My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Minshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan

1-50-30 Sowamachi, Takayama City, Takayama, Japan 506-0007 (Show on map)

Book now!

Minshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest Room Minshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest Room Minshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Restaurant Minshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Restaurant Minshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Restaurant Minshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Restaurant Minshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Entrance Minshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Spa Minshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Recreational Facilities Minshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Exterior
Area: Takayama City Number of Rooms: 9
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
66 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (66)
Sort by:
Nim K. Solo travelers Hong Kong, June 27, 2014
No surprise.

Good location. Reasonable price. Traditional Japanese style.
7.3
Value for money
Qounjai C. Groups Thailand, May 3, 2014
Clean, comfortable, nice staff, near bus stop.

Clean Comfortable Easy to go everywhere in takayama
9.3
Good memory in familly room, relax in spa and easy to find this hote.
Saidin K. Couples Malaysia, April 25, 2014
a new experience staying in ryokan

location and quite surrounding
7.3
Have to carry luggage to 2nd floor. Shared bathroom is on ground floor.
Kenneth K. Families with older children United States of America, April 15, 2014
Very basic facilities.

available
4.7
We were in Takayama for the Spring Matsuri (festival) when thousands of people visit this tiny town. When I booked rooms in July (8 months ahead), this was the only accomodation available in town for less than about $150/night. The rooms were very small and basic. We had a "special" room with a bathroom, but it was very basic and had a leak. Bad lighting, the proprietor spoke almost no English, inadequate blankets. Would not stay there again.
Raymond W. Solo travelers Malaysia, April 15, 2014
Nice pleasant quiet minshuku near attractions

Quiet surroundings, near the main attractions, traditional housing
7.7
The ryokan was walkable from Takayama train station in about 15 min along the roads. Relatively flat so even with large luggage on rollers it is walkable. It is located on a side street that is very quiet and peaceful next to the temple. The ryokan itself is in traditional style with shared bath. The room was nice, the only weakness being that the heater could not be turned on - although it is already spring, but the night was still chilly. Thankfully had nice warm blankets. The owners can't really seem to speak much English, but was quick in their service.
Chan J. Couples Hong Kong, February 6, 2014
Good value for experiencing traditional Japanese

Comfortable Japanese traditional room, easy access, clean
8.7
The hotel was actually higher than our expectation as I expected a hotel close to backpacker type. The rooms have traditional tatami, and the shared bath / bathroom are located close to the rooms for easy access. The only problem I had was the noise, any sound you make basically transfers through the entire house.
Andrianus H. Couples Indonesia, January 2, 2014
Nice accommodation close for any what you want

Very very clean and conviniance
9
Good location to tourism area ( attraction, restaurant, religious area and anything
Paiboon A. Couples Thailand, December 30, 2013
good location, average ryokan

location
6.7
hotel in good location not far from train station and walking street. But ranked as average as a ryokan. More like a homestay.
Ivan I. Groups Hong Kong, December 8, 2013
Close to the best beef in Japan

Great restaurant nearby, Japanese style room, walking distance to train and bus
7.3
The best thing about this minshuku is that it's relatively close to a restaurant with the best beef we had in Japan, even better than Kobe beef in our opinion. The room is Japanese style. The bathroom is shared, but we never used it. We chose instead to have our shower at a spa place an hour from this town.
Sr V. Solo travelers Afghanistan, November 4, 2013
5 minutes walk to station

Location, priceroom cleanliness
5
I just needed a place to crash for one night and this place ticked the price and location boxes. If sharing toilets, wash basins and showers are your thing, why not give this a go, otherwise try a Western hotel/ lodge.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Minshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Hotel ExteriorMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - EntranceMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - SpaMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Recreational FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3A04