Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 117 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 117 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 7.0
Sort by

Marvana B. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2014
Outstanding
Atmosphere, Location, and Staff
It was excellent. I took my mom to NYC for a weekend trip and the staff was so welcoming. They were able to hold our bags before check in and after check out. I would stay here again.
Reviewed December 02, 2014

Peter F. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 5 nights in November 2014
Very Good Cant Beat the Location!
location staff and the beds!
Best night sleep for a long time. Great staff and the location you cant beat
Reviewed November 10, 2014

Standley P. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2014
Wished we stayed longer
Amazing & friendly staff. Great food and a real comfortable bed
We only stayed one night but this place was our perfect hotel for midtown NYC. We will most certainly be back and stay longer the next time. The room was a little small but you don't come to NYC to stay in your room.
Reviewed October 26, 2014

Natalia F. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2014
The room is a shoebox
Location
Rooms are super small. Do not recommend.
Reviewed October 25, 2014

LI B. from Hong Kong
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014
great hotel
good location, friendly staff and nice room
it is a very nice hotel located within the area of Times Square and it is also within 5 min walk from 5th Ave which is very good for most of people.
Reviewed October 10, 2014

LI B. from Hong Kong
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
very nice hotel
great location, friendly staff, comfortable room
it is a hotel very near to Times Square. the staff are very friendly and the room/bed also is cozy.
Reviewed October 05, 2014

Angelo L. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014
excellent stay @ the Sanctuary hotel
the staff was incredible
Excellent! I highly recommend
Reviewed September 22, 2014

Michael P. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Ok
Location
Reviewed September 15, 2014

r B. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed one night in September 2014
A little disappointed! Would try again!
Location for my trip, Staff, the atmosphere is amazing
My stay was sufficient. I have been to the bar here on occasion, and have enjoyed the idea of Sanctuary. I decided this trip to stay here. I am a frequent NYC traveler and have a few favorites. The desk staff was amazingly friendly. The rooms were non impressive not just the size I know most in the area are smaller but with all the money in the rest of the decor I have stayed in holiday inns with nicer rooms. Free breakfast is a huge bonus. Wish there was a meat in the bar to go with eggs, but beggars can't be choosers. Very disappointed with the rooftop bar area there was a larger party occupying much of the hotel, but they had nowhere for its regular guest to get a drink. Was asked to move 3 times to make room for a private party. Also the first night we were there we got back to the hotel around 1:00am and wanted a nightcap but was informed all the bars were closed. We left where we were and headed back because the hours online said it was open until 2am. I loved how courteous the staff was the concierge was great, front desk staff amazing, and when we could get a drink Tasha at haven was wonderful. I will absolutely try this spot again hopefully my few gripes will be non-existent next time.
Reviewed September 11, 2014

Renee C. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in August 2014
Perfect!
Location, price, and friendliness of staff.
Absolutely loved the 6 days I was at the Sanctuary with my 15 year old daughter. The staff were VERY accommodating. The complimentary breakfast had both hot and cold options. The location was about half a block from Times Square. Very close to major subways that were direct from JFK, Penn Station, and just about every where. Walking distance to Central Park. The Haven restaurant was entertaining and the staff friendly an gorgeous. Staff who stood out were Jimmy (thank you for the cupcakes!), Homer (thanks for giving dress code tips to my daughter's bf Brandon), and Chris (you were always very kind to us when coming in and out of the hotel from our daily adventures). Thank you so much for a fabulous visit! Much love, Renee and daughter Evedyne. Until next time!
Reviewed August 07, 2014