Back to hotel info

Very good 7.8
Based on 35 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 35 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 6.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 6.7

Steph G.
United States
September 16, 2012
great location
good location, nice rooms and friendly service
great location - really nice neighborhood right in the centre of nyc - close walk to grand central and all the shopping strips around 5th ave but also close to the east village for the great nightlife scene.

Jimmy Y.
United States
August 13, 2012
Great location, decent price!
Good view on the 10th floor!
We stayed four nights in The Marcel at Gramercy. The location was convenient. The staff were very nice and informative. Although the room was tiny, it was fully equipped with a small refrige, hair dryer, and TV. The only thing we didn't like was the noisy AC. Also, we had to call the front desk to change the refrige because the one in our room didn't work. The hotel didn't provide free WiFi. You either pay for the WiFi or go up to the lounge on the 10th floor to use their desktop computers.

Rachel H.
United States
March 08, 2012
Funky hotel with great service
Cute rooms, comfy, excellent staff
Everyone was so nice from the front desk to the lounge servers. Great location and cute rooms.

Penelope N.
Australia
February 11, 2012
quiet chic and good service
location, decor, helpful staff
i have now stayed at the marcel about 6 or 7 times and only encountered a problem once - and they dealt with it. there's a nice breakfast on level 10, with ny times to read and free access to computers. in nice weather you can go out on the balcony and admire the rooftops and skyscrapers. the locality is nothing special but this time i walked around more, down toward the east village, where i went to the movies on 11th and 3rd, and discovered some nice cafes and little shops on the way there and back. buses at the door, taxis with one word to the commissionaire, and a nice limousine service available to airports as you leave.

Courtney B.
United States
February 07, 2012
great hotel in nice area
friendly staff, modern design
very friendly and welcoming staff, even serve champagne at check-in. great location, clean but small rooms. never made it to basement bar but ate at attached restaurant-trendy but very good. only complaint is the slow elevators

Marie P.
United Kingdom
July 20, 2011
Excellent hotel with friendly helpful staff
Service and location
we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the marcel grammercy park. we were not happy with our room on arrival and the next day we were moved to another room which was still not satisfactory. finally, we did find the right room and all throughout this the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. whatever the request, it was met with a smile and quick service. the location was perfect, close to subway and bus with lots of restaurants etc. nearby. grammercy park is a delightful area, away from the bustle of other manhattan areas and we would definitely stay here on our next trip to new york. we would recommend, however, that wi fi should be available to guests at no charge and the continental breakfast should be included in the room rate.

ARSLAN D.
United States
July 09, 2011
Great location
Great location, a variety of restaurants in the area, Subway is two blocks away
I had never stayed in Gramercy Park area and I like it a lot. There are many restaurants within walking distance - particularly on 3rd Ave. The Subway is a short walk away and the cabs are plentiful. The hotel staff was very helpful and the hotel is clean and smells nice - which is something to consider in NY! There are two things that I didn't like so much: small beds if you are a couple and small rooms. But then again this is Manhattan we are talking about! All in all a very nice hotel. I'd stay there again.

Soren N.
Denmark
May 28, 2011
what a great surprise in New York!
great location, top value for money and super service at the front deck
Gramercy (the area) is "posh" but filled with restaurants and bars, in particular on 3 and 2 avenue and along 17th street close to. Also, litlle italy/china town is just south and then you have union square just 10 minutes walk away and awesome (but a litlle over the top with bill boards) times square just 20 minutes away. And 2 avenue is great for bars and entertainment. Just 50 meters from the hotel is the New York Comedy Club with great stand-up comedy.

James E.
United Kingdom
May 16, 2011
Looked better on the website than it actually was
Front desk staff were amazing
The photos on the website were amazing,

William S.
United States
February 21, 2011
Nice boutique,affordable, in good location
Location, bedding is nice, cool staff
Very accommodating and nice place. Surprisingly affordable for NY 4 star