Back to hotel info

Good 6.9
Based on 1828 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 1828 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.9
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 5.6

Neil S. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 7 nights in October 2009
New Mitrapap Hotel
Price, friendly & helpful staff.
Room/bathroom decor a bit tired. Included breakfast not worth bothering with.
Good value for money all things considered. However nearby streets are poorly lit at night for walking back and pavements uneven. And one night whilst walking back to hotel and on the same road approximately 50 yards from the hotel I suddenly realised that there were at least six dogs close by and watching me which was a bit scary. Nothing happened I am pleased to say but if I go to Chiang Mai again I will pay more and stay somewhere better located for walking back at night. Alternatively can take a tuk tuk taxi back to hotel but personally I like to walk as much as possible.
Reviewed November 06, 2009

Xiong V. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2009
Nice clean budget hotel.
close to Wororot Market
not a lot of restaurants nearby
I was satisfied with everything at this hotel, servce was good, and the rooms were cleaned everyday. It is really close to the Wororot market, where everything is so much cheaper than the Walking Street because all the Thais shop at Wororot. Go there in the evening and try to food, it was delicious.
Reviewed November 03, 2009

Angela C. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2009
Love
4 floors with elevator. free breakfast but have to pay for internet 20B.
The sheets sometimes are missing from the room and each room is different although price is the same. So i don't know if they would let you check the rooms out before putting your money down.
The location of this hotel is fabulous. It is near the night market and 10minute from the pai gate. Shopping and eating food around the area is a breeze. I love the staff here, although a lot of them seem to have problems with speaking english. Contacting them through the phone was a pain.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Wayne E. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in October 2009
Hits the spot for a very cheap stay
Friendly helpful staff. Huge room with everything I needed. Free coffee and toast in the morning. Clean. Free wi-fi in the room. Free drinking water in the fridge every day. Very cheap. Walking distance to town centre. Quiet location (for Thailand!). Has internet room.
Could do with re-decorating. Hot drink making facility in the rooms would be nice. No printer available in the internet room.
Old but has everything and more you would expect for such a cheap stay. Coffee and toast in the morning. Clean. Free wi-fi in the room. Free drinking water in the fridge every day. Very cheap. Walking distance to town centre. Quiet location (for Thailand!). Has internet room. Could do with re-decorating. Hot drink making facility in the rooms would be nice. No printer available in the internet room
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Sebastian W. from Argentina
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2009
Good
Price and cleaness
Location, services out of the ones expected, breakfast
Pretty good. The hotel was exactly what I'd expected and even a bit better. I was expecting a cheap, clean place with basic amenities. I was actually working in Chiang Mai for a week, so I appreciated the cable TV at night when I was back in the room (check that the remote works). Breakfast is just instant coffee and butter and toast (but excellent coffee house just opposite the hotel). There's a Tesco Lotus "Express" in the corner, 24/7, which is convenient too. Laundry was inexpensive and delivered the next day as promised.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Daniel V. from Spain
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2009
Budget
Close to the night market
Far from the city center
Close to the night market. Far from the city center
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Alan V. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2009
New Mitrapap Hotel
The hotel is clean - Very cheap
Very dated - Breakfast left a lot to be desired
Stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. The rooms are very dated and in need of some TLC. You will need to get a Tuk Tuk to the night bazaar
Reviewed October 18, 2009

LIH C. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2009
Excellent location
excellent and convenient location, near to local morning and night market, friendly and helpful staff
more variety of food for breakfast, set up an information counter for tourist and think about provided airport transfer to hotel guests. Hotel is a bit old but clean.
The room is spacious with the usual amenities (TV, cupboard, mini fridge and toiletries), the location is just excellent, very near to the old town and walking distance to local morning as well as night market. Very easy to find your way around Chiang Mai. It's also near to Ping River with fantastic restaurants that serves all kind of cuisine, from Thai to Japanese and Western. Price is very reasonable. Please review the breakfast to include more variety. It's quite a distance from the airport.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

James D. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in October 2009
Good Value
Not too far to markets, Reasonably quiet area
Not too many cafe's or bars nearby
The New Mitrapap Hotel represents good value. It is clean and the rooms are plain but of a reasonable size. Ours was well airconditioned. The staff were helpful. It says no breakfast but they do offer free toast and coffee. Right accross the street breakfast was available with eggs for £1.25 (65bht. It takes about 10 - 15 mins to walk to The Night Bazaaro to The Tapae Gate
Reviewed October 14, 2009

josephus P. from Netherlands
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2009
Cheap and functional
The price is their strongpoint; and there is all you need and it functions! The location is close to the Wararong (Chinese)market. The (single ) beds are good
The upper floors (where the low price rooms are) look a bit like a prison (rooms are at a long balcony overlooking the whole central building) There is no luxury
If you don't want to spend much money and if you are happy with a clean bed, not much noise, a good working shower and no extra facilities,the Mitrapap hotel is a good choice. There is a food place across the street if you appreciate a Thai breakfast
Reviewed October 07, 2009