arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.4
Based on 28 reviews
Very good 7.0
Based on 398 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 28 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.5
  • Staff Performance 7.1
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 6.2

Len H.
Canada
September 11, 2013
Should have been better
Location, Parking, Good Wifi
I was not impressed at all by my stay at the Tropicana. But to be fair the hotel was full and maybe I just got "one of those rooms" I will just list a few things that I can remember as being lacking. Stained and dirty carpets. Several pieces of food laying in various spots on the floor ranging from chocolate easter egg to noodles and peanuts. There was a very large shard of broken glass that appeared to be from an ashtray lying dangerously on the kitchen floor. The covers on the floor heaters were falling or already had fallen off their mounts. The ice trays in the freezer were full of black mold. Several drawers in the kitchen had a coating of food spices and sugar in them. The coffee maker had not been emptied of its previous coffee bag. The coffee table lights did not work and upon inspection both lights were damaged and one was actually broken off at the socket and was leaning over at a 90 degree angle. The pillows were so old that they had become very lumpy and highly compressable. There was only about 1cm. of toilet paper left on the roll and no replacement. This is only what I quickly remember. On the positive side, the sheets were fresh, the water hot and the wifi was pretty good.

Anonymous
Germany
December 01, 2015
Excellent location+free parking, bit out-dated,...
Friendly relaxed stuff Superb downtown edge location, famous Robson Street free downtown parking on site spacious room (2 room flat + kitchen) panorama No nig-nags Quiet self-catering, ...
bit worn out interior, but comfy! bath, bed pretty clean besides corridors and elevator. So not for the sensitive felt a bit like in a 70's or 80's New York apartment of a detective story -...

Graham
Canada
November 14, 2015
Budget hotel.
Great location, near to restaurants and shopping. Free parking. Practical one bedroom suites with kitchen.

david W.
Canada
August 14, 2013
Great location, free parking
Great location, free parking, good price

Kirk H.
United States
August 10, 2013
Great place to stay in downtown Vancouver
Good value for the money, close to everything downtown, clean rooms
A good location in downtown Vancouver and it is a good value for the money. Easy access to dining, parks, nightlife, spas. Can walk to most everything or take public transportation.

Angel
Canada
November 09, 2015
Very nice Location worth living
Location is really nice with very kind and friendly staff.. I am definitely going to stay here on my next visit to Vancouver..

Juro
Slovakia
November 09, 2015
Pleasant
The place seems old and not too much invested into it for a long time, the biggest asset is its very good location.

Kirk H.
United States
August 10, 2013
Great stay in the middle of a vibrant city
Close to everything downtown, good value for the money, clean rooms
Pleasant stay at a centrally located hotel that was good value for the money. Rooms are a bit dated, but clean. Top floors have great view of the city, water and sunsets. Everything you need is close by and as long as your not looking for a luxury experience this is a great place to stay.

Mathieu C.
Australia
August 08, 2013
Excellent
Room size, balcony and kitchen
Excellent - Staff were easy to deal with and the rooms were large and very clean! I was very happy with tropicana!

Jillian
Australia
October 29, 2015
Convenient location, comfortable accommodation, close...
Easy walk to the shops on Robson Street or to the many restaurants in West End.Staff were polite and friendly. My room was spacious with separate lounge, bathroom, bedroom and kitchenette. ...
My room was on the top floor, not sure if that had anything to do with the water flow in the shower. The hot water was impossible to regulate, either scalding hot or cold. That was a little ...

Griffin
United States
October 29, 2015
Great price, better suite.
The suite was beautiful, low priced, view of the ocean and the city streets. Kind, helpful staff.
The pool was closed. Something I would have liked to have known before I arrived at the hotel.

JIA Y.
China
July 05, 2013
large family suite
large, full equipped kitchen, close to restaurant

Ray D.
Australia
May 29, 2013
Good location with plenty of shopping nearby
Location, Size of apartment,
Good sized one bedroom apartment in a handy location. Plenty of food choices and shopping nearby. Good value for money. Within walking distance of Stanley Park. Would definitely stay here again.

James
Canada
October 28, 2015
friendly staff, nice location, kinda...
location
bathroom sink drain no good. Poor kitchen equipment

Margaret
Canada
October 27, 2015
Pleasant
The price was great for the location and it was nice to have a small kitchen and living room to hang out in.
There was only one key for the room which was left at the desk so that two people could share it. The desk clerk never asked for ID or anything so I question the level of security there.

rita A.
Philippines
October 06, 2012
Great loacation
Quite and clean, staff have a great service
Tropicana is a great location for shopping, dining and accessible to all attractions around Vancouver area. Staff is approachable and will give direction on where to go. I would love to recommend it to any traveller who want to have peace of mind. I would love to stay again on my next trip to Vancouver.

Li Z.
Australia
October 04, 2012
lovely home like hotel
good location, big space, clean
love to see the sunset over the balcony. Close to everywhere. There is a bicyle shop near the hotel to get a bike to explore Stanley Park. Only the staff there seems to be less enthusiastic. I guess that is big city's problem.

Pochun
Canada
October 22, 2015
Exceptional
very good location

Gordon
Canada
October 16, 2015
Good
Location
Rooms were dated. Needs some help.

Craig P.
Canada
October 03, 2012
Nice location, large room, terrible shower
Location and room, both very nice
The hotel is situated close to many restaurants, and a very short walk to the shopping and business district. Also not too long of a walk to the beach and Stanley Park. The bedroom suite was very nice and comfortable. The many problem was the shower. It was impossible to set it to any set temperature, and there was almost no shower pressure. We only stayed for one night, so it was not such a big deal, but it would be annoying to have to use that shower again. Besides that, it was a nice stay.