arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.5
Based on 149 reviews
Very good 7.7
Based on 949 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 149 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.2
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for Money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 6.0

Roger F.
United States
November 22, 2014
Small hotel convenient for NCY stay
Location, location, locaton
The room was clean but very small. Hardly room to move around a queen-sized bed. The hot water tap was in fact a tepid water tap. The room was hot due to hot water pipes running down the wall of the bathroom. Wi-fi costs extra, and is enabled for a maximum of 2 devices. There is a hotel safe for use by the residents and left luggage storage. There are internet facilities for which you pay, but printing out boarding passes is free. The staff were friendly and helpful. The main thing about the hotel is its location. It is within easy walking distance of the 1, 2 and 3 subways, which make for easy access to downtown. It is also quite convenient for the Metropolitan Opera, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, The Frick, etc. etc. There are some quite nice restaurants on the same block.

Lucile
United States
January 21, 2016
good price-quality ratio, a place...
I went on a trip with a friend, and we could walk really easily everywhere, it has the ideal spot and just next to the hotel, there is a subway station. it is truly convenient, because with the ...
the room might have been a little bit small for two grown-ups women.

Liver
Canada
January 19, 2016
Not a good place to...
No air conditioning in the building and the staff gave us keys to a room that people were already living in - this is really unsafe (what if they did that to our room and we weren't there?)

Andrea D.
Australia
October 07, 2014
Stay for one week at Newton
Location, proximity to subway, neighbourhood
This budget hotel is good value for the money and close to the main subway. The room is very small but has all that is needed and very clean. The Manhattan Diner two doors down is excellent for all meals, Amsterdam street is great for dining options and the location is much quieter than the Midtown area we previously stayed at. My main complaint is the very unhelpful staff - they hide behind the main desk and hope you don't bother them - nothing is proactive and everything seems an effort - we learnt not to bother them. The only polite staff member was the door man when he was there!

Cheryl L.
United States
September 23, 2014
Our stay at the Newton Hotel
Cleanliness, affordability, location
It was perfect for our stay. Location (subway,walking distance)affordability(very reasonable for clean, adequate comfortable room/accessories (microwave, refridgerator). An added plus: a managed baggage hold room1

Lorenzo
Italy
January 19, 2016
Fabulous
We found a great bargain and it was very very cheap. Very close to the subway
The room was too hot, the temperature difficult to change

Dundee
United States
January 17, 2016
Highly recommend Hotel Newton!
Location is great. Right by the subway. Rooms are clean and sufficient for the price.

Mark P.
Australia
September 14, 2014
Love New York
Location to Subway (96th st 123)

Shannon M.
Canada
September 11, 2014
Newton Hotel Review
close to subway, close to cafe/markets, maid service
Great!

Jorge
Argentina
January 12, 2016
Good
shared bathroom

Caroline
United States
January 12, 2016
Passable
The room doesn't have bathroom. There is one bathroom each floor. You can hear everything out of your room and the bed is really noisy. You can't sleep very well.

Vinicio A.
Guatemala
September 08, 2014
Great location
the location, the cleanliness, the service.
The hotel location is fantastic. Just in front of broadway avenue. The best thing I enjoyed was the stores around the hotel. There was a starbucks coffee, a Walgreens, many restaurants, and a supermarket around the block. In the supermarket you can find quality groceries which I bought for preparing my own breakfasts. (fruits, yogurt, bread and coffee). Also, the metro station is just a few steps from the hotel. Great location!!!

Lemeng F.
China
August 15, 2014
comfort stay
location, MTA, restaurants

Susanna
United States
January 09, 2016
Great place to stay in...
very clean, inexpensive and convenient

Jacqueleen
South Africa
January 07, 2016
Good location
Shared Bathroom

Marie-Laure L.
Central African Republic
August 12, 2014
Acceptable
Convenient Location Small Room
Very small room

Marie-Laure L.
Central African Republic
August 12, 2014
Convenient
Well locate parking convenient
Rooms are very small

Anonymous
Ireland
January 05, 2016
Very good
Very reasonably priced. Very close to subway
Room was quite small

Sam
United States
January 04, 2016
4/10
Cleanliness, environment.
there is no watertap to drink water. To take a bath, tap wasn't working. Expensive for one bed room.

Jane S.
Sweden
July 25, 2014
Great value for money. Great location in Upper Wes
Value location big rooms
A great value for the money we paid