Back to hotel info

Good 6.6
Based on 29 reviews
Good 6.4
Based on 709 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 29 reviews
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 4.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 5.7
  • Service 6.7
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 5.9

Zelda from France
Solo travelers
A place to go !
The staff was so nice !! Good vibes in this hostel, and the rooftop is beautiful !
The cleanliness is not so good, especially the shower curtains and the floors !
Reviewed August 26, 2015

Melodie H. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Good place for the money
Cheap, centerally located, 24 hour staff/locked front door
Great experience for how cheap the hotel was. Only negative thing was that the elevators were broken and we had a 15 minute wait each time we had to catch one.
Reviewed July 03, 2013

Dany R. from Germany
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in July 2012
cheap alternative to hostels in summer time
cheap, good breakfast, best location
This is originally a home for college students. Between two semesters its becoming a low budget hotel for tourists. The rooms are simple (no closet, just a desk and bed). You have one towel, some soap and breakfast voucher. You are sharing two bathrooms with 4-5 other rooms. Attention - Toronto could be very hot and humid in the summertime - the rooms have no air condition! the location is great, just 5-7 min from Yonge Street and Eaton Centre.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Catherine from France
Solo travelers
Super view!
It's worth the while just for the view from the top floor!
Reviewed August 26, 2015

Zac from Canada
Groups
good for a one night...
Great views on both patios, great location for the money we spent.
Wish it was cleaner and a bit bigger with some a.c. bit understanding you get what you pay for :)
Reviewed August 25, 2015

Viet D. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in August 2012
dormitory not hotel, great location
good location, free breakfast
i stayed one night at neill wycik. the building is really old, it is dormitory for student not a hotel. but good price though. if you travel in summer, it kind of warm at night. no air conditioning. i was out all day anyway. i think it is for tight budget travelers.it is very safe and the staff was very helpful and nice. it is shared toilet and bathroom. the toilet was stuck and disgusting.
Reviewed September 08, 2012

Veijo V. from Finland
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Great location but bring your earplugs
Location, staff
stayed here for three nights with a friend. the twin room was just a normal single room that had two beds crammed in it. not very comfortable but enough for a few nights. there is no air conditioning so needed to keep the window open and had to use earplugs to be able to sleep due to the noise from outside. the breakfast was okay, comparable to any other hostel. the best thing about this place was its location, it's located right in downtown toronto, so it's possible to walk everywhere. the subway line is close-by as well. the hostel staff was very nice and helpful.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Sleepless from Canada
Solo travelers
To hot in room!
The breakfast was good and bed was comfortable.
It was so hot in the room I couldn't sleep at all and couldn't even open my window farther then like 3 inches(not exaggerating!). People were loud in the halls all night as well, which I heard...
Reviewed August 25, 2015

Anonymous from Spain
Couples
Disappointing
Location
The bathroom was really dirty. There were also some shoes wandering in the alley along our stay and nobody take care of it.
Reviewed August 25, 2015

Lara S. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Fun, youth atmosphere, and breakfast included too
Free breakfast, location
Fun atmosphere. I liked how breakfast was free. Pretty good value for money overall.
Reviewed July 09, 2012

Wong K. from Hong Kong
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
good location hotel
location
the location of the hotel is very convenient, just 10 mins from the downtown dundas subway. it can easily go any sight seeing. although the room of stay is simple, it have a comfortable air conditioned canteen that can provide a good environment for gathering. in addition, the stay can provide breakfast to everyone in the morning.
Reviewed July 04, 2012

None from Germany
Couples
Disappointing
The view from the rooftop.
It is a large building with multiple "appartments" on each floor. There is one common room at the top floor, everything is therefore very anonymous. Our room was in an appartment with two ...
Reviewed August 25, 2015

Student from United States
Solo travelers
Great way to save money...
Great price and close to downtown. Multiple options for food and bars close by. Reminds me very much of student housing in the USA.
Reviewed August 24, 2015

Rajnandan P. from India
Solo travelers
Stayed 6 nights in May 2012
Great Location and Reasonable Stay
Location is Great
Room charges are reasonable, complimentary breakfast. Breakfast should have some protein in it. Room is small but functional with a bed and a study table. Toilets are sharable and clean. Interent not in rooms, but in Lounge at 22nd Floor and Cafe at ground floor. Friendly staff and security is good.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Ananda P. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in June 2011
basic
location
Ok for a brief stay. The hotel is actually a students' hostel with no attached bath room. There is no mirror in the room. The room is small with a small writing table. There is no tv ... you have to go to the common room to watch.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Omri from Israel
Solo travelers
Great value for money.
STAFF, PUBLIC SPACES
NO AC IN THE ROOMSValue
Reviewed August 22, 2015

Andrew from Canada
Solo travelers
Bad value for cost
Breakfast was quite good.
Room windows only opened 2 inches, very hot during the night. Bathrooms looked like they hadn't been cleaned in years.
Reviewed August 22, 2015

Daniel S. from Canada
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2011
gTerrible
none
It was a university residence. no toilet in the room, not even a wash basin. The first room offered had only 1 bed and a cot - supposed to be a twin room!!! It was not nice and I highly recommend that you not send anyone there!
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Catherine K. from Switzerland
Families with older children
Stayed one night in June 2014
Un bon départ
Central, Bon Marché, Parfait Petit Dejeuner
Nous avons été très bien accueillies, il y avait une place sécurisée (payante mais pas chère) pour garer la voiture, notre chambre est exigüe et contenait à peine le stricte minimum (2 lits, 1 chaise, 1 petit ventilateur et juste assez de place pour nos 2 valises) mais cela suffit. Le sol de la chambre n'est pas propre, les draps sont trop usés. L'eau de la salle de bain est délicieusement fraiche cet été, on apprécie pour le bain de pieds usés par la marche et une douche rafraichissante! Les couloirs sont calmes, nous avons l'impression d'avoir la salle de bains partagée pour nous seules, c'est agréable. Le système du petit déjeuner (4 articles au choix) nous convient parfaitement, j'aime beaucoup cette solution. Nous sommes à deux pas du centre de Toronto, c'est ce qu'il faut pour découvrir la ville sans se ruiner et sans perdre du temps. Le personnel est agréable, l'ambiance est "cool". Je recommanderais ce lieu aux jeunes, aux economes et personnes ne cherchant pas le confort ou la propreté parfaite d'une chambre, mais un lieu pour dormir et duquel partir à la découverte de Toronto et ses environs. Un point positif pour le WiFi et le séjour. Continuez d'exister!
Reviewed August 03, 2014

Gordon from Canada
Solo travelers
cheap for a reason.
the room smelled like old socks. the shared kitchen had obviously not been cleaned or tidied for days or for the duration of my stay. there was no air circulation, fan or air conditioner in the ...
Reviewed August 20, 2015