Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Mount Lavinia Hotel

100 Hotel Road, Mount Lavinia, Mount Lavinia Beach, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room
Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Guest Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Guest Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Interior Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Seafood Cove Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Governor’s Restaurant
Area: Mount Lavinia Beach Number of Rooms: 226
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

from 839 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
8.4
All reviews (839)
Sort by:
Abdulla M. Solo travelers Maldives, February 2, 2014
Great Experience

food, location, staff
10
my stay was quite pleasurable, the food was fantastic and the staff were really helpful, recommended
Report this review
Haldis T. Couples Norway, January 14, 2014
Friendly staff - great service

Good food - nice surroundings - friendly staff
8.3
As always, very nice, since this was the high season, the hotel was a bit busy, almost too crowded, esp. the swimming pool area was a bit crowded. I think more strict rules should be set about behaviour/dress code in the restaurant area, since the swimming pool is so close.
Report this review
Steven B. Couples United Kingdom, January 13, 2014
Lovely building with beautiful entrance and lobby.

The hotel is a beautiful building with a magnificent and charming entrance. The seaward facing rooms have a wonderful view.
5.7
We both flew in separately to join up at the Mount Lavinia for a romantic peaceful break of 12 days. Pick up from airport was flawless for my Fiance however I had to get a taxi in the small hours after reception confused my arrival flight. Not a great start. I had stipulated in the special requests form that we wanted a proper large kingsize bed and NOT two singles simply pushed together. Well, my fiance had to again stress this very firmly to the male receptionist upon arrival rather than take the on offer room with single beds! It is fair to say our room was very comfortable and clean the daily male room cleaner was thorough, polite and excellent. The food on offer at breakfast was vast to cater for all tastes. Unfortunately, I did not appreciate having to stand six deep in a line awaiting a simple omelette while our breakfast togetherness was disrupted and my coffee got cold each morning. Buffets are fine but the buffets at the Mount Lavinia sometimes resembled the rush of a children's finger food birthday party and as a result spoiled the hotel ambience and appeal of fine dining. The staff were mostly polite however being accustomed to staying in 4 & 5 star hotels, I couldn't help but feel many required polishing and improved training. It was very clear dining staff are not appointed to look after given table. What service there is from the staff is therefore a hit or miss affair. Being lovers of fine sea food, we embarked on the romantic beach sea food restaurant on our first night. Again I did not appreciate having to stand six deep in a line while waiting patiently for others in front to decide their evening seafood meals. Oh, please please bring back a menu system and good table waiters. In all a nice hotel, however if returning to Sri Lanka for a holiday I would be looking elsewhere.
Report this review
Fern P. Families with older children Australia, January 10, 2014
Excellent

Room, Breakfast and friendly service
10
Great. Enjoyed the beautiful colonial building an surrounding garden and beach.
Report this review
Eric W. Solo travelers United States of America, January 2, 2014
Very disappointing

The Beach, the spa and location
4.3
Disappointing for the money. I spent 25 days in Sri Lanka and had hoped the Mt Lavinia would have been the jewel in the trip, it was not. The seafood restaurant was a great disappointment with an elevated price. The tropical drinks were sad in regards to flavor, the most disappointing of the trip. The high points of the stay was the spa, get the massage package and the historic hotel. I would visit but not recommend the stay.
Report this review
Emad S. Families with young children United Arab Emirates, December 29, 2013
rooms are verry poor for sush abig name hotel

resturant on the beach, near to colombo and only
6.3
we booked a room with ocean direct veiw but what they try to give us was a verry poor room with a verry low ceiling height (too many rooms are same) hotel need renovation (Really)
Report this review
Madiha K. Families with young children Pakistan, December 29, 2013
Great food, location and comfort

Room size and sea view with small garden, room service, location
9
Excellent experience, will definitely come here again!
Report this review
Kamil Y. Solo travelers Malaysia, December 28, 2013
Pleasant but far from the city

Beach, Food, Character
7
An aging beautiful colonial hotel in dire need of renovation with good food and alfresco dining by the pool.
Report this review
Sharoni M. Families with older children France, December 28, 2013
excellent stay, beautiful room with a great view

hotel with character, beautiful colonial look, magnificent ocean viea
8.7
MLH is a great place, it's outside Colombo and in a very quiet area. There is plenty to do around, especially great restaurants. The Hotel has this great colonial look and there is a wonderful ocean view. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the hotel. It was a bit dearer than other hotels
Report this review
Nuwan F. Couples Sri Lanka, December 27, 2013
I loved it..

Beautiful View, Luxury Hotel, Delicious Food
10
We loved it! It was a great experience! Friendly Staff, Great and Delicious Food and Beautiful Atmosphere!
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Hotel Areal ViewMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean ViewMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - InteriorMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Seafood CoveMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - RestaurantMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Governor’s RestaurantMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Pool Side Night ViewMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - SpaMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - SpaMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - The Courtyard Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Private BeachMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Sunset ViewMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Hotel View From SeaMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Nearby Attraction

Customer Reviews - Mount Lavinia Hotel, Colombo

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C01