Back to hotel info

Exceptional 9.1
Based on 367 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Exceptional



based on 367 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.3
  • Service 9.3
  • Value for money 8.5
  • Food/Dining 9.1

Andrew H.
Australia
January 19, 2011
Great location and great beach
close to kata noi beach, great setting
beds a little firm
Beautiful spot on the headland above kata noi beach

rick C.
United States
January 18, 2011
Can't do much better on Phuket
Pools, rooms, views, location - all fantastic
too many kids...for a small place that seems to cater to adults.
Would do it again in a heartbeat. The staff was very on top of things and the grounds were spotless. Take advantage (daily) of the free beach chairs on Kata Beach.

Amanda H.
Australia
December 09, 2010
Absolute Bliss - already waiting to return
Location, beach, staff, room
Distance from Patong...although we saw this as a good thing!
My partner and I stayed at Mom Tri's Villa Royale for 5 nights in November(2010) and were very impressed with it. It is a small resort with 35 rooms. We stayed in a suite but the Beach Wing rooms on the front also looked amazing. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had fresh flowers and chocolates left on our bed each night and a freshly baked afternoon tea delivered each afternoon - lovely touches! The location of this hotel was great - perched up on the rocks overlooking Kata Noi beach. You can actually climb down over the rocks (a little tricky but we managed) and dive straight into the crystal clear ocean. There was also a short path to the beach if you're feeling less adventurous. The hotel pools were nice and there is also a small fitness room (even though this isn't listed on their website). Food at the resort was good - obviously more expensive that the restaurants in town, but I thought quite reasonably proced for a hotel. Full buffet breakfast was included in the room rate and was really nice - they had everything you could hope for. And the view from the balcony of the breakfast room was stunning. If you wish to eat outside of the hotel, the are so many options in Kata town (10-15 minute walk down the hill...come out of the hotel and turn left). We really liked Two Chefs. There are also a few restuarants if you come out of the hotel and turn right, and head down past Kata Thani Resort. These restauants don't look too flash but the food was good and really cheap. There are also convenience stores in both of these areas where you can stock up on beer, soft drinks, snacks etc for a fraction of the price of the hotel mini bar. I regret not trying out the Day Spa at Mom Tri's - it looked amazing and the treatments seemed to be priced quite reasonably. In summary, we had a brilliant stay at Mom Tri's Villa Royale and will most certainly return on our next trip to Phuket.

Jixin H.
China
December 05, 2010
A very nice place to stay
Quiet
A bit expensive
My 2nd time to visit Phuket, I am glad that I chose this hotel. I will recommend this to you If you are planning a relaxing and easy holiday at Phuket. The hotel is located at beautiful and quiet kata noi beach which is of a totally different life style at potong beach(where I stayed in my fist visited 2 yrs ago). The beach is surrounded by 3 hotels only and you have more privacy there, spending several days sitting there is abolutely a worth. Staffs there are good and polite. whenever you walked out of your room, you will see they are working. And they will give you a smile but never disturb you unless you ask for.

Nicholas C.
Singapore
December 04, 2010
Beautiful Experience, despite ugly service
Perched on a cliff, with the beautiful Kata Noi beach just downstairs
Service
“insanely beautiful experience! ... notwithstanding the horrible service ...” mom tri's villa royale bullishbear   1 contribution singapore, singapore nov 26, 2010 | trip type: family will try to keep this review as concise, yet reflective enough, as best i can... overall experience sensational ! the good view / architecture / landscape / hotel grounds / room & patio: - absolutely, crazy, insanely beautiful. - some reviews have said that villa royale (vr) looks caught in a time warp. i didn't get that impression at all. - traditional yes, old-fashioned, most certainly not. (note: vr has recently added a new, more modern looking wing) - vr feels more like a private residence, less a hotel - taking a cold shower in your patio's / terrace's outdoor bath, which overlooks the andaman sea, is just an amazing experience. kata noi beach: - it's honestly just downstairs from your suite. a short flight of steps guides you from your patio on the cliff down to this dream of a beach - so much more beautiful than patong or mai khao. - like those beaches, i believe kata noi is open to the public. it sure does feel private though. (note: ... to katathani resort and vr)

Bev J.
New Zealand
December 01, 2010
Could not fault this hotel
Position decor service
Nothing. 3 pools Salt water pool a bit slimy on the rocks
This hotel was total perfection. What more to say.The pools the gardens the rooms the decor the position all 100% and I am fussy.Just won an award for most romantic small luxury hotels of the world.Go there!

Raelene H.
Australia
November 25, 2010
You need to stay to really appreciate it
location, friendly staff, lovely rooms, great views
no cons
We only booked for 3 nights planning to move closer to action in Patong. This was our first trip to Phuket and as soon as we started looking at other hotels in Karron and Patong, we realised how very lucky we were to Mom Tri's. Not only is it pure beachfront, the resort offers a more private and special experience than the larger more well known resorts. It was peaceful and the staff couldn't be more helpful. The food is excellent - we also ate at their Oasis Restaurant in Kata which was fantastic overlooking Kata Beach.

Volker K.
Germany
November 22, 2010
Wonderful Hotel, lovely staff, excellent food
Spacious rooms, very helpful staff, restaurant serves excellent food,
Hardly a problem, but you have to go down quite a few stairs to the ocean.
We Stayed at mum tree royal for two weeks as a family with a three year and an eight month old child. I can just say that this hotel is the best hotel near kata beach. It is a romantic hotel, with very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms were large enough to accommodate our family of four. Breakfast is very good here too and the restaurant serves the best food we have taste in phuket.

JOAO F.
Australia
November 15, 2010
Small high quality hotel with friendly service
service, restaurant, location
laundary facility
This is one of the best hotels that my wife and I have stayed at. It is a very small boutique hotel that cascades down the hill side and overlooks the small bay of Kata Noi. The gardens are well maintained and make for interesting walks. As you walk around you will not find one hotel employee that will not smile at you and say hello. The staff are incredibly friendly and attentive to your needs. This is especially true of the staff in the bar and restaurant where we savoured some wonderful food at reasonable prices.

colin W.
New Zealand
November 15, 2010
Excellect location
Quiet,good facilities,would probably stay again
Just needed a bit more attention to detail
We have stayed here before,plus their other hotel at Kata,the Boathouse.The position and style of the Villa Royale is great,spacious rooms,reasonable value,good staff,good food,but just starting to need an upgrade to the interior of the bedrooms.Could do with a bit more attention to detail in the grounds,as small amount of rubbish in the garden,and a trolley with cleaning equipment left on the pathway day and night.