My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Myeongdong Hostel

114, Da-dong, Jung-gu, Myeong-dong, Seoul, South Korea (Show on map)

Book now!

Myeongdong Hostel Seoul - Hotel Entrance Myeongdong Hostel Seoul - Double Myeongdong Hostel Seoul - Hotel Interior Myeongdong Hostel Seoul - Lobby Myeongdong Hostel Seoul - Dormitory Myeongdong Hostel Seoul - Family Myeongdong Hostel Seoul - Twin Myeongdong Hostel Seoul - Single Myeongdong Hostel Seoul - Hotel Exterior Myeongdong Hostel Seoul - Bathroom Myeongdong Hostel Seoul - Hotel Exterior
Hotel Area: Myeong-dong Number of Rooms: 18
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

6.9

based on
153 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
9.2
Staff Performance
6.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.0
Food/Dining
5.4
All reviews (153)
Sort by:
Bernard Y. Solo travelers Thailand, March 2, 2014
Very good little hostel

Convenience, Comfort, Value for money
8.7
Very convenient with friendly helpful staff. Excellent location. Easy access to everything.
Hyun J. Solo travelers South Korea, February 4, 2014
just so so

location price
4.3
I think it is just so so. But the price is cheep. if you are a visitor who want to save the money, you can book here.
Stephenie C. Couples United States of America, February 2, 2014
short and unpleasant

location, staff friendliness, price
4.3
the hostel was very dirty. Floors, sheets, tv, remote. The bathroom smelled awful and the sheets were stained.
Joyce S. Groups Singapore, October 14, 2013
nice and comfortable

location, location, location
8.3
it's great. love the location and it's proximity to myeongdong, cheonggyecheon and the subway exit with the lift! staff were great and friendly. their command of english is good so no worries on anything. also, if you wanted some recommendations/directions, they're always happy to help out.
Paul F. Couples Australia, October 9, 2013
Great value for money

Centrally located, close to transport and friendly staff
8
Trenton N. Solo travelers United States of America, September 15, 2013
convenient for one or two nights

location, convenience, decent
6.7
this is a hostel. the location is real good. 5 minute walk to metro station. 10 minute walk to myeongdong. 5 minute walk to lotte department store. many restaurants and pubs in area. the room was a basic hostel. bed was decent, toilet and shower was also decent. it was clean. no towels or necessities provided. wifi in room there is a security code to enter the building. if i'm not mistaken there was a communal kitchen as well.
Chan L. Couples Singapore, September 8, 2013
Very Near to subway

Free Wifi Available, Free international Call
6.3
Hotel was conveniently located almost next to the subway station. hotel was decently clean. Shower head was spoilt and leaking. Water leaked out from the toilet into our room. Other than that, all was great.
Bradley S. Business travelers United States of America, September 6, 2013
You get what you pay for

price, location, helpful staff
9.3
The hostel is clean and well run. It is well worth the money and the location cannot be beat.
Anjelica A. Couples United States of America, August 17, 2013
Low price, low frills

Price, location, staff
7.7
I stayed at the Myeongdong Hostel twice. First, be aware: the sign on the front says in English "Seoul Backpackers Hostel." It only says Myeongdong Hostel in handwritten Hanguel on a small piece of paper, taped to the front door. This caused me to pass by it twice. Night 1, boyfriend and I stayed in a double room. We were in room 301. It actually had a double bed and a single bed, and the bathroom was just a walled off section of the room with see-through walls. This was a bit inconvenient. No towels or toiletries are provided, but there is a TV. The bed was so hard that I couldn't sleep. Ther was one small window, probably 20"x20". Night 2 we stayed in 404, another double room. This one was much smaller than 301, but the bed was also much softer and I was able to sleep quite comfortably. Again, no toiletries at all, but this time I asked for towels at the front desk and they were given to me cheerfully. 404 smelled a bit closed up, but the AC worked fine and it was aired out easily. Again, there was only a very small window, so no natural sunlight. That said, I really liked this hostel. It was super cheap and a very good location, whether you are meeting at Lotte for the DMZ tour (as we were) or going shopping. The staff have native-level English and they are very, very helpful. They do take a 10,000W security deposit, which we didn't have to pay the first time as our first booking was through Agoda. I didn't wander around the facilities much, but they have a fridge for use, too. Definitely this is a frill-free place, but the cost and the location can't be beat.
Wing S. Families with older children Singapore, July 25, 2013
Great for Budget Travellers

Location, Inexpensive, Train station at doorstep
8.3
Myeongdong Hostel is centrally located near the famous Myeongdong shopping area. If you like to explore the city on foot, it is also within walking distance to Dongdaemun, Namdaemun and Seoul Station. I checked into a clean family en-suite room, with limited room amenities. However, beware that there are no elevator in the building, so expect to carry your luggage up to your assigned level (we were on the 5th floor!). Do roam around the neighborhood as you will find some authentic Korean restaurants patronised by the locals near the hotel at a reasonable price.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Myeongdong Hostel Seoul - Hotel ExteriorMyeongdong Hostel Seoul - Hotel EntranceMyeongdong Hostel Seoul - DoubleMyeongdong Hostel Seoul - Hotel InteriorMyeongdong Hostel Seoul - LobbyMyeongdong Hostel Seoul - Dormitory Myeongdong Hostel Seoul - FamilyMyeongdong Hostel Seoul - TwinMyeongdong Hostel Seoul - SingleMyeongdong Hostel Seoul - Hotel ExteriorMyeongdong Hostel Seoul - BathroomMyeongdong Hostel Seoul - Hotel Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3B08