My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Neill Wycik College Residence

96 Gerrard Street East, Garden District, Toronto (ON), Canada (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Garden District Number of Rooms: 300

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.4

based on
21 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
6.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
5.6
Room Comfort/Standard
5.8
Food/Dining
5.7
All reviews (21)
Sort by:
Melodie H. Groups Canada, June 30, 2014
Fun, enjoyable, safe

Close to nightlife, friendly staff, cheap
5.3
Great. The hotel is very accommodating and cost effective. Breakfast selection is good and staff is very friendly and helpful. Recommend to anyone on a budget. Rooms are very warm though, I recommend bringing a fan!
Yuk L. Business travelers Hong Kong, June 12, 2014
Self-catering

Friendly staff, near down town but quiet.l
5.7
It's ok for such relatively low rate.
Fabio M. Solo travelers Switzerland, August 14, 2013
Good for those tracelling on a budget

Close to Union station and the Capitol, price, kitchen
5.7
Fred A. Solo travelers Philippines, August 12, 2013
The hotel is great in terms of location and staff

Location, modest facilities, staff
8.7
Apart from the convenience of being centrally located and comfort of modest facilities, all my request were catered to by friendly staff
Dallas S. Solo travelers Canada, July 29, 2013
A nice inexpensive place

Location location location
6.7
It was really fair
John S. Solo travelers United Kingdom, July 18, 2013
#1 in Toronto for solo travellers

Location, price, fabulous staff
8.7
I flew into Toronto from Cuba at 2 am with no accommodation booked and no intention of paying for a hotel room for what little remained of that night. Pearson airport has a 24-hour coffee shop with wifi so I went there to work on the next stages of my trip, including getting a roof over my head for the coming night: I chose the Neill Wycik because it was super-cheap and I knew the area from a previous visit. When the transport systems were all running, I rode downtown and went to the hotel so that I could drop my bag: to my amazement, they let me check in at about 9 am, a full seven hours before the check-in time on their website! That was just the first of several ways in which the staff proved themselves to be utterly fantastic, far better than the career professionals in many 5-star hotels. As for the establishment itself, there's no getting away from the fact that it's a college dorm for most of the year so single bed, shared bathroom etc; but, for a solo traveller on a budget, it's the best value in Toronto.
Louis P. Solo travelers Canada, July 10, 2013
cheap, in downtown, no internet, school dorm

price, location, access
6.3
- No internet AT ALL in room unless you pay for it (another university residence in Toronto I stayed at provided a free phone cable hookup) - No air conditioning - Bad neighbourhood - Poor selection at included breakfast - Good downtown location--walking distance to mall and some attractions - Cheap -- don't expect much, but you get what you pay for
Melodie H. Couples Canada, June 30, 2013
Good place for the money

Cheap, centerally located, 24 hour staff/locked front door
7.3
Great experience for how cheap the hotel was. Only negative thing was that the elevators were broken and we had a 15 minute wait each time we had to catch one.
Viet H. Solo travelers Australia, August 17, 2012
dormitory not hotel, great location

good location, free breakfast
7
i stayed one night at neill wycik. the building is really old, it is dormitory for student not a hotel. but good price though. if you travel in summer, it kind of warm at night. no air conditioning. i was out all day anyway. i think it is for tight budget travelers.it is very safe and the staff was very helpful and nice. it is shared toilet and bathroom. the toilet was stuck and disgusting.
Veijo V. Groups Finland, August 16, 2012
Great location but bring your earplugs

Location, staff
6.3
stayed here for three nights with a friend. the twin room was just a normal single room that had two beds crammed in it. not very comfortable but enough for a few nights. there is no air conditioning so needed to keep the window open and had to use earplugs to be able to sleep due to the noise from outside. the breakfast was okay, comparable to any other hostel. the best thing about this place was its location, it's located right in downtown toronto, so it's possible to walk everywhere. the subway line is close-by as well. the hostel staff was very nice and helpful.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: It's possible to buy tickets to some attractions from the hostel at a reduced price. We took a day-trip to Niagara Falls for 55CAD/person, it was really worth the money.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!


AS-AGWEB-3C08