Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Nguyen Shack - Mekong Can Tho

185C, Ong Tim Bridge, Thanh My Area, Thuong Thanh Ward, Cai Rang District, Cai Rang, Can Tho, Vietnam (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Cai Rang Number of Rooms: 5

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type




based on
133 reviews

88 reviews in English

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (133)
Sort by:
Jolene S. Families with young children New Zealand, October 21, 2013

Staff, location, food.
We loved our stay here very much. It was a long way to come to but worth it for the location and to be able to stay in a thatched hut overlooking the river was a great change. The Staff and owner were just lovely and the food was delicious. Would recommend to everyone.
Report this review
Stephanie K. Families with older children Australia, October 2, 2013
Unique, memorable, character setting

remote, unique, only 6 bungalows.
Beautiful remote setting overlooking the river. Friendly French/English speaking host offering small unique boat and bicycle tours. Very basic accommodation in atmospheric stilt bamboo huts however beds are fairly uncomfortable and bathroom facilities very basic. Breakfast is very limited although quality of other meals is very good and affordable. Definately worth a visit, away from the maddening tourist crowd provided you are prepared for basic accommodation and not expecting anything fancy.
Report this review
Hayden S. Families with young children Australia, September 28, 2013
Very relaxing, fun and informative stay

Unique setting in the heart of the Mekong, among locals, rustic living and truely interesting activities
We had an amazing time. It is rustic, so do not expect a spa retreat in the middle of the jungle, but at the same time it is very comfortable. There is a friendly common area where people hang out and drink (if they want to) and have nice food cooked by the local staff. The owner, Maxim (his GF was away) was an excellent and enthusiastic guide around the area. WE took our 4 year old and he had a great time, actually he did not want to leave. They have some lovely animals, a couple of dogs and a pet pig. The staff were great with my son, especially the champion boatman/handyman Fong who has a great spirit. You will get to see an authentic side of Vietnam that you may not have realised existed. One big thing I noticed was the attitude of the locals in the area. In markets or wherever they were very friendly, but not as a prelude to selling. In fact, we did not get hasseled to buy anything at all like in some touristy areas. They are just nice because they want to be. We even ended up drinking and having some food in someone's home. I recommend 2 nights to get the full mix of tours and relaxation, even three nights if you are on a longer trip.
Report this review
June P. Couples United Kingdom, September 26, 2013
enjoyed our stay so much

location , middle of nowhere peacefull amazing , no kids very quiet and a place of relaxation , max was a great host and sees to your every need along with the rest of the staff who do authentic food
Perfect , comfortable and above all a pleasure to of met the gang down there , we enjoyed the food which was cooked to an authentic taste and we wanted for nothing better service than some top hotels we've been to top marks to the staff and max ,the rooms are superb out in the open and at one with nature I have to say I'm slightly envious :-D placed on the Mekong and every room overlooking its floating traffic all very friendly , evening trips morning trips and a cycle ride around the village all very enjoyable wouldn't change a thing , this place is for those who want to get away from it all and be slap bang in the middle of the Forrest a real pleasure to of actually been there
Report this review
Anne W. Couples Australia, August 29, 2013
You have to stayhere

Staff, Food and accomodation
We booked this homestay and were pleasantly surprised. We were greeted by two friendly dogs and a baby pig. Our bags were driven by motorbike to the shack and we walked the easy path to the homestay. If you had to wheel /carry your bags to the homestay it wouldnt be a problem. Maxim and Tao were excellent hosts. We were looked after like family. The food here is excellent and I even cooked black pepper crab one night for everyone. They have three tours that you can do at minimal cost and with their local knowledge its very good. You dont follow the hoardes of tourists around Can Tho. Take Maxims bike tour around the area...excellent!The accomodation is right on the river - this has been rebuilt and is great. Of all our stays in Southern Vietnam this had to be the highlight. Dont go there expecting 5 star accomodation. It is a homestay. If you want to see how the locals live and work around the mekong then this is the place to go. Its a short taxi ride from the bus station if you catch a bus (use FUTA - 120,000VND) from Ho Chi Minh. Stay Here!
Report this review
Marjolein T. Families with older children Netherlands, August 11, 2013
The best tours & the best host

Tours, Host, Location
the tours are not included as we expected, they have changed the rate plan since Aug, the room rate has been down from $77 to $49 and tours being extra charged, we really enjoyed 2 nights here, the best view room we have ever been experienced, it is not place for people looking for the luxury thing, here is all nature and rustic, the best tours and the best host of our trip in Vietnam, sure being back in the future
Report this review
Ngoc Q. Couples Vietnam, July 24, 2013
Extremely expensive and dusty location

I can not find any avantage in this place
I totally disappoint in this place. Extremely expensive and dusty. I'm feeling that I'm cheated by this location.
Report this review
Hayes M. Couples Australia, July 3, 2013
tranquil, interesting fun

location, staff and activiies
We liked the little bamboo shack in the middle of the rice fields and within earshot of the river, but we loved the staff and their love of the hotel and surrounding village, which they proudly showed off to us with a no extra cost boat tour, floating market tour and village tour. They also cooked all our meals, for a reasonable price, and had free fruit!
Report this review
Andreas P. Couples Germany, July 1, 2013
an amazing stay and hard to leave that place

Location, Tours which are included, Staff, Food
Best stay after a whole month of travelling trough Vietnam. Tours are simply amazing and you get introduced to real Vietnam. Host and Staff are great so as Food and you feel very welcome at this place. Bungalows are simple and don't have A/C so don't expect a Resort with Pool etc.. That place is for people who love the nature, like to socialises with others, like to see the real Vietnam and don't mind Not having any luxury. We loved that place and would go there any time again. We wish you all the best for the future and hope to see you again, thanks a lot for everything, Cherry & Andreas
Report this review
Jen G. Families with older children Australia, July 1, 2013
A unique local view of vietnam away from hustle

Fabulous manager, great tours to local areas, quiet and peaceful
The three of us enjoyed our stay immensely. The manager was wonderful - she really understands how to make visitors feel welcome and ensured that we saw some things that we would not have had the opportunity to see in the larger cities - much more of a local view. The food was delicious and the accommodation simple, but well thought out for a great experience.
Report this review
Previous page 21 - 30 of 88 reviews Next page

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.