or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Mr Charles Hotel

105, Auba street, Myo Le qt, Northern Shan St, Hsipaw, Hsipaw, Myanmar (Show on map)

Book now!

Mr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Restaurant Mr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Exterior Mr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Bathroom Mr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Bathroom Mr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Hotel Interior Mr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Bathroom Mr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Guest room Mr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Hotel Interior Mr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Balcony Mr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Guest Room Mr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Entrance Mr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Hotel Exterior Mr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Exterior Mr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Interior Mr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Food and Beverages
Area: Hsipaw Number of Rooms: 40
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
31 reviews

Value for Money
8.1
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (31)
Sort by:
Catherine M. Couples New Zealand, November 9, 2014
Confidence i staff abilities and helpfulness.

Friendly greeting and a cool drink when we arrived
9.3
Dirk J. Families with older children Germany, July 27, 2014
good accomodation

rooms, clean, location
8.7
mr. charles is a good starting point for hikes in the surrounding.
Dirk J. Families with older children Germany, July 27, 2014
nice stay

location, rooms, staff
9.3
nice stay in a nice city, good starting point for hiking
Alexander W. Solo travelers United Kingdom, July 20, 2014
Mr Charles has cornered the solo market in Hsipaw.

Guests, service, cleanliness.
8
Mr Charles has cornered the solo traveller market in Hsipaw. Everybody that we had met in Myanmar (Yangon, Bagan & Mandalay) we met a second time in Mr Charles. Mr Charles is the only individual or business that we happened across (in 3 weeks of travelling Myanmar) that understood the tourist market. There was a free tuktuk from the train station to Mr Charles, he had a variety of rooms for a spread of budgets, good food available and travel against for treks and transport to/from Hsipaw. The staff were efficient and friendly, the rooms clean and the service good. The sole negative comment I have is that the wifi was very poor.
Brendan W. Couples Canada, July 14, 2014
Good value near charming town

Easy route to trekking, quick walk to town, colonial charm
8.7
Mr. Charles's Hotel was well-maintained, spacious, had friendly staff and was a solid value. Pick-up from the bus was unexpected and welcome. Though an internet outage made the unaware of our booking, producing a print-out of the Agoda booking smoothed this over. The rooms were roomy and well-furnished. The included breakfast was perfect, though the resto only fair. The location is, like Kalaw, a pleasant, temperate escape from hotter and/or rainier parts of Burma. Unlike Kalaw, Hsipaw has good cafes, including Black House - with a scenic river view and a great owner - without having to first scale a small mountain, and one can grab a reasonable meal (Mr. Food).
Megan Q. Couples United States of America, April 17, 2014
Great staff and easy arrangements for trekking

Helpful staff, clean room, good location
7.7
The staff at Mr Charles were very helpful with making arrangements for trekking and our other travel needs after Hsipaw. The location is good and walkable distance to many restaurants. Nice clean rooms as well.
Nathan W. Couples New Zealand, April 6, 2014
Average - room was dirty

was fantastic
5
Rachel H. Couples United Kingdom, March 18, 2014
Brilliant Backpacker Set Up

Organisation, breakfast & hiking
9
We booked 4 nights in a standard room although we only slept there for two nights as we spent the other two nights in Palaung villages on our hiking trip led by the lovely & knowledgeable Mr Win. We were upgraded to a Superior room which was clean & comfortable, certainly good value for money compared to elsewhere in Myanmar. The buffet breakfast is great and staff are very helpful and were able to book our onward travel. Mr Charles is very well set up for hiking in the surrounding countryside with guides on hand morning & evening to advise & book trips. A free pick up from the Mandalay train was an unexpected bonus after a 12 hour journey!
Anna G. Solo travelers Australia, March 14, 2014
Great central location

Very friendly owners and staff, who spoke good English.
9
From the moment we were picked up from Lashio airport by Ms and Mr. Charles Jr. we felt at home. The hotel and guesthouse are very well run and there was ALWAYS a family member present for any queries one may have. The first night it was very noisy with the school children right across the road, so we were moved to another room without any hassle. We also liked the cosy activities table where you could book treks and boat trips. Very happy with the cost and the guides, in particular Win Go! who pointed us in the right direction to go to the opening of the full moon celebrations. Was absolutely wonderful. We would definitely stay at Mr. Charles again on a subsequent visit.
Corinna G. Couples Germany, March 4, 2014
The best stop in Hsipaw

great room, good trekking service, interesting village
8.3
When you decide to go to Hsipaw this is your hotel. They have many different categories so it suits for all. Now they have got three buildings. We stayed in the suite and for us it was a great value for money - very big nice room! They can arrange from one day to the other all types of trekking for you - very professionel. We did a shan village walk of 4 hours and it was great. It is near to the main road with all the restaurants. There is also a great cafe/bar directly at the river near to the hotel.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Mr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Hotel ExteriorMr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - RestaurantMr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - ExteriorMr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - BathroomMr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - BathroomMr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Hotel InteriorMr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - BathroomMr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Guest roomMr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Hotel InteriorMr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - BalconyMr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Guest RoomMr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - EntranceMr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Hotel ExteriorMr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - ExteriorMr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - InteriorMr Charles Hotel Hsipaw - Food and Beverages


AS-AGWEB-3A07