Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

New Mitrapap Hotel

94-96 Ratchawong Rd., Chang Moi, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Good

6.9

based on 1819 reviews

585 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.2
Location
7.6
Staff
6.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.6
Room Comfort/Standard
6.9
Food/Dining
5.6
All reviews (1819)
Sort by:
Raweewan N. Couples Thailand, November 23, 2010
Decent rooms for a budget price in a good location

Inexpensive and has all essential amenities with free WiFi and morning coffee and toast
7.7
Located a short distance from Tha Pae Road, midway between the city moat and the river, the New Mitrapap Hotel offers decent rooms for a budget price, and throws in free WiFi along with free coffee and toast to help get you going in the morning. The rooms are functional, with all the basic amenities: Hot water, a wardrobe, a colour television with many channels and a fridge, while the beds (twins or a double) are comfortable. You certainly cannot beat the price, and there are ample parking facilities beside and behind the hotel. The rooms are on four levels in a dormitory-like building that has recently been refurbished -- indeed, workers were adding a coat of paint when we stayed there in mid-November 2010. We were only passing through Chiang Mai so spent just one night there, but would happily return for a longer stay. There are many shops, massage parlours, restaurants, temples and other facilities nearby and both Tha Pae Gate and Nawarat Bridge over the River Ping are a relatively short walk away.
Kevin R. Couples United States of America, November 20, 2010
Cheap, clean, basic

Low price, basically clean
7
It is a bit like an old dormitory. The rooms are OK size and though showing some age (discolored ceiling tiles, paint, etc) it is clean. Breakfast is white bread toast over flame with powdered drinks and hot water. But remember the cheap price. Location is five minutes walk from the east side of the old city. Free internet is nice. Parking is supervised so you can safely leave a motorbike rental outside.
Balazs G. Couples Hungary, November 16, 2010
Nice Place

Very cheap, quiet and good value
8.3
The place is cheap, 10 mins. walking distance from the city center. Rooms are clean, fresh towel and 2 bottles of water are provided every day. Has an own tourist office, and you get a 10 percent discount if you are from the hotel and free breakfast.
Shopping Tip: There is a market for the local people close to the hotel, with very few tourists, its a good experience and everything is much cheaper than the tourist markets.
Carl F. Couples United Kingdom, November 13, 2010
Cheap, cheerful good location, just ok

Wifi, free water,
6
Stayed for 2 night after booking for 3 and arriving a day late due to the train. They wouldnt let me change the dates though which I thought was a bit crappy. Booked a tour with them but then found it a lot cheaper nr pinks buffalo wings (google it) so cancelled with them and got full refund which was good. Book elsewhere its cheaper. Wifi good, no safe in room and safety deposit boxes were all full for the duration so not good at all. Stayed 2 nights then moved to opposite Thaphae Gate for same price with better room and easier to walk around. Mitrapap little bit out of the way but finee for 1 or 2 nights.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Book tour from the agents near the city moat nr the gate. 700-800 thb for full day rafting elephant white water longnecks orchid dont pay more than 800. thai boxing 300 too worth it.
Dusdee W. Groups Thailand, November 12, 2010
Great location, OK condition with good price

Location and price
8
I like the location a lot. Walking distance to big market. The price is competitive. Nice and friendly staffs.
Shopping Tip: Close to big market
John J. Solo travelers United States of America, November 11, 2010
Basic, Functional, and vValue Priced

everything was fine
7.7
The hotel itself is clean, very inexpensive and comfortable. The rooms basic and air conditioned with TV and refrigerator, minibar. A basic buffet style breakfast in the morning which should please most people. The staff were all helpful and friendly. Overall a good hotel within a few metres of everything Chiang Mai. Close to Chinatown.
Takyan Y. Couples Australia, November 10, 2010
value for money

convieniently located, clean beds,fllexible management
7.7
very basic, lightly painted rooms, spacious corridor. price out-competes other buget hotels nearby.
Travel tip: about 3.5km to train station. 500meter to night market where you can get cheap fruit.
Gordon L. Families with older children United Kingdom, November 8, 2010
Quiet, clean hotel

Quiet, close to market
7.3
The hotel is located not far from Wororoj Market near the river and is about ten minute's walk to Tha Phae gate. We took two twin rooms, both of which were fine for the price; satellite TV and aircon are included, as well as a 'warm' shower. The bathrooms are Thai-style without separate shower curtain. Rooms are cleaned and made-up daily and although staff don't speak much English, they are helpful when approached.
Restaurant Tip: Cross the river on the little footbridge and turn right, 100 metres further down are a few nice restauarants, bars and Wawee coffee shop.
Sarun B. Solo travelers Thailand, November 7, 2010
It's your Chiang Mai basic hotel.

Strong location, value for money
6
The hotel is located in the CM downtown area and in walking distance from the local market. I was checked in a bit late and left very early in the morning so a bit of uncomfortable was not my problem, but I would not recommend if you want to relax like one or two days in your room. The hotel has a bread and coffee/hot chocolate available in the morning. They are using the local favorite Farmhouse bread and Ovaltine. Quite impressive given that I have spent very very less to stay in this hotel.
Restaurant Tip: Find some time to enjoy the dinner along the Ping river. There are many great restaurants located along both sides of the river. I have been to The Goodview and it's awesome.
Stephen F. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 6, 2010
Relatively cheap and the staff are nice

If you book the double bed room you get triple the size of room than a twin bed
5
Fortunately I chose the double bed as the room was very large and came with a table and 2 chairs. I got to see the twin bed as they gave me the wrong room to start off with. The shower is basic and only provides luke-warm water at best. I found the location a bit odd; the whole street and shops shuts up about 6-7pm and the place becomes desolate. It's also a fair walk to the beautiful moat area which has all the bars and restuarants and nightlife. It's roughly a 10-15 walk to Loi Kroh Road. Personally I'd rather have stayed within the moat area and old city, which has plenty of cheaper rooms to rent and a much more interesting nightlife. Next time I'll know better.
Hotel Feature Tip: Book the double room as the size is much more spacious
Previous page 371 - 380 of 585 reviews Next page
New Mitrapap Hotel Chiang MaiNew Mitrapap Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomNew Mitrapap Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomNew Mitrapap Hotel Chiang Mai - ReceptionNew Mitrapap Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomNew Mitrapap Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B03