My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

New Bengal Hotel

'B' Shalimar Estates, (Sitaram Bldg.) Dr. D. N. Road, Near Crawford Market., Victoria Terminus, Mumbai, India 400001 (Show on map)

Book now!

New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Executive Room New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Zaffran Restaurant New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - First Floor Zaffran New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - First Floor Zaffran New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - First Floor Zaffran New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - First Floor Zaffran New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - First Floor Zaffran New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - First Floor Zaffran Restaurant New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Lobby New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Balcony New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Zaffran-Restaurant New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Zaffran New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Lobby New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Deluxe Room New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Elephanta Caves New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Deluxe Executive Room
New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Deluxe Room New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Marine Drive New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - View New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Deluxe Room New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Gateway Of India New Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Single Executive Room
Hotel Area: Victoria Terminus Number of Rooms: 80

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.2

based on
154 reviews

Value for Money
6.1
Location
7.3
Staff Performance
5.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
5.6
Room Comfort/Standard
6.6
Food/Dining
5.9
All reviews (154)
Sort by:
Tung P. Couples Australia, August 10, 2013
not worth for the value

centrally located,nice staff and good breakfast
5.7
the room atmosphere was not that confortable,dirty, old bed sheets even clean every day but nice,friendly staff,over all,too expensive for the hotel condition. it's very convinien to get to all tourist attractions,the agte of India 30 mins walk,MST railway station only 5 mins walk,where you can catch trains to all over India
Tara T. Couples Canada, July 12, 2013
Over priced, worm in bathroom, good staff

Staff, close to train station, adjacent restaurant
5.7
The room was damp and smelled like mold. Stained pillow cases and bugs in bathroom. Over priced. Close to Crawford market if you want to shop.
Abhishek P. Business travelers India, May 30, 2013
was near to the work place thats it.

Location only
4.7
Not bad - provides a good balcony ( common) which dose not make you feel alone - if you are.
Jason G. Solo travelers United States of America, April 13, 2013
Worst experience ever. It's like staying in prison

Leaving it, I didn't die during my stay, Nothing was stolen.
3
Worst. Experience. Ever. I've been in India for 6 weeks now, and this is BY FAR the WORST hotel I've ever seen. In fact, of the 52 countries I've been to, this is the worst lodging I've ever experienced. The room had the size/smell/feeling in a jail cell. It was small, musty, smelled like smoke and mildew -- I could see mold growing on the walls! There were no windows. Electrical wires were exposed. A broken TV was hanging dangerously over the bed that I felt was going to fall on me during the night. There was not enough room between the toilet and the wall to even sit on it-- you had to sit sideways. Oh, and it didn't flush either. There is no internet in the room, and even if there was a signal, it's costs extra. The pillow was hard as a brick. The lobbies and stairwells had random furniture strewn about collected dust. You've been warned: stay away.
Beth H. Solo travelers United States of America, February 14, 2013
Great location, but a bit dated

I loved the location next to Crawford and Mangoldas markets, walking to CST train terminal
8
When you first pull up to the hotel front, its a bit jaded and old. what we consider business standard is lacking here. It is an old building, and although my room had AC, fridge and TV, they looked old and worn. Staff however is very nice and tries to meet your expectations. I always had hot water and AC worked. WI Fi was a bit iffy, and there is an extra charge for 24hrs use. I am a single older woman who was traveling alone, and I felt perfectly safe here. There is a mixture of foreign guests who seem to book on Expedia or Agoda and Bengalis. The restaurant Safran next door-where you have your free breakfast has excellent food at dinner. All in all not bad, but if you really want western standards, pay a lot more and book elsewhere.
Shopping Tip: Crawford Market next door is great for fruits, vegs spices and dried fruits and nuts. Just past on other side of the road is Mangoldas Mkt-great for cloth, Shawls, and loads od houselod items in the street. Dont waste the taxi fare and time to Chor Bazaar-mostly "antique" junk. Colaba Causeway down to India Gate is great for shopping and eating. Enjoy!
Tomas G. Couples Sweden, February 1, 2013
Good hotel near train station

Near Crawford market and other shopping local areas.
6.7
Somewhat small and run down room, but a great value and location. Friendly staff.
Garry O. Couples Australia, January 30, 2013
Do not stay here

Absolutely none
2
Please do not stay at this hotel. We booked a Deluxe Executive Room and if this is their best room I'd hate to see the worst. We had planned a three night stay but only stayed for one night. The room was beyond basic and was not clean. The beds were hard and the hotel is really noisy. There is a large balcony that runs along the front that overlooks the road and I was happy to ignore the road noise but when the room next door had the TV on full blast all night only to find out in the morning there was noone even stating in the room that was the final straw. The staff were nonchalant and didn't even seem to mind we had checked out 2 days early.It is within walkind distance of the Crawford Market and Victoria Terminus.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Victoria Terminus is the busiest station in Mumbai. It is a grand old building and you must go inside to see the comings and goings.
Hidesh K. Families with young children India, December 25, 2012
Great Location, Medium Rooms & Excellent Service

Very close to the CST and other sight-seeing spots
8.7
Things I liked about the hotel: 1. Value for money - comfortable stay at an affordable spend 2. Friendly staff - I especially valued the patron at the Zaffran Restaurant where Breakfast is served 3. Very close to the Crawford Market and hence easy access to shopping, food and ATMs 4. Easy access to taxis - right outside the hotel 5. Close to most sight-seeing spots such as the Gateway, Marine Drive, Lakshmi Temple, Haji Ali, etc 6. Safekeeping of luggage by the hotel post check-out - very useful if you have a late train/ flight connection and you'd like to do some shopping during the available time without the baggage.
Restaurant Tip: Do visit the "Bade Miyan" for exceptional tandoori kebabs, veg/ non-veg rolls - slightly pricey but worth the money..
Craig S. Solo travelers Australia, November 23, 2012
Prison cell
2
I had what they called the exective suite so I cannot begin to imagine waht a room under this is like. I can only describe it as what i imagine a prison cell in a western country is like , I would never stay here again. It drained 3 days of my life
Craig S. Families with older children Australia, November 23, 2012
A real dive even by indian standards

none
2
This place is a dive even by indian standards , I felt like in a prison cell , with the only plus being that you can leave when you want, I would nevr stay here again even if it was free . The only plus was that it was near a few different markets ..

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

New Bengal Hotel MumbaiNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Executive RoomNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Zaffran RestaurantNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - First Floor ZaffranNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - First Floor ZaffranNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - First Floor ZaffranNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - First Floor ZaffranNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - First Floor ZaffranNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - First Floor Zaffran RestaurantNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - LobbyNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - BalconyNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Zaffran-RestaurantNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - ZaffranNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - LobbyNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Deluxe RoomNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Elephanta CavesNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Deluxe Executive RoomNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Deluxe RoomNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Marine DriveNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - ViewNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Deluxe RoomNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Gateway Of IndiaNew Bengal Hotel Mumbai - Single Executive Room


AS-AGWEB-3C02