Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Neill-Wycik Backpackers Hotel

96 Gerrard Street East, Garden District, Toronto (ON), Canada (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Garden District Number of Rooms: 300
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.7

from 26 reviews

Value for Money
7.6
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
6.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
5.7
Room Comfort/Standard
5.9
Food/Dining
5.9
All reviews (26)
Sort by:
Rachel A. Solo travelers New Zealand, July 14, 2015
Good value for money compared with a hostel

You get your own room at not much more than the price of dorm bed. Security guard on premises. Convenience store and good coffee shop (Black Bulldog) next door.
9
Good value for money compared with a dorm bed. It gets hot in the rooms in the summer as there is no aircon. Good location to walk to see the sights. Nice to have choices for breakfast but the croissants are best avoided as they are tough. Wifi only in reception and lounge on top floor but is a reasonable speed.
Report this review
Gary L. Solo travelers United Kingdom, July 31, 2014
Great choice

Location, great friendly staff and value for money
9.3
Very comfortable, quick and easy check in, staff very friendly, really nice breakfast, very quiet especially considering the central location, easy to find from the subway station so very convenient getting around and to/from the airport, clean rooms and bathrooms, location makes sightseeing easy as is walkable to city sights. I would stay here again if ever back in Toronto
Report this review
Melodie H. Couples Canada, June 30, 2014
Fun, enjoyable, safe

Close to nightlife, friendly staff, cheap
5.3
Great. The hotel is very accommodating and cost effective. Breakfast selection is good and staff is very friendly and helpful. Recommend to anyone on a budget. Rooms are very warm though, I recommend bringing a fan!
Report this review
Yuk L. Business travelers Hong Kong, June 12, 2014
Self-catering

Friendly staff, near down town but quiet.l
5.7
It's ok for such relatively low rate.
Report this review
Fabio M. Solo travelers Switzerland, August 14, 2013
Good for those tracelling on a budget

Close to Union station and the Capitol, price, kitchen
5.7
Report this review
Fred A. Solo travelers Philippines, August 12, 2013
The hotel is great in terms of location and staff

Location, modest facilities, staff
8.7
Apart from the convenience of being centrally located and comfort of modest facilities, all my request were catered to by friendly staff
Report this review
Dallas S. Solo travelers Canada, July 29, 2013
A nice inexpensive place

Location location location
6.7
It was really fair
Report this review
John S. Solo travelers United Kingdom, July 18, 2013
#1 in Toronto for solo travellers

Location, price, fabulous staff
8.7
I flew into Toronto from Cuba at 2 am with no accommodation booked and no intention of paying for a hotel room for what little remained of that night. Pearson airport has a 24-hour coffee shop with wifi so I went there to work on the next stages of my trip, including getting a roof over my head for the coming night: I chose the Neill Wycik because it was super-cheap and I knew the area from a previous visit. When the transport systems were all running, I rode downtown and went to the hotel so that I could drop my bag: to my amazement, they let me check in at about 9 am, a full seven hours before the check-in time on their website! That was just the first of several ways in which the staff proved themselves to be utterly fantastic, far better than the career professionals in many 5-star hotels. As for the establishment itself, there's no getting away from the fact that it's a college dorm for most of the year so single bed, shared bathroom etc; but, for a solo traveller on a budget, it's the best value in Toronto.
Report this review
Louis P. Solo travelers Canada, July 10, 2013
cheap, in downtown, no internet, school dorm

price, location, access
6.3
- No internet AT ALL in room unless you pay for it (another university residence in Toronto I stayed at provided a free phone cable hookup) - No air conditioning - Bad neighbourhood - Poor selection at included breakfast - Good downtown location--walking distance to mall and some attractions - Cheap -- don't expect much, but you get what you pay for
Report this review
Melodie H. Couples Canada, June 30, 2013
Good place for the money

Cheap, centerally located, 24 hour staff/locked front door
7.3
Great experience for how cheap the hotel was. Only negative thing was that the elevators were broken and we had a 15 minute wait each time we had to catch one.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B03