Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 51 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 51 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.9
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 7.6
Sort by

cindy N. from United States
Groups
Stayed one night in March 2011
great hotel with nice people and awsome views
room was large and staff was friendly
pattis day celebration...had a lot of fun...dancing to the loud music as bagpipers were walking around from the parade....
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Deborah J. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 6 nights in February 2011
Excellent accomodations for a great price
Extra large bath and room, flat screen TV, free hi-speed internet, friendly staff, convenient access to bus stops
I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Chicago who wants big-city luxury at an economical price. The conference I was attending was only about a block away and I saved at least 50% of the price I would have paid at the conference hotel (for their "special conference prices") by staying here. Thanks to Chicago's downtown pedestrian walkway through neighboring office buildings I only had a less than 5 minute walk to where I could go indoors out of the winter weather to access my conference hotel. Compared to the conference hotel, I had a much nicer, much bigger room, and did not have to pay for my unlimited access to internet. I asked if there was a microwave I could use and they brought it straightaway up to my room and I was able to keep it for the rest of my stay at no charge. There were plenty of electrical outlets, too, which is nice if you are there, as I was, on business. They currently do not have an on-site restaurant but are rectifying that situation and there are several nice restaurants nearby. They do have room service which looked fairly economical, although I did not need to use it. There was no annoying ultra-expensive minibar, but it looked like there was a place for a small room refrigerator had I wanted that too. There are no vending machines inside the hotel, which I was not happy about, but convenience stores are not far away if one plans ahead and gets something to take back before retiring for the night. Access to the Chicago transit authority bus lines is right across the street or just next door so if you have a list of things to see, you can do that very affordably by riding the CTA. Taxis and the airport shuttle routinely stop there. Great value and I would stay there again!
Reviewed March 01, 2011

Alaina M. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2010
Great view; great location
The view
Not in walking distance to late-night food spots
The location was great as we were in walking distance to The Bean, great architecture, The Mile, ad The theater district. There were very nice restaurants surrounding the restaurants. And some fun bars and clubs within walking distance. It is a little pricey, but besides the cab rides to and from the airport, we saved money with this hotel's walkable location to most of the sights we were interested in. We would have loved a complimentary airport shuttle, but who wouldn't?
Reviewed January 04, 2011

FANGFEI D. from
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2010
lovely hotal
clean and comfortable
no
this hotel is really close to the shopping center at north michigan ave, and the transporatation is really convenience, the service is pretty good,we enjoyed our night in the hotel. The air condition is not work enough but the price is so attractive. i will chose it for next trip and recommend to my friend. If your wanna find a hotel at the center of chicago and close to the shopping mall,holidays inn will be your best choice
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Stephen H. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in December 2010
Great Location, Great Hotel
Location is ideal, 1 block from "L" and almost on MIchigan Ave, staff very nice, rooms large and clean, fast Internet
None
irish pub half block away has good food and good service; there are other restaurants within half mile that vary from subway to 5 star. i did not try out the restaurant at hotel 71, but did use the bar, and it was fine. would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a great value in downtown chicago.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Annie Y. from South Korea
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in October 2010
perfect location
easy access to major attraction, free WiFi
in room facility, shabby furniture
Stayed at this hotel for exhibition at McComick Center. It is very closed to the exhibition center as well as city center. Many of attractios / shopping centers are within walking distance.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Walter N. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in September 2010
Chicago weekend
Location, check in speed, size of room
None
A very nice hotel, on the river, centrally located between the Loop & River North. About a 5 minute walk to the L.
Reviewed October 06, 2010

Megan P. from United States
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in August 2010
Prime Chicago Spot
location! service and quality. modern, clean, comfortable, friendly staff, great food for room service, safe
No big comforter on bed, bed could be a little better, ice mechines only on two floors
I was there for lollapalooza and they provided extra security at night. The corner bakery is yummy and convenient. Beautiful river view and great location right off Michigan ave and Wacker. Close restaurants, shopping, bus and L lines. Awesome for the price.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

joseph S. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2010
Hotel 71
location
elevator
one word CHICAGO
Reviewed July 07, 2010

Stanley S. from United States
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in May 2010
First time in Chicago
Location Room overlooking the river Large room
very small lobby area (however, personally we didn't need more) no complimentary breakfast (however, corner bakery so close was a plus)
This was our first visit to Chicago. This hotel was recommended to us by someone who lives in Chicago. Her recommendation was a good one. The location is excellent. It was so easy to get the train, bus, boat, breakfast. Walking downtown to sightsee and have dinner was so easy. A river view from our room was wonderful. I would always recommend it.
Reviewed May 26, 2010