Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Monsoon Suites

198/7 Siriwimal Udyanaya, Nawala Area, Colombo, Sri Lanka 00700 (Show on map)

Book now!

Monsoon Suites Colombo - Interior Monsoon Suites Colombo - Living Room Monsoon Suites Colombo - Superior room Balcony Monsoon Suites Colombo - Smoking Zone Monsoon Suites Colombo - Guest Room Monsoon Suites Colombo - Bathroom Monsoon Suites Colombo - Guest Room Monsoon Suites Colombo - Interior Monsoon Suites Colombo - Interior Monsoon Suites Colombo - Balcony/Terrace Monsoon Suites Colombo - Food and Beverages Monsoon Suites Colombo - Guest Room Monsoon Suites Colombo - Interior Monsoon Suites Colombo - Interior Monsoon Suites Colombo - Facilities Monsoon Suites Colombo - Guest Room
Monsoon Suites Colombo - Guest Room Monsoon Suites Colombo - Garden Monsoon Suites Colombo - Restaurant Monsoon Suites Colombo - Guest Room Monsoon Suites Colombo - Bathroom
Area: Nawala Area Number of Rooms: 9

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type


Very Good


based on
45 reviews

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
Solo travelers (45)
Sort by:
Cletus F. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 10, 2015
Roomy comfortable and homely.

Friendly, spacious and responsive Staff.
As a Sri Lankan ex-pat who had lived in a Western Country for over 55 years I found this Hotel generally quiet and peaceful except for some guest who were very noisey at times but very friendly too. However, they did not bother me too much. The Staff were always very helpful and responsive. I would have preferred external signage so that my visitors could have located the Hotel easily. This was my second visit and I stayed for 3 weeks this time. One black mark was the breakfast as I would have preferred a cooked western-style breakfast, but I eat a light breakfast so it did not affect me that much. The bathroom was clean well supplied as was the bedroom. There was very good WiFi signal in common areas but not so good in bedrooms. (Comment: Annoyingly, one or more guests kept moving the WiFi Router closer to their room).
Report this review
Andries J. Solo travelers South Africa, July 22, 2015
Home away from Home

Wonderful staff, Immaculate Rooms, Peaceful quiet location
This is my second stay at Monsoon Suites. The rooms (suites) are very spacious and sunny and in immaculate condition. This is by far the cleanest hotel of any kind I have stayed in in Sri Lanka. Bathrooms are big with hot and cold water. The rain shower is very refreshing after a day out sight-seeing. There is a very spacious walk-in closet with lots of space, including a safe for your valuables. The room has a balcony with a table and chairs overlooking the peaceful residential area with trees and birds. The large King size bed is also very comfortable and the linen crisp. The room has a ceiling fan and an air conditioner with a bar fridge and a kettle for boiling water to make tea of coffee. The room fee also includes free wi-fi. Since this is a 2 star hotel there is no room service. But staff are extremely helpful and polite, and will obtain whatever you may require, and arrange transport of sight-seeing trips if you wish. The rooms have a selection of take away menu's and your meal of choice can be delivered to your door. Another feature of this hotel that I value highly is that it is completely secure. Due to flight delays I missed my connecting flight and could not stay at the hotel on the day I booked it. This was not a problem at all. Many hotel bookings done through Agoda - you will lose your money if you do not arrive before a certain time. The management/supervisor allowed me to utilise my booking 3 days after my intended booking day, which is very uncommon these days. If you like to be away from the bustle of the city and traffic noise I have not come across a better place to stay in Colombo than the Monsoon Suites. It comes highly recommended to travellers who like to be close to all amenities of a big city, but have the peace and quite of a well established residential area. Everything about the hotel is spotless.
Report this review
Cletus F. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 13, 2015
Comfort and Convenience

Proximity - Room quality was very good - Staff friendliness
I stayed at this Hotel for over 2 weeks. As I said earlier, the Room was in very good condition although the Air-conditioning System could not be controlled very well. In my case, it did not matter very much as I used the Fan all the time I was in the Room. The Staff were very friendly and always willing to help. I was very surprised that there were no Sign Boards indicating the name of the Hotel anywhere outside the Hotel although there was one very pretty sign inside the huge Garage door-type entrance. There were no direction signs either. Perhaps a Sign at the turn-in from Nawala Road might be helpful.
Report this review
Frank W. Solo travelers Sri Lanka, February 17, 2015
Overnight stay

