Sign in and get better rates!
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel

38 Fort Street, Auckland City Center, Auckland, New Zealand (Show on map)

Book now!

Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Entrance Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Guest Room Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Guest Room Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Exterior Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Exterior Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Pub/Lounge Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Suite Room Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Restaurant Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Surroundings Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Surroundings Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Kitchen Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Snooker Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Reception Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Reception Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Exterior Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Guest Room
Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Guest Room Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Guest Room Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Guest Room
Area: Auckland City Center

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.4

based on
50 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
6.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
5.6
Room Comfort/Standard
5.8
Food/Dining
6.2
All reviews (50)
Sort by:
Scott L. Solo travelers New Zealand, August 17, 2014
not good

price. free snack for dinner. close to bus
4.7
noisey room next to the street, uncomfy beds, dirty kitchen.
Scott L. Solo travelers New Zealand, June 18, 2014
noisey, dirty commune area.

cheap, cheap, cheap.
4.7
Room was next to the noisey street. Couldn't close the window if u wanted to.dirty kitchen.
Chang Y. Couples Malaysia, May 3, 2014
Not good

central location
5.7
we are give a room without window and is stuffy and cramp
Choon H. Solo travelers Malaysia, April 17, 2014
a normal backpacker hostel

good location, friendly staff, value for money
7
I stayed there only for 1 night, there's 2 rooms in the unit with bathroom, and a small space for dining and leisure. Anyway, it's just a normal backpacker hostel, you don't expect much with the money you have paid.
Chihchung N. Solo travelers Taiwan, March 19, 2014
City center located. Easy to access anywhere

Great location. Affordable price. Free snack meal.
5.7
Thomas M. Couples Liechtenstein, February 24, 2014
good location, best price, no free internet

location, location, location
7.3
Maria V. Solo travelers Netherlands, February 24, 2014
friendly staff, basic dorms

location, friendly staff
6.7
Basic but good hostel. There was a large kitchen attached to 4 dorms, so not too many people to share it with. My room was above the bar which was causing a lot of noise and loud music on Saturday night. Sunday night luckily was more quiet
Min L. Solo travelers Singapore, February 12, 2014
Cheap, good for meeting international friends

Friendly, centrally located, free snack dinners
7.3
Booked the budget room with no window, which can get depressing at times. The plus point for shared bathrooms is that there's never a long wait (there're more shared bathrooms in the stairway), but the fridge tends to be full and messy due to long-term stayers. Kudos to the staff for their midnight clean-ups, else the common room would be much messier than it could be. Rooms are tiny, can be abit of squeeze to fit everyone's bags when the room is fully occupied. Overall, you'll get what you pay for, definitely the cheapest room for such a central location.
Tim P. Couples United Kingdom, February 12, 2014
The worst hostel in Auckland

none
2.7
Poor. Dirty, poor condition, next to massage parlour, noisy bar until 6am.
Min L. Solo travelers Singapore, January 22, 2014
budget room for budget travellers

location, price, friendly staff
7
was surprised to be upgraded to the room with window upon my checkin, and thankfully for that, my subsequent stay was inside a room with no window and it was depressing. a downside of the room with a window is that the music (or noise) from the bar downstairs travels upwards, so you either sacrifice fresh air in the room at night, or learn to sleep with the noise. no individual lights are provided for the beds, and the room is almost too tiny to fit everyone's bags. beds were reasonably comfortable, though creaky and noisy as most bunk beds are. no problem with the shared bathrooms, though there was only two showers and two toilets, and shared among 4 rooms (16 girls), I never had too long of a wait to use it. Additional common toilets along the stairway might have helped. Kitchen is generally always in a mess, no-one seems to know how to clean up after themselves, despite the best efforts if the staff at putting warning signs and reminders to occupants to keep the area tidy. Definitely better off staying at YHA if you prefer some order and a clean place to stay. Pots and pans provided but many were faulty in some way (loose handles, sticky/dirty base), discouraging me from any cooking throughout my stay. Not sure about this, but Fat Camels seems to release their free beds to the homeless if not sold by nighttime. One night an elderly lady with messy hair and tattered clothes came to stay in my room while everyone had turned in, and brought a very bad smell into our room. staff are generally friendly and preppy, always up for a chat. a free snack meal is offered at the bar downstairs each evening, though I can't comment on the quality of the food provided as I did not try it throughout my stay. Definitely not the place to go to for a quiet stay, but you get what you pay for, and this room is definitely among the cheapest in the city.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel AucklandNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - EntranceNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Guest RoomNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Guest RoomNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - ExteriorNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - ExteriorNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Pub/LoungeNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Suite RoomNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - RestaurantNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - SurroundingsNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - SurroundingsNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - KitchenNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - SnookerNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - ReceptionNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - ReceptionNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - ExteriorNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Guest RoomNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Guest RoomNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Guest RoomNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel Auckland - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3C06