Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Minshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan

1-50-30 Sowamachi, Takayama City, Takayama, Japan 506-0007

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.7

based on
133 reviews

78 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (133)
Sort by:
Mohammad S. Groups Singapore, December 28, 2015
location not too bad

location not too bad
6
So so..
Report this review
Paritas K. Groups Thailand, December 13, 2015
Nice

Clean and good
6
Good not bad
Report this review
Boon W. Families with older children Malaysia, December 6, 2015
A nice stay with spa

Spa, nice room & near the bus station.
8
Pleasure
Report this review
Wee S. Families with young children Singapore, November 27, 2015
A little far from station. Very basic minshuku.

Can fit 5 of us but not all luggages. No lift. Carry luggages up narrow stairs really tiring. But host very nice.
6.3
Took us some time to find but actually it is quite straightforward after we got there. No lift so we had to carry all our heavy luggages up the stairs. Common toilet feels is clean but feels like a dorm. Have traditional Bath with shampoo and soap and hair dryer. But no lotion or comb which u find in ryokan. Basic. 4 futon laid out when we arrived so it was nice. But not enough place to open luggage. Room safe is coin operated. We managed to find a coin laundry down the road. Turn left from entrance and walk straight down and u will see the self service coin laundry 10min walk away. There was 8 washer/dryers. No change machine so bring coins. Depend on load u choose the time and price is clearly stated in english. They automatically input detergent and softner. Very convenient.
Report this review
Shih Y. Groups Malaysia, November 21, 2015
great location

tatami style of room. hot spring available. bicycles provides to ride with FOC
8
We had 1 night stay there. The lady owner is very kind. And bicycles are provided to the guests who like to have a ride around the town. It is free of charge. There are many restaurants nearby. And hotspring is available in this Ryokan.
Report this review
Lee S. Couples Hong Kong, November 3, 2015
Friendly staff

location, friendly staff and clean
6.3
Nice and friendly staff. 5 mins walk to the train and bus station.
Report this review
Ro B. Couples Australia, November 1, 2015
Over rated.

The location, comfortable beds, quiet.
6
We were quite disappointed in this accommodation. It looks much better on the website than in actuality. We were given a room on the third floor with no lift so had to walk up and down steep and uncomfortable stairs all the time in our socks. They do have the Japanese slippers that you can use but I found them hard to walk in, especially going up and down the stairs and I was worried that they made it unsafe. They did carry our cases up when we arrived but made no offer to carry them down when we left and neither of us is young. We did not eat there so cannot rate the food. The room had the bare necessities although they did provide Yakatas, Japanese style house coats, which was good, and there was a fridge and TV in the room. They also have a hot spring bath which Keith enjoyed. I don't like them so didn't use it. The position is good, easy walking distance to the station and most of the main attractions.
Report this review
Tg K. Couples Australia, October 25, 2015
Basic comfort

Location, comfortable bed, air conditioning
8
For the price, the minshuku is good value because of its location. The rooms are on the first and second floors but the men's bath and toilet are on the ground floor. There is no lift so it's a trudge up and down the stairs if you have to go in the middle of the night!
Report this review
To K. Couples Hong Kong, October 23, 2015
convenient, food, clean

convenient location, delicious dinner, clean and nice room
8.3
Report this review
Jenny C. Families with young children Australia, September 25, 2015
Small and quiet ryokan in takayama

Close to station, quiet as not in the Main Street where shops are, and easy to find
7
I think it's not a bad place to stay for couples as the place is quiet. However, as we had young kids I was rather worried that they would break something in there or run down stairs and wonder off in the streets as the main door is open most of the time. The lady who greeted us was very polite and pleasant to deal with.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 78 reviews Next page
Minshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan TakayamaMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - EntranceMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - SpaMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Recreational FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - ExteriorMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - RestaurantMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Food and BeveragesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - InteriorMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Sports and ActivitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Food and BeveragesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Food and BeveragesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Pub/LoungeMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - InteriorMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - SpaMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Food and BeveragesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - FacilitiesMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Guest RoomMinshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan Takayama - Spa


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01