Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Mixok Guesthouse

188 Setthathirate Road, Mixay Village, Vientiane City Center, Vientiane, Laos

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Good

6.8

based on 287 reviews

186 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.9
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
6.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.4
Room Comfort/Standard
6.5
Food/Dining
6.0
All reviews (287)
Sort by:
Jenna D. Solo travelers United States of America, January 2, 2015
there were beds

beds, location, baguettes with breakfast
6
i was probably too hungover for both nights we stayed but it was mostly clean and the beds were quite sleepable. location is good for trekking around boring Vientiane, though I'd skip it all together if I were you and head straight for the north (nong khiaw - oh my heart). don't, DEAR GOD DONT book the overnight bus to Hanoi with them. I mean, is likely that they are all the same but we did the "better" bus and were still shoved in the back in broken seats next to the over flowing toilet, like white cattle. just fly. it's not worth the "adventure" or the agony.
Report this review
Piyaporn T. Groups Thailand, December 27, 2014
Good location hotel

Good location fare wifi with breakfast
6.3
Even hotel staff is not so take care of guests, but this hotel location is in center of Vientiane
Report this review
Piyaporn T. Groups Thailand, December 27, 2014
Good location

Cheap. Wifi. Breakfast
6
We can walk in central point as this hotel is in central area
Report this review
Frank B. Couples Netherlands, December 24, 2014
Overpriced!!

Location
4.7
Our room was filthy, the bathroom smelled, they did not clean the room and you had to ask for clean towels (we stayed for 4 nights). I think you can get a better room in Vientiane for the same money! Would certainly not stay here again!!
Report this review
Louise M. Couples United Kingdom, November 16, 2014
Not so good

location
6
First impressions weren't brilliant, the night receptionist was surly and not very helpful, barely looking up from his phone to give us our key. The day staff were fine. The room was at the front but we didn't find it too noisy. WiFi worked in the room, just a shame that the bathroom (and so the room) stank of sewerage. There were no other rooms available so we bought air freshener and that helped.
Report this review
Fumie H. Solo travelers Japan, November 15, 2014
I've got angry what they say and do.

Cheap. In convenient place
6
Sorry. I couldn't write.
Report this review
Mario D. Solo travelers Italy, November 2, 2014
good choice

location
6.7
excellent location in the citycenter. vientiane does not offer so much but it's nice to chill out in one of the bars or stroll in the nigh market, the hotel is close to lao kitchen restaurant where you MUST order the duck laab , one of my favourite dishes of SEA ah the only possible problem is that does not have a lift and there are 4+ floors, for me was fine
Report this review
David S. Couples Spain, September 16, 2014
2 nights at Mixok Guesthouse

Value for money, location, comfy bed
7.3
We stayed two nights while we sorted our Thai visa out. It is fair to say that you get what you pay for... Very cheap price equals not great conditions. This said, the location is great, just minutes walk distance to lots of cafés, bars, restaurants and the night market. Breakfast was included in the price and although limited it was good size and decent quality with an a la carte selection of egg base dishes: omelette, or fried eggs, or scrambled eggs, or pancakes, plus banana and bread with butter and tea/coffee. Also had a couple of local dishes like rice and soup. The bed is very comfortable and the room has air con and a fan so we had a very good night sleep. There are a few downsides, firstly there is no elevator and our room was on the third floor, not ideal! Also, if you are very bothered about cleanliness, avoid this place! Towels were dirty and the toilet is quite something... Technically there is no shower space, is basically a shower cap with no water pressure next to the toilet very Asian style but with no space almost to move so it is easier to sit down on the toilet and take the shower there. All in all this is a value for money guesthouse in a great location, ideal for those traveller on a budget that need a bed to sleep for a couple of nights, I would not stay any longer than that and probably I would not stay there again. Down the road there are nicer backpackers hostels at a similar price and better conditions as a friend of us was staying there.
Report this review
Van M. Business travelers Vietnam, August 27, 2014
one staff crazy!

location.
4
I stayed 3 days in Mixod.I dont have Lao phone number.I had an appoimented with my friend at this hotel.I gave adress on face book for him.He came but he didnt find mixod hotel.The home phone mixod broken.I told with receiption:Can you give your cellphone number for my friend(on face book).He said:No!i dont want to give my phone number to every body.....im shocking...I must go out to find my friend(by face book). The toilet is broken. I will never come back this hotel again.Never.
Report this review
Riet M. Couples Netherlands, August 3, 2014
Mixok Guesthouse

place
6.3
guesthouse good but a very bad trip with the bus to pakxe . we payed for 6 places to mixok but we got only 3 seats in the bus. we claimed our money back by phone but mixod was not responseble she sayd. our advice
Report this review
Previous page 21 - 30 of 186 reviews Next page
Mixok Guesthouse VientianeMixok Guesthouse Vientiane - Standard Double BedMixok Guesthouse Vientiane - Standard Double BedroomMixok Guesthouse Vientiane - Standard Double BedroomMixok Guesthouse Vientiane - Standard Double BedroomMixok Guesthouse Vientiane - Standard Twin BedMixok Guesthouse Vientiane - Standard Twin BedMixok Guesthouse Vientiane - Standard Twin BedMixok Guesthouse Vientiane - Standard Twin BedMixok Guesthouse Vientiane - Standard Twin BedMixok Guesthouse Vientiane - BathroomMixok Guesthouse Vientiane - BathroomMixok Guesthouse Vientiane - Balcony/TerraceMixok Guesthouse Vientiane - Balcony/TerraceMixok Guesthouse Vientiane - ReceptionMixok Guesthouse Vientiane - Lobby


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A05