or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Mount Lavinia Hotel

100 Hotel Road, Mount Lavinia, Mount Lavinia Beach, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Superior Ocean View Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View Room
Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Guest Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Guest Room
Area: Mount Lavinia Beach Number of Rooms: 226
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

based on
808 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
8.4
All reviews (808)
Sort by:
Brian A. Couples Australia, March 30, 2014
Old Raja! Beautiful historical Hotel but poor staf

Food rustic feel, old raja
6.7
Fine but appalling trained, and UN supervised or directed staff spoilt our stay. Management needs to urgently address this sub standard issue.
Brian A. Couples Australia, March 30, 2014
Olde worlde great food poorly trained staff

Charm food rooms
7
Wonderful but spoilt by poorly trained staff.with appalling supervision.
Caeoline P. Groups United Kingdom, March 20, 2014
The Mount Lavinia Hotel is unique.

The outstandingly friendly staff. Great food. Location.
9.7
This hotel is like no other. A colonial grand old lady full of charm, style, culture and happiness. We come for 5 - 8 days every year and she never disappoints us. Congratulations to Mahesh Abeywickrama and his team. You make the stay of every guest so memorable. See you all in 2015
Princess C. Groups Philippines, March 9, 2014
Wonderful, love the beach and hospitable

Hospitable staff, beach and good ambiance
9.7
It was great, the beach was so nice, the food is cheap and everything was good
Princess C. Groups Philippines, March 8, 2014
Beach, food and culture

Beach, food and wifi
8.7
It was great, we had a good time and its very relaxing. Beach was soooo beautiful
Victoria K. Couples Russia, March 6, 2014
We had to flee from the hotel

Only beach restaurant FishMarket
2.7
Almost at once behind hotel (directly under entrance to hotel, about 100 meters from an entrance to the building) there passes the railroad with the regular movement on it. The hotel has no own territory. To the left of hotel a good sandy beach. Pool small. Condition of hotel the depressing. Walls are somehow plastered - all in hillocks. Linoleum in the elevator is erased to holes. Everything is impregnated with a smell of dampness and splash. In the left wing (if to stand facing the ocean) worst of all. Slightly better in the right wing. Quality of numbers is depressing. Repair if became, long ago and according to the most economical scenario. As humidity high, and ventilation, probably, economical, strong smell of dampness and mold. You live as in a crypt. Numbers overlooking the ocean have a problem with noise from it. On ocean constantly storms also waves breaking about stones create very strong noise. With the closed window and the switched-off conditioner noise about 50 DB (conversation of usual loudness). Actually it is impossible to sleep. After looked at numbers in the right wing, it became clear that at the settlement we were deceived - gave number with more poor quality, than we paid. After it became clear that it is almost impossible to sleep in hotel, we during 26.02.2014 found in the internet and watched some other hotels and got over in Tangerine Beech (see my positive review on it). The hotel refused to return me the sum rest (it was paid from 25.02.2014 till 06.03.2014). At first they tried to refer to that something will not pay service of reservation to them. After I to them quoted the text from this service referring to hotel and suggested to close number and not to hand over it during the period paid with me, ceased to dodge and simply "sent" me.
Ian C. Couples United Kingdom, February 25, 2014
A very relaxing holiday to unwind and re energise

The closeness of the ocean. The terrace, where we dined overlooking the ocean. General friendly ,welcoming atmosphere.
8
This was our second visit to this hotel , returning as we enjoyed the first visit so much. We enjoyed our holiday, it was a little busier this time and the only slight negative was that we could not always get a sun bed with umbrella unless we went down early before breakfast to reserve one. Some people were able to have the same beds in the same spot for the duration of the holiday and often by 11am there were no beds available but there were many reserved with towels & books on but not being used and this could be for several hours.
Stuart K. Couples United Kingdom, February 21, 2014
Exasperating and very disappointing.

Breakfast and location.
5.7
Dreadful from the outset. No car to meet us at airport. Finally managed to find someone who,organised a car for us. The driver drove so slowly and so erratically we thought we might never get there. Arrived at midnight to be told we had 2 rooms booked, I had to tell them one had been cancelled ages ago, and then we were put into an inferior room we had not booked, in the horrible old,part. When I told the duty manager about this he tried to lie and told us there were no other rooms and then sunddenly a direct sea view one appeared! I had to then arrange to have us moved to the room we had booked so did not,get to bed till after1 a.m. We had hoped we might receive something in the way of an apology but this did not happen. Second night we had the noisiest family next door, we could hear everything through an adjoining door, and they started at about 4/5 a.m. We then had a phone call telling us they were giving us a free return ride to airport, but we were only going as far as Colombo Fort station. Did they really think we were departing the country 36 hrs after arrival? So we thanked them and suggested they could also pick up,tab for ride on way in to which they agreed. The on our way to,station the hotel phoned driver to say we had left without paying for the car! Also,at check out they tried to charge us for the room which had already been paid for through you, and a lot more than we had paid! All I can say is the management is hopeless and there has been little or no staff training at all. Not a good start to our holiday!
Lorene N. Couples Singapore, February 10, 2014
not worth the bother

the food the sea and nothing else
5.3
The safe deposit box opens on its own everytime there was a power trip, the laundry service was bad and the staff cannot understand multiple instructions.
Finn A. Couples Denmark, February 5, 2014
Nice stay as first stop in Sri Lanka

Breakfa the restaurant on the beacht an
7.7
Nice and uncomplicated stay. There is a good athmosphere in the restaurants on the terrase and on the beach.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!


AS-AGWEB-3C06