Back to hotel info

The Equus an Ascend Hotel Collection Member Honolulu

1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Waikiki, Oahu Hawaii, United States 96815 - Show map

Very good 7.1
Based on 123 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 123 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 5.3
Sort by

Andre C. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2015
Great place to stay
Clean rooms, friendly staff, and close proximity to shopping
Prices are fair as well as competitive, room was clean, and (this is a biggie) very close to everything including the marina, restaurants, shopping and more. This was all within walking distance. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The pool was small but still very nice and they carried the luggage to the bedroom without asking. I will be back!
Reviewed May 08, 2015

Sam H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2015
Good location
Location, staff and clean
Reviewed May 07, 2015

hye O. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
good quality. friendly staff
helpful staff
Reviewed April 07, 2015

JOHN M. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Central Hotel
Close to shopping,beach,local transport.
Reception and staff very friendly.Hotel is average for the price with comfortable beds. Would not recommend hotel due to traffic noise.
Reviewed April 03, 2015

Michael W. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in June 2014
Underrated
Great value
Little way out from the main "action", but ok if you don't mind a little walk. Very quiet and very good standard with generous size rooms. Would stay again, good value for money.
Reviewed March 26, 2015

Jonathan M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in February 2015
Solid performance with a few letdowns
Price, Proximity to Alo Moana Centre.
Our stay was generally good. The rooms are comfortable but the overall building is a little old. This is reflected in things like the lift being slow to move between floors. I found it generally quicker to take the stairs from my level 6 room. Both rooms I booked had air conditioning which allowed you to close the balcony doors against road noise if you are a light sleeper. Persoanlly my wife and I found the noise to be OK and sleep with the balcony door open to catch the beautiful sea breezes in Waikiki. The only real problem we experienced was when checking in. The hotel was delayed in getting the second booked room ready (we waited more than 45 minutes past their advertised check-in time). They were more than happy to offer the friend travelling with us(who I booked the room for)an alternative room but only when asked directly. I was disappointed that they were not more pro active in offering alternative rooms, especially sicne they were aware we were keen to get in and relax after our flight.
Reviewed March 01, 2015

Jordan B. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2014
By 'Boutique' , means small and lacking amenities
Had air conditioning? Lol. I'm grasping for even a second good thing...?
Average stay at best for above average money. Room was decent size, bathroom small. Older furniture, but I guess that's 'boutique'. Valet parking only- expensive, and it's not even 24 hrs. Checkout took forever, this place isn't modern at all. Stay elsewhere.
Reviewed December 10, 2014

Robyn S. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2014
Good Value
Staff were friendly and helpful - bed was comfortable - pretty quiet
The hotel is older but quite comfortable. Staff were friendly - would have been better not to have to take luggage upstairs but the staff were obliging and helped. I only stayed one night in between flights so used shuttle to get to and from airport
Reviewed November 05, 2014

Rachel C. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 10 nights in June 2014
Comfortable
Location, helpful staff and nice rooms
I had a great stay at The Equus. The rooms were a great size, comfortable beds and amenities. There isn't anything bad to say about this hotel. The staff was great and had a tour guide ready to answer and help with planning. My room was serviced everyday too. They offered a texting service as well. You can text questions instead of calling guest services. I've seen some negative things said but most are out of the hotel's control. There was some noise but you're in front of a major road in a busy city. Parking isn't great but that's almost anywhere you go and they do offer next door a parking garage.
Reviewed July 08, 2014

Thomas A. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 5 nights in June 2014
Small outside, big experience.
Location, Simplicity, Service
I got concerned, even after seeing pictures online, about the size of the hotel. But I don't know how they did it. They made a relatively small area feel so spacious. Had three people in a double deluxe room and had plenty of space for everyone. Located in walking distance to some piers, a beach, and any number of places to shop and eat for even the pickiest consumer. A mid-price range steal.
Reviewed June 25, 2014