Back to hotel info

Good 6.9
Based on 1828 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 1828 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.9
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 5.6
Sort by

Aung K. from Myanmar
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2010
Good Budget Hotel in town
Best price, Good and clean rooms, friendly staffs, ease of access to heart of Chiang Mai.
Small Beds, limited parking area
I like this hotel because it is cheap, clean and easy to access downtown area especially China Town. It also has nice and plenty of TV channels and has good 21 inch flat TV. It has nice bathroom too. The only problem for me is the size of bed in the twin bed room because it is small for me. But I enjoy my stay at this hotel since they have clean rooms, friendly staffs and great location. As I'm a budget traveler, I will surely book this hotel again for my next visit.
Reviewed April 05, 2010

Carla S. from South Africa
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2010
Good value
Price. Clean and comfortable.Friendly staff.
Location...quite a walk to shops and restaurants.
This hotel is good value. The rooms are big.The TV had with many channels and the aircon worked well.On the downside, the curtains didn't close and the hotel didn't have a restaurant. There were no decent restaurants close by which meant you either had to take a taxi or a 20 min walk.
Reviewed April 05, 2010

Iulia C. from Romania
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in March 2010
Not great
Clean beds, pretty close to city centre.
Scary building, useless breakfast, nothing great about it.
The hotel was a really cheap bargain so I suppose it was worth staying there for that money, but if I am ever back in Chiang Mai, I'd rather spend more money and stay somewhere else. The building is very unusual, it gave me the feeling it was a former prison or mental hospital. It was a truly depressing stay, but then again we went on trekking trips so didn't spend that much time there anyway.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

ATHANASIA F. from Greece
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in March 2010
ABOUT THE NEW MITRAPAP HOTEL
THE ONLY GOOD THING IS THAT HAS FREE INTERNET.
DIRTY, UGLY AND IT SMELLS LIKE KITCHEN WITH BAD FOOD.
I DON'T CARE ABOUT THE BONUS, BUT I WANT TO INFORM ANYONE WHO CARES ABOUT THIS HOTEL. THE LOCATION OF THE HOTEL IS NOT SO BAD, BUT IT IS NOT GOOD EITHER. THE MOST IMPORTANT THING IS THAT IT IS VERY VERY OLD, OR IT SEEMS LIKE, BECAUSE ALL THE WALLS ARE VERY DIRTY(INSIDE THE ROOMS AND OYTSIDE). THE DOORS, THE TABLE, THE CHAIR, THE BEDS, EVERYTHING IS OLD AND UGLY TO THE VISITORS' EYES.YES, IT IS CHEAP, BUT WITH THESE MONEY I FOUND A BETTER PLACE IN CHIANG MAI. THAT' ALL.... THANK YOU.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Benjamin C. from Germany
Couples
Stayed 10 nights in March 2010
Only for backpackers & short stays
Cheap Free Wi-Fi in room Cable TV Fridge
Extremely run down interior Low hygienic standards
The New Mitrapap Hotel is located in China town. The night bazaar is within walking distance, although that would be a 15-20 min walk. But tuk-tuk's and Songthaew's are passing by every 30 to 60 seconds during daytime, so getting cheap transportation is not a problem. At night time, driver's will occassionally hang out in front of the hotel. A 24h Tesco-Lotus convenience store is only about 2-3 mins. away (Big gas station at the intersection). So much for the location, which isn't that bad. Now to the room: We booked the standard room with A/C and I was impressed that for this low price everything such as free Wi-Fi (fast and mostly reliable, except for a downtime of 20h once), a fridge, cable TV with all major falang channels and a surprisingly decent bathroom. However, the room and the furniture itself unfortunately is in very bad shape and I would recommend this hotel only for backpackers on a budget and for less than 3 or 4 nights. While the cleaning staff tries to keep the rooms clean as good as they can, my spouse and I got sick (skin irritations and a bacterial infection, probably from the A/C) and we had to check out 3 days early. I have to admit though that we both get sick quickly and someone more robust could surely stay for a night or two without problems for an unbeatable price.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Ester J. from Indonesia
Groups
Stayed one night in March 2010
Small and clean
god location
breakfast
New Mitrapap is small but clean and close to night market as well as commercial area. Walking distance to moat. Staff are very helpfull although they don't speak English very well. But the price is just perfect.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Ester J. from Indonesia
Groups
Stayed 5 nights in March 2010
Small and clean
good location
breakfast
New Mitrapap is small but clean and locates just near to night market and walking distance to center of moat. just walk a little bit, you can find commercial area where I can get foods, banks and handicraft shops
Reviewed March 23, 2010

devis B. from Italy
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in February 2010
its ok
value for money
not so near center
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Ester J. from Indonesia
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in March 2010
Small, clean and good location
Clean and location
breakfast
New Mitrapap is small hotel in good location, near to night market, walking distance to moat and shopping area. Staffs are helpfull although they don't speak English very well. Price is also good. Only breakfast is ugly but coffee and tea are ok.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Lilian L. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in March 2010
2 nights at New Mitrapap Hotel
value for money, aircon for just about 330Baht, clean, free breakfast, very close to Warorot, close to Night Bazaar.
quite old-looking, breakfast is toast everyday, no changes to spreads available, not that near to the Sunday night market.
I enjoyed my stay here because it allowed me to sleep well on the 2 nights there. But don't expect a lot. Rooms are clean, air conditioner works, shower is OK but breakfast is just toast (free so can't complain much). Location is good for Warorot market. But I felt it was a little too far from Sunday Night Market which is a must visit when you are in Chiang Mai.
Reviewed March 21, 2010