Large spacious room; helpful staff; comfortable
Report this review
Frank W. Solo travelers Sri Lanka, February 17, 2015
Satisfied customer

Spacious rooms, polite staff, affordable
The room was large and spacious, the staff were helpful, the beds were comfortable the cost was cheap and affordable. The only drawback is the location, which is difficult to find. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.
Report this review
Pascal D. Solo travelers Australia, December 21, 2014
Sri Lanka Escape

I got a laugh out of its location. No taxis knew where it was. Even with a business card they had to ask people on the street for directions.
Only there for one night. The staff knocked on my door for a 6:30 wake up call though I didn't ask for one. Location is a long way oit of town and none of the taxi drivers actually knew where it was.
Report this review
Varsha I. Solo travelers India, April 28, 2014

Attentive staff, Helpful Service and clean rooms
My stay was comfortable. Monsoon Suites is a little away from the Fort area of the city. Its also hard to find if the driver doesnt know the way around. So be sure to ask the owners for clear instructions before leaving. Its a quiet area and the house is tucked away in a corner. The rooms are clean, but plain. Breakfast is provided for an extra charge. You can also order in food from the pizza/chinese restaurants around (of course, you can do that anywhere). The staff are extremely helpful and will sit with you to help you plan your vacation. I recommend this place for a basic requirement stay for a day or two.
Report this review
Pojen T. Solo travelers Taiwan, December 9, 2013
Nice apartment in residential area, not cheap

clean room, helpful staffs, good service
I booked a budget room. There was no window and the A.C. was not working very well, so it got pretty hot at night. So it turned out a little bit cooler and more fresh air outside the room than this a.c. room. The staff boys were very helpful for everything. I haven't seen the manager or reception thou...since it was saturdat and sunday when I arrived here...their holidays. I inquired about upgrading my room to a room with window (that means deluxe room), and on the phone the manager told me I need to pay 40 USD extra for upgrading. I checked agoda and found the price difference between budget and deluxe room is only 27 USD difference. I told the manager about this but she kept saying that offer is no longer valid on agoda....but obviously it is valid on agoda as I have checked online many times.I think it will be nicer if the manager can come to meet with customers sometimes. It doesn't feel so cool if I can only speak with a manager who is only available on the phone throu the intercom. Anyway, this place is located in a residential area, and shops, food, café, restaurants are around so the living part is ok. But it is not so close to the tourists center area, so it is always difficult for drivers to find here....since it is not really a hotel. You would hardly know there is a place to stay if you are not booking online.
Report this review
Ahmed I. Solo travelers Maldives, September 27, 2013
Nice place to stay and close to Lanka Hospital

Location / Comfort / Clean
I stayed 01 night and was a comfortable budget room, arrived late, yet the staff was very kind and generous.
Report this review
Anoli R. Solo travelers Sri Lanka, September 8, 2013
Good location with value for money

Clean, value for money and good location
Met my expectations. I will stay again. Good value for money
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Monsoon Suites Colombo - Superior RoomMonsoon Suites Colombo - InteriorMonsoon Suites Colombo - Living RoomMonsoon Suites Colombo - Superior room BalconyMonsoon Suites Colombo - Smoking ZoneMonsoon Suites Colombo - Guest RoomMonsoon Suites Colombo - BathroomMonsoon Suites Colombo - Guest RoomMonsoon Suites Colombo - InteriorMonsoon Suites Colombo - InteriorMonsoon Suites Colombo - Balcony/TerraceMonsoon Suites Colombo - Food and BeveragesMonsoon Suites Colombo - Guest RoomMonsoon Suites Colombo - InteriorMonsoon Suites Colombo - InteriorMonsoon Suites Colombo - FacilitiesMonsoon Suites Colombo - Guest RoomMonsoon Suites Colombo - Guest RoomMonsoon Suites Colombo - GardenMonsoon Suites Colombo - RestaurantMonsoon Suites Colombo - Guest RoomMonsoon Suites Colombo - Bathroom

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.