Back to hotel info

Distrikt Hotel New York City, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

342 W. 40th Street, Times Square, New York (NY), United States 10018 - View on map

Excellent 8.6
Based on 126 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 126 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.2
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.1
Sort by

Helen H.
United Kingdom
March 02, 2015
Stay in New York
Helpfulness of the staff. Cleanliness of the room. Location in New York.
It was excellent. It lived up to our expectations.

Thanadon K.
Thailand
February 23, 2015
Great Location, Friendly Staff
Location, Staff, and Price
Location was excellent for the price, hotel was renovated not too long ago. The hotel was located on a one lane one way street, so traffic noise was minimum. Close enough to walk to Times Square and Convention Center. Right by 24hr convenience store and main bus station. Right beside subway.

julie W.
United Kingdom
February 02, 2015
a week in New York
location, helpful staff, cleanliness
My daughter and I visited the hotel, for a weeks stay.although the hotel was not like my usual choiceof hotel, I have no complaints.. the location was good, the staffhelpful, especially one of the eve staff who gave advice on booking shows. The gents at the entrance, were friendly. The bed was larger than expected. The room ckean and shower room fine. I did miss having a bath also and a nice view. But this is no detriment to the hotel. It is a shame that the hotel does not do eve food, but as so many places nearby, was not a problem.

kurt A.
United States
January 26, 2015
Decent but not great
Nice design in lobby and rooms but very tiny. Liked the nightly turn down service. The brownies on arrival. The location to everything.
My biggest complaint was when I checked in the front desk failed to notice I had prepaid for my room and then ran the whole weeks stay through on my credit card a second time. I caught it and they reversed the charge but it took a few days for the credit to appear on my card which really caused me some trouble for a few days. Housekeeping staff is not great, my room was only refreshed and not truly cleaned. There was a potato chip lying on my floor when I checked in and it was still there 5 days later. I called to speak to a manager but never heard from one at all. I'd call the whole thing mediocre at best. If I found a great rate is consider staying again but it wouldn't be my first pick

XIAO C.
United States
January 26, 2015
wonderful stay
Excellent room cleaness, very friendly staff and good location
Very good experience! Definitely will visits again! Btw the brownies are great!

Erin B.
United States
January 24, 2015
Great stay
Friendly staff, clean rooms, easy to get around the city

Anthony C.
Canada
January 05, 2015
Could be better.
Limited outside noise.
Hotel was quiet: limited outside noise. Bed comforter was dirty. The heater was quite loud. We got to the hotel a few hours before check in, so we had them store our luggage until we were able to check in. Once we checked in, we asked to have our luggage. After a few minutes of looking for our luggage, they told us they would bring it up to our room. It took ~30-45 min before we got our luggage. This hotel seems to be rated a lot higher than it should. But I have stayed in better places (in terms of location, cleanliness, comfort, and value) that were ranked much lower.

Stuart K.
United Kingdom
November 22, 2014
Superb Hotel
Staff were amazing, Lovely room, Great Location
Our stay was amazing at the Distrikt Hotel. The staff were lovely and the room was fantastic. There was nothing negative about anything concerning our 6 day stay in New York. Would definitely go back and would not consider staying anywhere else!!

omar W.
United States
November 15, 2014
Cozy
Warm during the winter. Smelled nice. Free computers up front.

Sarah L.
Australia
October 21, 2014
Our stay
Good location, front desk staff are very friendly, free wifi
Enjoyed our stay, location was great, a lot of restaurants in the Hell's Kitchen area, bus terminal is next door, theaters are steps away. Hotel is small but cozy. Bathroom size was decent, which was a bonus. Housemaid's cleaning wasnot too impressive, no minifridge, so hard to bring food, there is some construction next door, so there was drilling noise during the day, didn't really bother us much. Front desk staff were very friendly, we didn't get to try the hotel food, as too many places to go around. Overall very good stay ; )