Back to hotel info

Good 6.9
Based on 1828 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 1828 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.9
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 5.6
Sort by

Liam B.
United States
December 12, 2010
Good hotel for a good price in a good location.
CHEAP!!! Great location, good WiFi and clean.
Rooms could use a makeover.
If you are coming to Chiang Mai for a short term stay, or need a place for a temporary stay, I highly recommend this hotel. Skip the extra cost for the breakfast (toast and instant coffee) and go out on your own.

Vishal A.
India
December 08, 2010
Cheap but clean hotel
Very cheap but comfortable
Rooms are a bit smaller
I had a good stay because I just needed to room to sleep in the night. The staff was warm and welcoming. In the morning they gave free butter toast and coffee. The location is also good; there are markets all around.

RAWEEWAN N.
Thailand
December 01, 2010
Decent rooms for a budget price in a good location
Inexpensive and has all essential amenities with free WiFi and morning coffee and toast
(none)
Located a short distance from Tha Pae Road, midway between the city moat and the river, the New Mitrapap Hotel offers decent rooms for a budget price, and throws in free WiFi along with free coffee and toast to help get you going in the morning. The rooms are functional, with all the basic amenities: Hot water, a wardrobe, a colour television with many channels and a fridge, while the beds (twins or a double) are comfortable. You certainly cannot beat the price, and there are ample parking facilities beside and behind the hotel. The rooms are on four levels in a dormitory-like building that has recently been refurbished -- indeed, workers were adding a coat of paint when we stayed there in mid-November 2010. We were only passing through Chiang Mai so spent just one night there, but would happily return for a longer stay. There are many shops, massage parlours, restaurants, temples and other facilities nearby and both Tha Pae Gate and Nawarat Bridge over the River Ping are a relatively short walk away.

Walter D.
United States
November 28, 2010
Great Value and Good Location
Decent and Clean. Helpful Staff
Dated but not bad.
The hotel was clean and the staff was alert and helpful. For the price there are no complaints. The water was hot, the bathroom clean the the free breakfast adequate. Toast, Butter, Coffee and Tea are available. Not but but free. Air Conditioning worked well and the place was quiet. Best night of sleep for my wife and I in a while.

KE C.
Taiwan
November 27, 2010
Nice location, Budget Hotel
Budget Hotel
a little Dirty and Loudy
Free Breakfast is simple, Staff is friendly Location is good enough (very close traditional Market) a little Old, but it is worth for a Budget Hotel. Next trip to Chiang-Mai, it's a nice choice.

Kevin R.
United States
November 24, 2010
Cheap, clean, basic
Low price, basically clean
Location is so-so
It is a bit like an old dormitory. The rooms are OK size and though showing some age (discolored ceiling tiles, paint, etc) it is clean. Breakfast is white bread toast over flame with powdered drinks and hot water. But remember the cheap price. Location is five minutes walk from the east side of the old city. Free internet is nice. Parking is supervised so you can safely leave a motorbike rental outside.

Carl F.
United Kingdom
November 19, 2010
Cheap, cheerful good location, just ok
Wifi, free water,
Shower covers whole bathroom, no safe in room and safety deposit boxes not available (all full), breakfast ok
Stayed for 2 night after booking for 3 and arriving a day late due to the train. They wouldnt let me change the dates though which I thought was a bit crappy. Booked a tour with them but then found it a lot cheaper nr pinks buffalo wings (google it) so cancelled with them and got full refund which was good. Book elsewhere its cheaper. Wifi good, no safe in room and safety deposit boxes were all full for the duration so not good at all. Stayed 2 nights then moved to opposite Thaphae Gate for same price with better room and easier to walk around. Mitrapap little bit out of the way but finee for 1 or 2 nights.

Balazs G.
Hungary
November 19, 2010
Nice Place
Very cheap, quiet and good value
Breakfast is quite poor compared to the ones in the city center
The place is cheap, 10 mins. walking distance from the city center. Rooms are clean, fresh towel and 2 bottles of water are provided every day. Has an own tourist office, and you get a 10 percent discount if you are from the hotel and free breakfast.

Dusdee W.
Thailand
November 17, 2010
Great location, OK condition with good price
Location and price
small room
I like the location a lot. Walking distance to big market. The price is competitive. Nice and friendly staffs.

Lisa V.
United Kingdom
November 16, 2010
Excellent hotel. Absolutely fabulous for the price
Bottled water & fresh towels every day, free simple breakfast, free wifi, large rooms
The staff were not particularly friendly or helpful
Staff did not respond to my email informing them that I would be arriving one day late, but they kept my reservation for me anyway. The hotel building is very intriguing - it looks like a former private hospital. It is a short walk from the main places of interest in town and provides much-needed space from the hoards of tourists. The room was large and had two comfortable twin beds. The bathroom was standard and everything worked well. The TV had a large amount of English channels, including a couple of movie channels and Al-Jazeera. Breakfast was very basic - toast, jam and instant coffee and there is a computer in the lobby which can be used for Internet access, although there is free wi-fi throughout the entire building.