Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Mount Lavinia Hotel

100 Hotel Road, Mount Lavinia, Mount Lavinia Beach, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.1

based on 893 reviews

670 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
8.4
All reviews (893)
Sort by:
Kim M. Solo travelers United States of America, April 22, 2016
Great location
6.3
Rooms could be a bit updated but all in all we really enjoyed the pool and food.
Report this review
Philippa H. Groups United Kingdom, April 16, 2016
Most stunning vue from our balcony
6.3
Lovely hotel, food and view were both outstanding, rooms are quite dated but clean. The rest of the hotel is beautiful example of colonial style.
Report this review
Roy K. Groups Norway, March 8, 2016
Good

Beach, Pool, food
8
Good
Report this review
Pauline H. Couples United Kingdom, March 6, 2016
Superb

location, pool, food
10
The most beautiful colonial hotel with high standards, stunning and beautiful location, staff superb, food astonishing in its diversity, wi fi brilliant, rooms so comfy, staff helpful and attentive,historically wonderful. One downfall was minibar/fridge, which was unsuitable for a deluxe room and stopped working, but was mended within 4 mins of informing staff it did not work. For its age it ran like a smooth new vessel, butas being built 1806 it was aging beautifully, just remember it is not a new 5 star but deserves every star. 2 beaches, one beach with fish market and restaurant, beautifully romantic , both beautiful gorgeous pool, terrace bar pool area bar and dining area, morning afternoon and evening every area was just a joy being there.
Report this review
Ole G. Couples Denmark, March 5, 2016
Service degrading
5
Hotel is surviving on reputation rather on actual performance. Service personel and waiters are often confused and need more management attention. According to street rumors the reason might be that the personel don't get their fair share of the service charges !
Report this review
Sourav P. Families with young children India, February 13, 2016
Fantastic Location and great breakfast
4.7
Room was nice with a view view of the sea. Breakfast spread is really great. It has a private beach access and a great seafood restaurant on the beach. Only one complaint, our room was not ready even at 4pm, when the check in time is 2pm.
Report this review
John W. Solo travelers Australia, February 13, 2016
Reliving colonial history

Architectural beauty, beautiful site, colonial charm
10
I had a wonderful stay at the Mount Lavinia Hotel.
Report this review
Amy C. Families with young children Australia, January 9, 2016
Old rooms in serious need of renovation

Pool, beach, facilities
5.7
Mount Lavinia Hotel was our final few days after a month long trip in Sri Lanka. Given the ratings, I was expecting 5 star luxury. Upon arriving at the hotel, the exterior and internal public areas and lovely and as you would expect. The staff are dressed in uniforms with a colonial feel, and the hotel seemed amazing. However once we were shown to our room, I was seriously disappointed. Our room was old, with cracks in the walls, a musky smell,
Report this review
Zabarie T. Couples Malaysia, January 8, 2016
Near to Train Station

Great Staff
10
100m next to Mount Lavinia train station. Great staff performance and nice ocean view.
Report this review
Geeta C. Couples United Kingdom, December 20, 2015
Pricey and overrated

Buffet
5
I ordered a Deluxe room with ocean view and bath tub. The first room I was given, I could barely see the ocean and there was no bath tub. I could see a couple of mosquitoes in the room. I requested a changed and was given a room that had a bath tub but had hairs in it. A guy came in to check the minibar then insisted he send someone to put oil on the door to the balcony as it was squeeky and wouldn't open well. Most of the staff were nice, but at the buffets they all seem stressed and I wasn't offered tea/coffee for about half an hour.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 670 reviews Next page
Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Hotel Areal ViewMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean ViewMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Ocean View Twin RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Colonial Wing RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Direct Ocean View RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - InteriorMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Seafood CoveMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - RestaurantMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Governor’s RestaurantMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Pool Side Night ViewMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - SpaMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - SpaMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - The Courtyard Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Private BeachMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Sunset ViewMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Hotel View From SeaMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolMount Lavinia Hotel Colombo - Nearby Attraction


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A04