arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 28 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.3

Paul Y.
United States
January 03, 2015
Sportsmans lodge
Location, excellent staff, cleanliness and modernization of rooms
Excellent, the staff was excellent in helping us purchase tickets and any issues we had. The free shuttle service was incredibly helpful. The only change I would suggest is to add a mini fridge and microwave to the rooms as they did not have one.

Lynn B.
United States
November 17, 2014
Hidden little retro gem in Studio City
location, value, decor
Mine was just a quick overnight stay, but the lodge fit the bill. We didn't want to pay the crazy prices of Hollywood hotels, and the lodge is so conveniently located. We drove the 6 miles into Hollywood to see a concert at The Fonda. The decor is fun, and the lodge had a great vibe to it. My only complaint is that the hotel walls are thin - I could hear everything going on in the room next to me, and the gardeners launched their loud leaf blowers at 8 am on a Sunday. Really lovely property however.

Donna K.
United States
October 30, 2014
Ok
Location,convenience,safe
Constantly had to request more towels,coffee,etc. Closet was nonexistent! No privacy on balcony. Barrier between rooms was missing.

monica R.
United States
October 08, 2014
brat pack 70s
it reminded us of madmen.
Nice

Cary S.
United States
October 06, 2014
good location and good value
location, vibe, staff
Good value and very nice staff

Nicolas D.
France
September 08, 2010
CA trip
Swimming Pool, good restaurant, rooms are clean
No breakfast included
The hotel features a nice pool where kids can play while parents are having a meal at the restaurant aside the pool. The service is good, rooms are clean. The hotel is not close from downtown but only 20min drive.

Anastuty K.
Indonesia
June 14, 2010
Clean and best location
Room is clean, the amenities are good. There are some restaurant in front of the hotel. the hotel provides free shuttle to Universal Studio. And even more, the hotel has ATM in the lobby..help me a lot..
There is no transportation from hotel to the airport (I thinks it is a main problem from hotel around hollywood).
i choose this hotel because they offered a free shuttle to Universal Studio.

Christine N.
Indonesia
May 19, 2010
a good hotel
good internet, clean room, free shuttle to universal studios hollywood
old elevator, far from downtown
i am really satisfied with this hotel, they provide a good internet, clean room, big twin beds, free shuttle to universal studios, and sincere staff. but, the location is a little bit far from downtown and the elevator that they have is old. overall, i am satified with this hotel and would be stay at this hotel if i want to visit universal studios again.

Christine N.
Indonesia
May 19, 2010
a good hotel
good internet, clean room, free shuttle to universal studios hollywood
old elevator, far from downtown
i am really satisfied with this hotel, they provide a good internet, clean room, big twin beds, free shuttle to universal studios, and sincere staff. but, the location is a little bit far from downtown and the elevator that they have is old. overall, i am satified with this hotel and would be stay at this hotel if i want to visit universal studios again.

Helen H.
United Kingdom
November 20, 2009
Sportsmens Lodge Nov 09
Swimming Pool Location
Pool bar closed No restaurant in evening
This is our 3rd stay at the Sportsmens Lodge. We love the swimming pool and the location which is very conveniently located on Ventura Boulevard. Although it was advertised as having a refurb and "all new rooms" this was misleading. Some aspects had been upgraded, such as key cards instead of the outdated keys that they used up until recently. The bedcovers had been replaced with duvets and all the toilets had water-saving cysterns and the lobby bar had been restyled - but apart from that, the hotel was looking tired and shabby. One lift was permanently out of order and the other one broke on our last day meaning everyone, guests and staff had to use the service stairs. Our room was on the 5th floor so it was very inconvenient. Although the pool was well attended during the day, the pool bar was closed until 4pm, when it was starting to get dark! I was disappointed with the Sportsmens Lodge this time around as I was expecting a higher standard.