Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

North Zen Hotel

Sobrecary Street (near corner Lapu Lapu Street), Poblacion, Davao City, Philippines 8000

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.5

based on
651 reviews

566 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.2
Location
7.6
Staff Performance
7.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
5.8
All reviews (651)
Sort by:
Jennifer V. Solo travelers Philippines, January 3, 2013
Clean Hotel

Clean
8
The hotel is cheap and clean. Good for travellers travelling alone.
Report this review
Ed G. Couples Philippines, December 26, 2012
Good budget hotel with top-notch service.

Cleanliness, very good customer support, consistent and helpful staff
8
We're a newly engaged couple celebrating Christmas Eve at Royal Mandaya and dinner buffet at Marco Polo. After Christmas though, we're looking for budget hotels to offset the costs. We looked at Agoda for budget hotels and found a bunch of hotels. North Zen was one. We booked for a Standard King room only to find out that there were none available upon arriving at the hotel. We did book the room an hour before arriving. A beautiful-looking lady at the front desk helped us by giving us a Superior Twin Room instead. That and a warm smile plus letting us check in early are two thumbs ups to customer support. The room and toilet were clean, but cramped. Once you enter the toilet, the bowl is right up. Maybe because we just checked out from the royal mandaya that night and we missed the big space, but we can't argue about the price of the north zen hotel. The wifi in our room was adequate and they do have lounge areas in each floor if you need a faster connection. Overall the basics were delivered well and my fiancee and I were satisfied We're now in Tinhat Boutique Hotel and at the same price, hmm, we got a more spacious room, bigger pillows, a better mattress faster wifi and overall better amenities. We decided to stay our next 2 nights here :) Location is the only down-side.
Restaurant Tip: Eat at the Crab's Buffet at Glamour Resto and Cafe if you're new in Davao! It's located just past Ateneo de Davao, Roxas avenue to the right of another good buffet place (Zab's). They serve alavar sauce! Yummy, the crabs were fat and juicy! Our bill was only P850+ for two. Good deal as I ate a total of 5 big crabs. Included were Grilled Tuna Panga, Shrimps and other seafood.
Report this review
Reymundo P. Families with older children Philippines, December 22, 2012
Sweet room but small enough

I loved the way they keep the hotel nice looking with a tight budget.
5.7
the hotel is quite far from a teeming populace. you need to do a 500 mtrs walk before you could see the nearest mc do and convenience store. you have to ride a taxi to go the malls. its peaceful and quite at night- ideal for love birds. the aircon is manual. its kind of inconvenient to adjust the coldness when you're already asleep. one thing i like is its wide open spaces in the middle of the rooms where you can do a lot of things.
Hotel Feature Tip: Don't expect for a nice comfy spring bed here.
Report this review
Chin F. Couples Malaysia, December 21, 2012
Nice budget hotel, friendly service

Friendly peoples
7.3
nice friendly people. especially the daytime hotel guard. very helpful. but the toilet is small and wifi signal should be stronger for all the rooms.
Travel tip: This is a good budget hotel for travellers. Highly recommended.
Report this review
Annabelle V. Families with young children Philippines, December 14, 2012
Clean Hotel but small rooms

clean room
8
The hotel is ok. The room rate is affordable. Clean room but small. With wi-fi.
Report this review
Steven J. Couples United States of America, December 13, 2012
Lovely suite room, nice hotel

Price and location
8
I was unable to recharge my computer because the hotel had strange three-pronged electrical plugs and no adapters. This was a real problem. Other than that, fine.
Report this review
Rommel R. Groups Philippines, December 13, 2012
Davao Tour

staff are accomodating / location near city
8.7
not that big compare to a 5 star hotel but just right for a nice good place to rest.
Hotel Feature Tip: don't smoke at your room, heavy penalty.
Report this review
Rosario V. Solo travelers Philippines, December 12, 2012
Basic, functional, clean and smiling staff

This hotel was near our partner government agencies. Had lounge spaces for small meetings and workings with computers..
9.3
Have actually renewed stay in the hotel ... Some rooms have too cramped toilet spaces...
Travel tip: No restaurant except for the small private eatery which was only open from 6:30 to 2 pm. Massage and laundry with very reasonable prices!
Report this review
Joaquin H. Couples Philippines, December 12, 2012
Comfort within reach

1. Clean 2. Quite 3. Comfortable
6.7
Positive Zen embraces this place. You will enjoy A warm relaxing stay in this hotel. North Zen is located at the heart of Davao City. Schools,Malls, restaurants and entertainment establishments are within reach. So convenient and so peaceful is the place.
Report this review
Karolus J. Couples Philippines, December 10, 2012
Spacius Rooms

Rooms were very spacious. Bathroom was nice.
7.7
North Zen Hotel is a very good budget hotel. The room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was very nice even though there was no bathtub. The air con was strong and could cool the whole room even at a low setting. The only problem was the blanket was a little small for two people to share specially with a strong air con.
Shopping Tip: The place is a little off the main road but it's just a few minutes away from the malls.
Report this review
Previous page 271 - 280 of 566 reviews Next page
North Zen Hotel Davao City - HallwayNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Upgraded new bed mattress with memory foam pillowNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Function RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - InteriorNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - InteriorNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - InteriorNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - InteriorNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - ReceptionNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - InteriorNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - InteriorNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - BathroomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - BathroomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Guest RoomNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - InteriorNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - InteriorNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - InteriorNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - InteriorNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - InteriorNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - InteriorNorth Zen Hotel Davao City - Interior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01