Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

New Road Guesthouse

1216/1 Charoenkrung between soi 34 and 36, Charoenkrung Rd, Bangrak, Bangkok Riverside, Bangkok, Thailand 10500

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.2

based on 139 reviews

74 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.6
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.2
Room Comfort/Standard
6.9
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (139)
Sort by:
Leda C. Families with older children Philippines, February 15, 2016
Good value for money

Price, ambiance, food
8.7
Th place was quiet and peaceful. Highly recommended.
Rainer S. Solo travelers Germany, January 31, 2016
Ideally located
6.7
5 times in Bangkok, 5 times at New Road Guesthouse
Rainer S. Solo travelers Germany, January 28, 2016
Professionally-run guesthouse
6.7
very helpful and friendly staff
Steve H. Solo travelers Belgium, January 25, 2016
Room not look like picture at all
1.3
Room not look like picture at all
Per E. Couples Denmark, January 6, 2016
A good starting point.

Very nice atmosphere, friendly staff
7.3
Nice stay as allways. We have stayed here several times in connection with our trips to Thailand and Asia and use the hotel as starting and ending point for our trips. Jysk Rejsebureau staff offer very good advice for trips and tours around Asia and Bangkok. The hotel offer free storage of suitcases/bags for up to 3 months. A bit away from the centre if you want to visit Khaosan/Rambuttri roads but they (and other highlights) are easily available by boat during daytime, only 10 minutes walk to pier at Chao Phraya River (boat with orange flag is 14B)
Mike M. Solo travelers United States of America, January 3, 2016
You get what you pay for

Cheap
7.3
I read a number of reviews which mentioned the cheap backpackers room and that it had a shared shower/toilet None mentioned that it's a 10 person hostel-like dorm room. Maybe the backpacker nomenclature is code for hostel and I should just know better, it worked out fine but was expecting a room To myself with shared facilities. Had I of been looking to share a dorm room I would have picked from the plethora of cheaper hostels in the area.
Kevin M. Couples Malaysia, December 29, 2015
Great place to stay near to skytrain

Polite staffs, very clean, and very convenient place
8.7
Excellent. Enjoy the stay!
Rainer S. Solo travelers Germany, December 22, 2015
Comment by a German

skilled staff, clean rooms, perfect location
9.7
I was very satisfied with New Road Guesthouse
Bridget K. Solo travelers United States of America, November 26, 2015
Near Public Transit, Nothing Special

Price, Location, and Friendly Reception
6
Getting to the hotel was super easy. We used the public transit system, using the line from the airport and making a connection. It is unfortunate that the designated smoking area for the hotel is literally right outside the lobby doors, so walking in we were welcomed by a nice inhale of tobacco smoke (as non-smokers we LOVED this). When we checked in to the hotel we were welcomed by the nicest staff members who later helped us in the morning with maps and luggage storage. Absolutely friendly and charismatic desk receptionists. On the other hand, Nikola, the hotel's "concierge" for lack of a better word, treated us quite rudely and curtly. I guess because me and my traveling companion weren't German we didn't deserve the same kind of politeness that the German woman before us got form Nikola. Asking for recommendations for paces to buy souvenirs and get breakfast along the way, Nikola had little to tell us, telling us firstly that there were no souvenir markets in Bangkok that sold tshirts and scarves and little figurine of sorts and that there were no places near the hotel to eat a good breakfast. Both ended up being untrue. WE stayed in the backpacker fan room, which actually had ac. It was small but comfortable. Nothing fancy. It was a nice option for me and my friend who were spending one night in Bangkok.
Bethany H. Groups United Kingdom, September 21, 2015
Lovely hostel, great outside area, helpful staff

staff, room quality
8.7
we had a private room which was really good. The staff were amazing. Slight issue when they couldn't find our book / bathroom door didn't close/ curtains let in all of the light. But great value for money!
1 - 10 of 74 reviews Next page
New Road Guesthouse BangkokNew Road Guesthouse Bangkok - Guest RoomNew Road Guesthouse Bangkok - Guest RoomNew Road Guesthouse Bangkok - ExteriorNew Road Guesthouse Bangkok - ExteriorNew Road Guesthouse Bangkok - InteriorNew Road Guesthouse Bangkok - Lobby


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B03