Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Mount Lavinia Hotel

100 Hotel Road, Mount Lavinia, Mount Lavinia Beach, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room
Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Guest Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Guest Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Interior Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Seafood Cove Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Governor’s Restaurant
Area: Mount Lavinia Beach Number of Rooms: 226

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.1

based on
884 reviews

663 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
8.4
All reviews (884)
Sort by:
Amy C. Families with young children Australia, January 9, 2016
Old rooms in serious need of renovation

Pool, beach, facilities
5.7
Mount Lavinia Hotel was our final few days after a month long trip in Sri Lanka. Given the ratings, I was expecting 5 star luxury. Upon arriving at the hotel, the exterior and internal public areas and lovely and as you would expect. The staff are dressed in uniforms with a colonial feel, and the hotel seemed amazing. However once we were shown to our room, I was seriously disappointed. Our room was old, with cracks in the walls, a musky smell,
Report this review
Zabarie T. Couples Malaysia, January 8, 2016
Near to Train Station

Great Staff
10
100m next to Mount Lavinia train station. Great staff performance and nice ocean view.
Report this review
Geeta C. Couples United Kingdom, December 20, 2015
Pricey and overrated

Buffet
5
I ordered a Deluxe room with ocean view and bath tub. The first room I was given, I could barely see the ocean and there was no bath tub. I could see a couple of mosquitoes in the room. I requested a changed and was given a room that had a bath tub but had hairs in it. A guy came in to check the minibar then insisted he send someone to put oil on the door to the balcony as it was squeeky and wouldn't open well. Most of the staff were nice, but at the buffets they all seem stressed and I wasn't offered tea/coffee for about half an hour.
Report this review
Hussam A. Couples Saudi Arabia, December 9, 2015
Funtastic Ocean view.

Balcony, Stuff Performance & Food.
7
It's good and nice hotel but it is not a five stars hotel it can be a three star hotel because of room condition, furniture were too old and wall paint need to be clean or change. Toilet is ver old and need a little improvement.
Report this review
Chandrasekaran S. Couples Malaysia, December 8, 2015
Highly over rated hotel needs serious renovation.

Location by the beach
4
Was very dissatisfied with the quality of the rooms and attitude of the staff. This hotel is well past its prime and must be renovated soon. The rooms in particular smell musty and the bathrooms were dirty with grime and mildew on the walls, bathtub and floors. There were cockroaches too! Will never stay there again.
Report this review
Upali D. Couples Australia, December 3, 2015
Fantastic.

Food, service, views
10
Wonderful and relaxing
Report this review
Khamis A. Couples Oman, December 1, 2015
Don't miss the location

History and location
8.3
Very good
Report this review
Hussam A. Couples Saudi Arabia, November 30, 2015
Ocean view.

Stuff performance, ocean view & food.
6.3
Rooms furniture need to be replace it was very old and looking bad toilet need a renovation.
Report this review
Michelle T. Solo travelers Singapore, November 27, 2015
the view makes it all worthwhile!

the view, the beach, the location
8
I definitely enjoyed my time at the Mount Lavinia Hotel. though the room could use some updating, it was a comfortable stay for sure. my time on the adjoining beach certainly made it all worthwhile! though watch out for enthusiastic lifeguards who keep approaching for conversation and indirect seashell-selling, but they are respectful if you indicate your desire to be alone. do head out of the hotel and check out Sparkling Gems and Jewels, located just outside. the owners are really nice and genuine, and their items are worth considering.
Report this review
John H. Couples United Kingdom, November 26, 2015
Beautiful hotel but management needs improvement

Beautiful building a views from bedroom breakfast was superb
8
The hotel is superb especially front courtyard and the lobby area. The pool and terrace perfect rooms very comfortable with lovely linen. However we had one very annoying complaint. The menus for both drinks and food fail completly to explain the pricing system. After complaining and having 'meetings' with several members of staff up to the financial controller level they still failed to give a satisfactory answer!!!!!!! Finally one of the receptionists gave a proper explanation. The prices quoted are net of both service charge and tourist tax which comes to approx 22 percent but then a regeneration tax is added which comes to 27 percent!!!none of the bosses mentioned that. They also put the 27 percent on top of the menu price Which is not the right way to calculate it if you look at the sri lankan governments instruction on calculating the 'taxes'. The hotel is in fact making alot of money by their merhod of calculation. They also will not give you a breakdown and itemised bill at the end of the holiday just a total figure to pay so you have no idea what you are being charged for. Be aware of the 27 percent- it makes a big difference and when you sign for anything check the bill thoroughly as we had several mistakes on ours. Better still photograph what you sign for!! For a beautiful hotel like this not to give a copy of what you sign for or an itemised bill is very inefficient.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 663 reviews Next page
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Hotel Areal ViewMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean ViewMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - InteriorMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Seafood CoveMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - RestaurantMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Governor’s RestaurantMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Pool Side Night ViewMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - SpaMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - SpaMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - The Courtyard Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Private BeachMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Sunset ViewMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Hotel View From SeaMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Nearby Attraction


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C08