Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 28 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.3
Sort by

Paul Y. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Sportsmans lodge
Location, excellent staff, cleanliness and modernization of rooms
Excellent, the staff was excellent in helping us purchase tickets and any issues we had. The free shuttle service was incredibly helpful. The only change I would suggest is to add a mini fridge and microwave to the rooms as they did not have one.
Reviewed January 03, 2015

Lynn B. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2014
Hidden little retro gem in Studio City
location, value, decor
Mine was just a quick overnight stay, but the lodge fit the bill. We didn't want to pay the crazy prices of Hollywood hotels, and the lodge is so conveniently located. We drove the 6 miles into Hollywood to see a concert at The Fonda. The decor is fun, and the lodge had a great vibe to it. My only complaint is that the hotel walls are thin - I could hear everything going on in the room next to me, and the gardeners launched their loud leaf blowers at 8 am on a Sunday. Really lovely property however.
Reviewed November 17, 2014

Donna K. from United States
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in October 2014
Ok
Location,convenience,safe
Constantly had to request more towels,coffee,etc. Closet was nonexistent! No privacy on balcony. Barrier between rooms was missing.
Reviewed October 30, 2014

monica R. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed one night in October 2014
brat pack 70s
it reminded us of madmen.
Nice
Reviewed October 08, 2014

Cary S. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed one night in September 2014
good location and good value
location, vibe, staff
Good value and very nice staff
Reviewed October 06, 2014

Nicolas D. from France
Business travelers
Stayed one night in August 2010
CA trip
Swimming Pool, good restaurant, rooms are clean
No breakfast included
The hotel features a nice pool where kids can play while parents are having a meal at the restaurant aside the pool. The service is good, rooms are clean. The hotel is not close from downtown but only 20min drive.
Reviewed September 08, 2010

Anastuty K. from Indonesia
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2010
Clean and best location
Room is clean, the amenities are good. There are some restaurant in front of the hotel. the hotel provides free shuttle to Universal Studio. And even more, the hotel has ATM in the lobby..help me a lot..
There is no transportation from hotel to the airport (I thinks it is a main problem from hotel around hollywood).
i choose this hotel because they offered a free shuttle to Universal Studio.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Christine N. from Indonesia
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010
a good hotel
good internet, clean room, free shuttle to universal studios hollywood
old elevator, far from downtown
i am really satisfied with this hotel, they provide a good internet, clean room, big twin beds, free shuttle to universal studios, and sincere staff. but, the location is a little bit far from downtown and the elevator that they have is old. overall, i am satified with this hotel and would be stay at this hotel if i want to visit universal studios again.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Christine N. from Indonesia
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in May 2010
a good hotel
good internet, clean room, free shuttle to universal studios hollywood
old elevator, far from downtown
i am really satisfied with this hotel, they provide a good internet, clean room, big twin beds, free shuttle to universal studios, and sincere staff. but, the location is a little bit far from downtown and the elevator that they have is old. overall, i am satified with this hotel and would be stay at this hotel if i want to visit universal studios again.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Helen H. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in November 2009
Sportsmens Lodge Nov 09
Swimming Pool Location
Pool bar closed No restaurant in evening
This is our 3rd stay at the Sportsmens Lodge. We love the swimming pool and the location which is very conveniently located on Ventura Boulevard. Although it was advertised as having a refurb and "all new rooms" this was misleading. Some aspects had been upgraded, such as key cards instead of the outdated keys that they used up until recently. The bedcovers had been replaced with duvets and all the toilets had water-saving cysterns and the lobby bar had been restyled - but apart from that, the hotel was looking tired and shabby. One lift was permanently out of order and the other one broke on our last day meaning everyone, guests and staff had to use the service stairs. Our room was on the 5th floor so it was very inconvenient. Although the pool was well attended during the day, the pool bar was closed until 4pm, when it was starting to get dark! I was disappointed with the Sportsmens Lodge this time around as I was expecting a higher standard.
Reviewed November 20, 2009