Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Mount Lavinia Hotel

100 Hotel Road, Mount Lavinia, Mount Lavinia Beach, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room
Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Guest Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Guest Room Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Interior Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Seafood Cove Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Governor’s Restaurant
Area: Mount Lavinia Beach Number of Rooms: 226
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

from 837 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
8.4
All reviews (837)
Sort by:
Tareq Q. Families with older children Jordan, August 18, 2015
Not bad

The view Bed and swimming pool
5.3
The wrong approach of governers restaurant reception staff they were rude regarding the dress code although it wasn't applied to all guests
Report this review
Mun K. Business travelers Singapore, August 14, 2015
Historic Stay

Breakfast, antique lift and great seaview
9
Great hospitality!
Report this review
Andries J. Solo travelers South Africa, August 3, 2015
Never disappoints

Location, Beautiful Rooms, colonial ambiance
9.7
I'll keep this short: Mt Lavinia Hotel is in a class of its own. Reminiscent and staying try to its colonial heritage I have never been disappointed staying here. Place to relax, unwind and reflect on the past and energize the mind for the future. Highly recommended.
Report this review
Ibrahim M. Couples Maldives, July 28, 2015
Nice hotel to relax

food, staff and beach
9.3
it was fantastic stay in this hotel
Report this review
Laura M. Solo travelers United States of America, July 27, 2015
Great breakfast and ocean views

Breakfast, location, service
8.3
Report this review
Dilip K. Families with older children India, July 26, 2015
Overrated average hotel

Location, right on the beach. That's all I can think of! !!
6
Stayed in the hotel for two nights with family of four. It is a totally over rated hotel. Very poor rooms and extremely dated. Poor maintenance. Rooms were not ready at time of check in and porters had no communication skills in English. It took more than one hour after check in and repeated calls to the front desk and housekeeping to connect the adjoining rooms. Bathrooms are average. Buffet breakfast options average. Poor quality of service in the restaurants. Will never recommend this hotel to anyone looking for five star hotel experience
Report this review
Hans M. Couples Germany, July 21, 2015
Tasty food, super location, rooms only ok

Location, food, sea view
7.7
I stayed with my wife two nights in this hotel. First night we ate a la carte, really good food, second night we joined the daily changing duffet-style dinner, also very tasty and much choice. The location is superb, the sea views are great. The staff is not too polite, the help you but we were missing some smiles....The rooms ( we had booked Deluxe Room) are old inside and need definitively a total refurbishment. It is the look of the seventies, also the bathroom needs a face-lift... Definitively NO 5 star hotel nowadays anymore. As a 4 starshotel is would be okay.
Report this review
Beau R. Couples Australia, July 18, 2015
Possibly the most beautiful hotel we've stayed in

The Architeture. The Rooms. The view.
9.3
We stayed here for two nights at the end of the trip and this hotel was perfect. The hotel itself is stunning to look at and the view of the beach and shoreline from the pool and bar area is breathtaking. Being monsoon season, it was beautiful watching the waves roll in and crash on the rocks. The lighting of the palm trees at night and subtle lighting of the hotel is equally as impressive. Our room was spacious, clean and just what we needed after 3 weeks of running around. Room service was great and cable tv appreciated with the cricket on ;) Seaside view was to die for. The private beach is a bit strange but the Mount Lavinia area is a gorgeous suburb feel where you get a taste for Sri Lankan life but away from the hectic nature of the city itself. We didn't make it to the turtle hatchery nearby but that sounded cute as well. Nearby Bixton St Cafe was our favourite though there are many beachfront bars and restaurants to enjoy. In the lobby, the puff pastries are a must and happy hour by the pool from 6-7 a treat, as well. Overall we had a ball here and highly recommend it to anyone considering!
Report this review
Dianne B. Couples Australia, July 4, 2015
My Lavinia stay!!

We were so amazed by the professional friendly service when we arrived. The view was breath taking and the food was sensational!
10
Relaxing, exciting, thrilled to be there and to have experienced the hotel for myself after heading so many great reviews and many family members comments after staying there.
Report this review
Shreeniwas V. Business travelers India, June 5, 2015
Functional but not attractive

Location, Access to beach, Food Options
7.3
I often travel to Colombo for business work. I had been told that Mt. Lavinia Hotel is among the best hotels in town and since this time the price was about the same as my normal choices, I decided to give it a shot. I found the location very good, right next to the beach, and apart from the sound of the waves, it is quite calm. I took a Direct Ocean View room and as promised I found the room and the balcony opening right to the view of the water and the view is in fact quite appreciated. Breakfast on all days was pleasant with a fairly good variety, lots of sitting space and friendly staff. Where I was disappointed was that despite the reputation, the interiors of the hotel and rooms come off just about average, nowhere close to attractive. The room, and the fittings felt very dated and I had to struggle quite a bit with the bathroom fittings to make them work. There is also a problem that the rooms have an odd stench - perhaps related to the salty water. It wasn't unbearable, but I would rather have a bit of fragrance in a hotel, than the smell of salt water. All in all, it wasn't disappointing as such, but I would rather prefer a refurbished hotel with chic interiors, better smelling rooms than what I find now.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Hotel Areal ViewMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean ViewMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - InteriorMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Seafood CoveMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - RestaurantMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Governor’s RestaurantMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Pool Side Night ViewMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - SpaMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - SpaMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - The Courtyard Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Private BeachMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Sunset ViewMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Hotel View From SeaMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Nearby Attraction

Customer Reviews - Mount Lavinia Hotel, Colombo

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A08