Back to hotel info

Very good 7.5
Based on 61 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 61 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 6.8

Nina M. from Norway
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
A very relaxing hotel, friendly and helpful staff
loaction, clean, nice rooms
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Laurentius H. from Indonesia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
A wonderful surprise
Charming exterior and location
we were pleasantly surprised about how nice this hotel was. i wasn't optimistic when i booked it, as it was only because our initial hotel preference wasnt available. but the hotel wasn't just ok, it was part of the beautiful city skyline. it was old, but charming. i read complaints about small rooms, and thin walls. this was not at all true. being on our honeymoon, we decided to upgrade ourselves to a suite. a bit disappointed that the upgrade wasn't free. hotel also lacks airport transfer service, and wifi was extremely slow. but the room, despite an outdated safety deposit, is beautifully decorated, and had a superb view of the canal.
Reviewed March 08, 2013

Hung L. from Vietnam
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
A good hotel
Location and the staff quality
There is no porter at the hotel but the male receptionist was willing to carry our luggage to the room. He is young and helpful. The other lady is cheerful too, so we feel quite comfortable communicating here. We had a corner room with the balcony open view to the street and able to view up to the cannel. However, they do not place any boiling pot into the room, what a pity when we want to take a rest and enjoy the staying, but no coffee or tea can be made in-house by us. The facilities were a bit old, however, it's still acceptable. The best thing about this hotel is the location, quite near the Central Station, close to Amsterdam Centre, and only some walking steps to the tram station.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Amane I. from Japan
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
good service and clean room
room was clean, and not small, and service is good
good quality and good service,and location is also convenient for sightseeing. but the outside was noisy because of some drunk men.
Reviewed February 04, 2013

Amane I. from Japan
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
good service and good location
good for sightseeing
room is clean, and service is good. but take 15mins from the station.
Reviewed February 04, 2013

Samuel Y. from Ireland
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Hotel is OK, but I expected better
Location (for my needs)
The hotel is a little off-center in that it's located 2 tram stops from the train station. On seeing the impressive façade, my expectations were high. However, the room itself was only Ok. The wallpaper was a little shabby, the window only closed at the bottom (not at the top). The worst things were: 1) My room was streetside and it was noisy. I suppose canal-side is quiet (and more expensive). This is my main criticism. 2) Even though i had asked not to be interrupted (i work nights), a girl opened the door at 11am with "Minibar, Sir". She closed the door when she saw i was sleeping. Likewise, the room-cleaning service lady goes off-duty at 1pm. So, you have to get up no later than midday (ok, not a problem for 99% of guests, i realize). The staff were very nice. No idea about the food.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Nicholas K. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed one night in November 2012
A classic hotel with a turn of the centuary feel.
Excelent location in the right next to lots of things to do no matter what you're into!
nice size rooms with great wifi. the staff are super helpfull and extremely kind. it's hard to say that location is a factor as there are cheaper places and as amsterdamn is one of the most exquisitely structured where everything is within a 10 minute walk. this place is top notch though as i hear all of the nh branches are.
Reviewed January 07, 2013

Nicholas K. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed one night in November 2012
Reminiscent of the inside of the Grand Hotel in MI
Certainly not the cheapest hotel in the area but not the most expensive and it feels like you spent more to stay there.
Right next to the canal (but that view will cost you about 20€ more) and a very classic turn of the century look and feel but modernized in the right places. I can't say anything about the coffeshop or resturant there as we didn't partake but it must be good because they were never short of people. Funny thing- there was no corkscrew in the hotel but they directed me to the fancy bar next store to have them open it up for me.
Reviewed January 07, 2013

Syed M. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Beautiful Hotel, near city attractions.
Friendly staff and location.
nice, old romantic hotel, next to the canals. we were very impressed with the staff, the room and the location is almost central to amsterdam's attractions. everything is within walking distance. our room overlooks the canal. plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby.
Reviewed January 01, 2013

Olivier B. from Belgium
Business travelers
Stayed one night in September 2012
Well located hotel, clean and central
Clean and quite
I stayed there for 1 night only; the hotel presents a godd price quality ratio; it's well located in the center of AMsterdam and has good clean rooms; registration and internet access have been arranged in a very efficient way and I'd recommend the hotel easily for a short stay in case you're in Amsterdam for business or tourism
Reviewed October 02, 2012