Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Nguyen Shack - Mekong Can Tho

185C, Ong Tim Bridge, Thanh My Area, Thuong Thanh Ward, Cai Rang District, Cai Rang, Can Tho, Vietnam (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Cai Rang Number of Rooms: 5

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.9

based on
140 reviews

93 reviews in English

Value for Money
9.0
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
8.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.9
Room Comfort/Standard
8.9
Food/Dining
9.0
All reviews (140)
Sort by:
Chia-Ling C. Couples Belgium, January 3, 2014
best homestay ever

nice staffs, nice peolple, good food
10
it was a great place to stay, me and my husband are both very happy that we found this place, it's a very simple, quiet place with super friendly staffs. During the stay, we got to be close to other travelers and families, all of them are super friendly, cannot have this kind of feeling by staying in a hotel! They have many kinds of choices for food, super yummy as well. right next to the river with beautiful gardens..... only good things about this home stay!! Love this place!
Report this review
Pete H. Couples United Kingdom, December 12, 2013
absolutely fantastic place

embedded in nature, a truly lovely experience, great staff
9.3
We enjoyed our stay here thoroughly. It is a fantastic place with lovely staff and full of character. There is interaction with the guests which can be fun. The place is amazing with a riverside setting and rooms that are open to the elements. We had a mid night display of fire flies which was quite something.
Report this review
Pierre G. Couples Canada, December 10, 2013
One of my best experience in Vietnam

Staff, location, food, tours
10
Nguyen Shack is more than an Homestay. It is an opportunity to observe the life in the Mekong Delta.The friendly staff take you on tours that alloews you to learn about the daily life of the people. My room had an open view on the river and on the small farms around. The food at the stay was great and offered a wide choice.
Report this review
Matthew W. Couples United Kingdom, November 14, 2013
The homestay was the highlight of our Vietnam trip

Location, staff, room
9.7
Apsolutely amazing. Staff were really friendly, informative and helpful. The trips offered at the homestay were great and gave us the opertunity to see the real vietnam. We were extremely relaxed and happy by the end of our time there. The room took a bit of getting use to but in the end we really liked it the room. Would stay again if we ever go back to vietnam.
Report this review
Yvonne R. Families with young children Australia, October 24, 2013
Just Different

view, food and people
10
We didn’t want to leave after 2 nights stay. We stumbled upon the Nguyen Shack via the Legal Nomads blog, which raved about it - and rightly so. Our two nights there were far too short and totally idyllic. It's not luxury accommodation, but our triple bungalow had everything needed: fridge, bathroom, mosquito nets, a fan, and of course a lovely view over the river and rice paddies. The Shack is small, with only five bedrooms, so it's a relaxed, intimate atmosphere. The tours are good too. Persuaded by Maxime, who runs the Shack with his partner Theu (the owner and founder) we ended up doing all three. The first was a chilled-out afternoon boat tour along the river, driven by the wonderful Phong - boatman and handyman around the place. The second was the morning floating and land market tour, which was fascinating, and it was great to wander around the land market with no other tourists and also no hassle from the traders. Lastly, we went on Maxime's morning bike tour, which took in various local industries including the rice wine factory, rice factory, a pottery, a blacksmith, as well as the local primary school and the local pagoda. You can also just take the bikes for a potter around the countryside should you wish. We ate all our meals at the Shack, accompanied by delicious fresh fruit shakes. Fruit, water, coffee and tea are all complementary, which is a lovely touch. Meanwhile we had fun playing with the Shack's pets - yes, as other reviews have noted, the dogs, cat and adorable pig are free to roam around, but we didn't feel this was a problem. In the Nguyen Shack, Theu's created a beautiful place to retreat, see the Mekong, and meet some of the lovely local people. Very highly recommended
Report this review
Jolene S. Families with young children New Zealand, October 21, 2013
Fabulous

Staff, location, food.
9.3
We loved our stay here very much. It was a long way to come to but worth it for the location and to be able to stay in a thatched hut overlooking the river was a great change. The Staff and owner were just lovely and the food was delicious. Would recommend to everyone.
Report this review
Stephanie K. Families with older children Australia, October 2, 2013
Unique, memorable, character setting

remote, unique, only 6 bungalows.
6.3
Beautiful remote setting overlooking the river. Friendly French/English speaking host offering small unique boat and bicycle tours. Very basic accommodation in atmospheric stilt bamboo huts however beds are fairly uncomfortable and bathroom facilities very basic. Breakfast is very limited although quality of other meals is very good and affordable. Definately worth a visit, away from the maddening tourist crowd provided you are prepared for basic accommodation and not expecting anything fancy.
Report this review
Hayden S. Families with young children Australia, September 28, 2013
Very relaxing, fun and informative stay

Unique setting in the heart of the Mekong, among locals, rustic living and truely interesting activities
9.3
We had an amazing time. It is rustic, so do not expect a spa retreat in the middle of the jungle, but at the same time it is very comfortable. There is a friendly common area where people hang out and drink (if they want to) and have nice food cooked by the local staff. The owner, Maxim (his GF was away) was an excellent and enthusiastic guide around the area. WE took our 4 year old and he had a great time, actually he did not want to leave. They have some lovely animals, a couple of dogs and a pet pig. The staff were great with my son, especially the champion boatman/handyman Fong who has a great spirit. You will get to see an authentic side of Vietnam that you may not have realised existed. One big thing I noticed was the attitude of the locals in the area. In markets or wherever they were very friendly, but not as a prelude to selling. In fact, we did not get hasseled to buy anything at all like in some touristy areas. They are just nice because they want to be. We even ended up drinking and having some food in someone's home. I recommend 2 nights to get the full mix of tours and relaxation, even three nights if you are on a longer trip.
Report this review
June P. Couples United Kingdom, September 26, 2013
enjoyed our stay so much

location , middle of nowhere peacefull amazing , no kids very quiet and a place of relaxation , max was a great host and sees to your every need along with the rest of the staff who do authentic food
10
Perfect , comfortable and above all a pleasure to of met the gang down there , we enjoyed the food which was cooked to an authentic taste and we wanted for nothing better service than some top hotels we've been to top marks to the staff and max ,the rooms are superb out in the open and at one with nature I have to say I'm slightly envious :-D placed on the Mekong and every room overlooking its floating traffic all very friendly , evening trips morning trips and a cycle ride around the village all very enjoyable wouldn't change a thing , this place is for those who want to get away from it all and be slap bang in the middle of the Forrest a real pleasure to of actually been there
Report this review
Anne W. Couples Australia, August 29, 2013
You have to stayhere

Staff, Food and accomodation
10
We booked this homestay and were pleasantly surprised. We were greeted by two friendly dogs and a baby pig. Our bags were driven by motorbike to the shack and we walked the easy path to the homestay. If you had to wheel /carry your bags to the homestay it wouldnt be a problem. Maxim and Tao were excellent hosts. We were looked after like family. The food here is excellent and I even cooked black pepper crab one night for everyone. They have three tours that you can do at minimal cost and with their local knowledge its very good. You dont follow the hoardes of tourists around Can Tho. Take Maxims bike tour around the area...excellent!The accomodation is right on the river - this has been rebuilt and is great. Of all our stays in Southern Vietnam this had to be the highlight. Dont go there expecting 5 star accomodation. It is a homestay. If you want to see how the locals live and work around the mekong then this is the place to go. Its a short taxi ride from the bus station if you catch a bus (use FUTA - 120,000VND) from Ho Chi Minh. Stay Here!
Report this review
Previous page 21 - 30 of 93 reviews Next page
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C08