Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

New Star Hotel

9 Hang Thung Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Tien Thuy Hotel
Area: Hoan Kiem District Number of Rooms: 35

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type


Very Good


based on
93 reviews

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (93)
Sort by:
Catherine K. Couples United Kingdom, November 5, 2015
Older, a little dusty but comfortable.

Staff service was excellent and breakfast was decent.
We saw two rooms in the hotel, first of which had a noisy air con unit right outside the window so the staff gave us an upgrade which was lovely and quiet. Rooms felt a little uclean (dusty, unclean inside drawers). First room had mould in the bathroom but the second didn't. Your stay will depend on your room I reckon. Staff are really lovely though, helped us book a car to the airport and a cruise in Ha Long Bay. Even lent us an umbrella when it was raining. Reasonable budget hotel in a great central location.
Report this review
Robert K. Business travelers United States of America, February 20, 2014
Very centrally location, comfort stay

breakfast, staff
This is small hotel, room is clean. Staff always try to make my stay comfortable. They spoke fluent English. They helped me to call taxi with good price. I'm happy to stay here.
Report this review
Sanitta G. Business travelers United States of America, February 20, 2014
Worthy for my money

room size, customer service, location
I just stay 1 night and got warmly service from them. They gave us early check in for free. Room is large in behind of the building. All things in room were working good.
Report this review
Sven S. Couples Sweden, January 29, 2014
A memorable experince

We had a good internet communication before arrival to be able to plan our visit. The tour excursions were well organized. Flexible and attent staff
We had no problems and everything was fine. We could change our booking due to the excursion program they organized for us.
Report this review
Surapong L. Solo travelers United States of America, December 26, 2013
Staffs were friendly and the breakfast was good.

Friendly staffs, fast internet, and close to shopping.
The hotel is close to many tourist attraction and shopping center. The room is big including bathroom.
Report this review
Christian S. Couples Germany, December 20, 2013
We definitely recommend this hotel

Service of this hotel is excellent. Staff and food were highlight.
It was our pleasant stay at New Star hotel. Staff made our stay comfortable. All of them is very friendly, helpful, spoke English very good. Mr manager was very polite and helpful too. If you need some information about Hanoi, they always help you. They will take care of you very careful if you stay with them. Thank you
Report this review
Christian S. Couples Germany, December 17, 2013
Pleasant stay

Excellent staff and good food.
My room is not very big as the picture but it is clean and good for your budget. It is a little noisy in the day time from next building. Staff took care guest very carefully in good English. Mr Thomas has organized very good tour for us to Halong bay. I booked to stay one more night at New Star hotel. It is my recommendation.
Report this review
Deane W. Solo travelers United States of America, December 13, 2013
Average hotel

staff, bed, staff
Average hotel,about what you would expect for this price range. Refrigerator and elevator a plus. Staff were all pleasant.
Report this review
Claren V. Couples Netherlands, December 7, 2013
Terrific staff

Staff, breakfast, location
The staff always pays attention to our stay. They take care of guest very well. Good English skills. They made our stay became sweetly.
Report this review
Duy H. Couples Vietnam, December 2, 2013

Staff are not friendly & don't have car park and I must paid $10 / one night / car . Never see u agian :(
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.