location.
6.3
I have mixed feelings about this place. It was nice to stay in a traditional Japanese house and the shared bathroom was fine, with quite a nice hot bath pool that you could soak in. Everything was clean and the location is nice and quiet. Takayama is very small so although it's not in the centre that just means it's a couple of minutes pleasant walk, no big deal. Also they kindly pick you up and drop you at the station which is great. However considering the level of service when you're actually there (no breakfast, no room cleaning, you to get your own futon beds in/out, which is normal for a minshuku) I just felt that the price was a little steep. We stayed two nights and were the only guests not there as part of some big coach tour. The tour groups had breakfast and dinner at the minshuku, we weren't asked if we wanted to try it which again was fine because there were enough places to eat in Takayama but if I'd had my heart set on trying their food I might have been a little disappointed. So, it's totally fine but overpriced (typical of a lot of things in japan really). You might be better saving your money for a decent ryokan if you want a better Japanese experience.
Gary A. Couples United States of America, June 4, 2013
Great baths

great bath, friendly owners, very quiet
7
Located a bit away from the action in a residential neighborhood of Takayama, it's a bit of a walk to get downtown, but a pleasant morning walk to the market. We had two traditional Japanese rooms, but without the meal plan. So once we checked in and got oriented, we were pretty much on our own and did not see the staff unless we rang their bell. The best thing is the bath - an indoor rock pool with hot waterfall where several people could soak for as long as they wished. There was also a small outdoor wooden tub, but it was only large enough for one person at a time.
Lui Y. Couples Hong Kong, April 16, 2013
Simple and Comfortable hotel

Free shuttle to train station available, nice staff, cosy room
6.7
The hotel is a little far from the Takayama train station, but the host was very nice and they would ask about your departure time and would offer free shuttle to the station as far as possible. Only shared bathroom and shared toilet are available. 15-minute walk to the famous Miyagawa morning market.
Siew P. Couples Malaysia, April 16, 2013
Great value and location for Takayama festival

Location cleanliness friendly service
10
Pailin T. Families with older children Thailand, April 9, 2013
it's worth to pay for

accommodation, onsen, cleanliness
6.3
it's a great place to go for if you want to feel the real Japanese style
Benjaporn P. Solo travelers Thailand, December 6, 2012
Near morning market

Good
8.3
Good one hotel , near morning market , shopping and Train station area
Celeste M. Couples United States of America, October 5, 2012
Lovely little place

Nice proprietors, decent location, decent rooms
7.7
Liked the place. It's a little far from the train station, maybe 30 minutes-- I wouldn't want to walk it, especially with luggage-- but it's decently placed with respect to the central town area. (About 30 minutes walking from the minshuku to the other end of town, I'd estimate.) The room was decent sized and the noiseproofing was actually not bad-- there was a group of drunk tourists singing downstairs and we could barely hear them up in our room. The baths were nice, especially the outdoors one (only big enough for one person and no one inside can really see you, too, if you're shy.) The food was-- well, very traditional Japanese, and not really my thing, but it wasn't bad-- some of the cooked fish was especially good, and so was the nabe. It was served in the common room downstairs, altho we were the only two there at the time. If you like traditional Japanese food I'd get it. Otherwise, up to you. Futon was not, unfortunately, super comfortable, even with an extra pad added underneath, and they use the buckwheat pillows, which I'm not fond of. People staying there seemed about 75% foreigners 25% Japanese, so if you're looking for a place to get to know the natives, this is probably not it. Still, overall I like it, and would probably stay here again. And the proprietors really open up if you can speak any Japanese.
Gillian D. Couples Canada, September 20, 2012
Basic, family run inn in Takayama

free bicycle use, free train station pick up and drop off, great dinner set
8
This is a lovely, family run, minshuku. The rooms and bathrooms were basic but clean and well looked after. We stayed in for dinner one evening and had a lovely meal. They had many bicycles that we were able to use to get everywhere we wanted. They also offer free pick up and drop off from the train station. There is little to no English but we didn't find that we needed it at all.
Cheong S. Couples Malaysia, July 6, 2012
Lovely hotel

Hot spring bath & free wifi
8
Very impressed with the place. Enjoyed the bicycle ride that was provided for free of charge. Love the hot spring bath and also the opportunity to wear kimono and sleeping the Japanese way.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Minshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Hotel ExteriorMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - SpaMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - SpaMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - SpaMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - SpaMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - SpaMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Recreational FacilitiesMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - SurroundingsMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - SurroundingsMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - SurroundingsMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - SurroundingsMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - SurroundingsMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - SurroundingsMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - ExteriorMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - ExteriorMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - EntranceMinshuku Iwatakan Takayama - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3B04