Back to hotel info

2015

Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket

509 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket, Thailand - Show map

Excellent 8.4
Based on 1182 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1182 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.5
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 8.3

Don H.
United States
July 21, 2013
Very well kept property
Quite in villas, Close to other attractions, clean and nearby beach
Most definitely the beach was much more clean than batong. The food here was ok, but nothing special. Staff seemed less kind and genuine when other employees aren't around. Stayed in deluxe garden villa, and the room was very clean on the first day only. House keeping seemed to do just enough not to get a complain. But then again, it was like that with the driver and the bellman as well. Perhaps, this is the culture of this hotel. Overall, it is not likely that I would stay here again and not recommend to my friends for the $ that I paid.

Cara W.
Singapore
July 21, 2013
Awesome experience!
Location, friendly staff, overall environment
We had a wonderful experience at the hotel, from the airport transfer to the check-in. The hotel gave a nice upgrade to the plunge pool penthouse villa which was a nice surprise. Hotel is clearly a cut above the rest in the vicinity. We didn't use the plunge pool but the rooftop was a good place to chill as as it was private. Good facilities (playgrounds and children's pool) are noted for families. Room is a little dated but still well maintained.The coconut pool for premium villa guests was fantastic and a good pool to go to if you want to skip the bustle at main pool. Breakfast spread was generous. Staff were pleasant, helpful and polite. Only gripe was that the Spa was overpriced for the service received. It was decent, but nothing to rave about. If you walk out of the hotel toward the beach, there are other spas along the same side of the road which provide the same standards but charge less than half the price. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Natalie S.
Singapore
July 20, 2013
comfortable stay & good location
quiet surroundibg, close to beach & amenties/shops
nothing to rave about but it`s a comfortable stay for my family of 4 adults, 3 teenagers & 1 child. easy access to beach & shops, near to patong, quiet surrounding with nice garden setting. price is a little high for hotel standatd. staff performance average.

Antonio V.
Portugal
July 15, 2013
nice villa
good service, nice food and quiet
all areas reserved for villa guests are quiet and clean however in the main pool I saw a mainland Chinese girl pee in the water. Also the tiolet there is very dirty.

Katsiaryna P.
Belarus
July 14, 2013
nice and relaxing
staff, grounds, food
clean and spacious rooms, friendly staff, a bit overpriced

Samina A.
Pakistan
July 12, 2013
Over rated hotel too pricey for the services
Pool, Location to Karon Beach,
Moevenpick Resort was for us a serious turn off during our trip, The room that we were given was a good 10 minute from the lobby and the pool, but barely a minute away from the Karon beach (across the street). Internet access was a daily additional charge which seemed pricey considering the speed was many times a crawl. The Garden Suite room was a large room with a lounge and a large bathroom with an additional outdoor rain shower. The room when we first entered at checking did not present to us the cleanliness and the polish as expected of a Movenpick branded hotel, or for the matter the amount of money we were paying, we expected better quality, but over all the furniture had the effect of a worn down feeling. Buffet Breakfast had a nice selection, but please Avoid buying the expensive (& stale) Movenpick ice cream - in our eager to enjoy the Movenpick delicacy the entire family purchased a Movenpick flavor but EACH cup was stale as if it has been collecting dust in their refrigerators - Definitely not a feature that the Movenpick brand would be proud to have, we definitely tasted far far better & fresher Movenpick ice cream at the vendor stands in Patong & JungCeylon mall - Movenpick resort hotel should instead have one of the best ice cream cafe serving the freshest ice cream anywhere in Phuket, instead, Movenpick ice cream freezers stocked with some stale ice creams and that too at probably double the cost ANT invasion: our first two nights we could not understand that something was biting us in our beds, first night we shrugged it off, but second night it became a noticeable issue, the third night we figured there were some very tiny yellow ants occasionally seen in our bedding, the next day we requested housekeeping to change our bedding, the next night same issue, this time we complained to the front desk manager who promised to have it throughly looked into - that night before we got into bed we saw the ants again but were shocked to see an arm

YI S.
China
July 10, 2013
perfect hotel located at a perfect place
location service enviroment
very close to the beach, less than 5 mins to get to the sea.Garden is also beautiful.

Tipsuda S.
Thailand
July 10, 2013
the hotel is too big and renovation is needed.
Services and location
The hotel is quite old and need to be renewed event it smell is old.....due to the hotel is quite big it's quite far from your room to the beach.....

Gina S.
Singapore
July 10, 2013
Very Spacious Bathroom with Jacuzzi.
Wide variety breakfast, spacious bathroom with jacuzzi, Buggy service to rooms
The Reception introduced us to upgrade to the Residences. I have booked a total of 3 rooms, with 2 adults and 2 young kids. if 2 families wants to upgrade, we only requires 2 rooms as the kids are still young. we wanted to take the Residences but we were told that 1 family must take 1 Residence and not 2 families into 1 Residence. When they introduced us to the Villas, they even told us that 1 family with 2 Adults and 2 young kids need to take 2 Villas?? this is simply ridiculous!!!!! the staff don't know what they are talking. Very bad customer service. We were so upset until we spent time to explained to them and finally we got 2 families with 1 villa each.

Puay T.
Singapore
July 09, 2013
Great kids club for younger children
Flexibility in allowing extra kids to stay free, Spacious compound to relax, Good kids club with plenty of activities
We have stayed with 2 kids below 4 and find that the hotel is really kids friendly. My wife and I left our kids for hours at the kids club when we enjoyed ourselves at The Spa. The breakfast spread is good but food quality is not that good.Generally it is ok but not value for money. We later moved on to other hotel for another 2 nights which we feel is a better resort.