Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Minshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan

1-50-30 Sowamachi, Takayama City, Takayama, Japan 506-0007

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.7

based on 140 reviews

81 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (140)
Sort by:
Wai H. Couples Hong Kong, April 24, 2016
Good location and cleanliness
5
Free parking and just walk about 10-15 minutes to tourist spots and restaurants. The room is clean, lightness, good sleep condition and nice snacks. Staffs are polite. The buildings has 3 floors without elevator. Spa room is fine, women's one is big but men's one is small.
Alan K. Families with older children Australia, April 6, 2016
Great location, great breakfast
5.3
We hopped into this one after needing to cancel another at short notice. Already in Takayama meant we knew something about town layout and this was well placed for shops railway and food places. Staff spoke enough English, freindly and very efficient. We took breakfast on the 2nd day and were blown away by the quality, variety and quantity. Only downside for me...the male travelling with 3 female family members....was my bathroom was downstairs and the stairs nearest me were very steep and narrow....not good if you a bit older in the middle of the night. This minor blemish did not detract and i wished had found this earlier and would definetly stay again. ..even if only to try the dinner.
Fanny K. Couples Indonesia, January 1, 2016
strategic location
4.3
good location, near train station. only walking distance to "old town". clean room
Mohammad S. Groups Singapore, December 28, 2015
location not too bad

location not too bad
6
So so..
Paritas K. Groups Thailand, December 13, 2015
Nice

Clean and good
6
Good not bad
Boon W. Families with older children Malaysia, December 6, 2015
A nice stay with spa

Spa, nice room & near the bus station.
8
Pleasure
Wee S. Families with young children Singapore, November 27, 2015
A little far from station. Very basic minshuku.

Can fit 5 of us but not all luggages. No lift. Carry luggages up narrow stairs really tiring. But host very nice.
6.3
Took us some time to find but actually it is quite straightforward after we got there. No lift so we had to carry all our heavy luggages up the stairs. Common toilet feels is clean but feels like a dorm. Have traditional Bath with shampoo and soap and hair dryer. But no lotion or comb which u find in ryokan. Basic. 4 futon laid out when we arrived so it was nice. But not enough place to open luggage. Room safe is coin operated. We managed to find a coin laundry down the road. Turn left from entrance and walk straight down and u will see the self service coin laundry 10min walk away. There was 8 washer/dryers. No change machine so bring coins. Depend on load u choose the time and price is clearly stated in english. They automatically input detergent and softner. Very convenient.
Shih Y. Groups Malaysia, November 21, 2015
great location

tatami style of room. hot spring available. bicycles provides to ride with FOC
8
We had 1 night stay there. The lady owner is very kind. And bicycles are provided to the guests who like to have a ride around the town. It is free of charge. There are many restaurants nearby. And hotspring is available in this Ryokan.
Lee S. Couples Hong Kong, November 3, 2015
Friendly staff

location, friendly staff and clean
6.3
Nice and friendly staff. 5 mins walk to the train and bus station.
Ro B. Couples Australia, November 1, 2015
Over rated.

The location, comfortable beds, quiet.
6
We were quite disappointed in this accommodation. It looks much better on the website than in actuality. We were given a room on the third floor with no lift so had to walk up and down steep and uncomfortable stairs all the time in our socks. They do have the Japanese slippers that you can use but I found them hard to walk in, especially going up and down the stairs and I was worried that they made it unsafe. They did carry our cases up when we arrived but made no offer to carry them down when we left and neither of us is young. We did not eat there so cannot rate the food. The room had the bare necessities although they did provide Yakatas, Japanese style house coats, which was good, and there was a fridge and TV in the room. They also have a hot spring bath which Keith enjoyed. I don't like them so didn't use it. The position is good, easy walking distance to the station and most of the main attractions.
1 - 10 of 81 reviews Next page
Minshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan TakayamaMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - EntranceMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - SpaMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Recreational FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - ExteriorMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Food and BeveragesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Food and BeveragesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Food and BeveragesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Pub/LoungeMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - InteriorMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - InteriorMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - LobbyMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - InteriorMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - InteriorMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - LobbyMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - InteriorMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - BathroomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Hot TubMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - InteriorMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Hot TubMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Food and BeveragesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - LobbyMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - InteriorMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - InteriorMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Hot TubMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - EntranceMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - EntranceMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - BathroomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - BathroomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest Room


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B08