arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Union Hotel an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

611 DeGraw Street, Brooklyn, New York (NY), United States 11217

Very good 7.0
Based on 117 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 117 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 5.5
  • Location 7.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.6
  • Service 6.7
  • Value for Money 7.0
  • Food/Dining 6.9

Alan K.
United States
November 24, 2014
Surprisingly Very Nice
Staff friendliness, cleanliness
Very nice stay. For the price I was a anticipating an ant infested place. Instead I found a charming place with a very nice but very small room.

Adam B.
United States
November 10, 2014
Cozy room, thin walls
price, no frills, location
My stay was pleasant, the staff was nice, and the voucher for breakfast at a nearby diner was a clever and delicious way to offer breakfast. The rooms are very small, but if you just need a place to sleep that is clean and comfortable, it's a good deal. The only thing that I will say after two visits now, is that the walls are very thin. My last visit was two nights. The first night was great. The second night, I was trying to sleep, but my neighbors for trying for something else!

Jermaine B.
Jamaica
November 08, 2014
quick, easy and comfy
price, location, receptionist(olga ;)
It served its purpose for a 2day stay..anything longer and I'd go to Manhattan.

Curtis L.
United States
November 04, 2014
Another night at the Union Hotel.
Staff, Convenience, Price
I like staying there (and I stay pretty often), because it's convenient for my needs. Price wise, it's usually suitable for my needs. Yes the rooms are a bit crampt at times, but I've stayed there enough so I know where the best rooms are and shoot for those. Staff is great; very accomodating and friendly. I've gotten to know a few of them well (as I stay there often), and like I said, they treat me very well. Many people complain about the rooms and the location. But again, if you know going in that the rooms aren't the biggest, then you get over that and accept it for what it is. A moderately priced hotel (by NYC standards) in a pretty decent location that allows you to reach Manhattan rather easily. No complaints from me.

Yichen H.
Taiwan
October 31, 2014
Small hotel
Cheap.modern.exclusive.
Rooms r small but it is one of the better hotels in the price range.

Caitlin W.
United States
October 28, 2014
Mixed reviews...
location, breakfast, service
Con - Pilly Sheets and No Conditioner (only shampoo) pros - good location, delicious diner breakfast for free, wifi

Shoshana D.
United States
October 27, 2014
perfect location
clean, good breakfast, location

Karl M.
United States
October 07, 2014
attractive, clean, miniature hotel
friendly staff, clean room, great location
Even for a room in the NYC area, this room was a closet. My wife and I could not maneuver anywhere in the room without getting in each other's way. There was no good place to store luggage, I couldn't move in the shower without bumping into something, and besides the bed, the only other place to sit was wooden folding chair. I might have liked it better if I was travelling alone, but it certainly wasn't a place to relax, just a place to sleep when you weren't out in the city...It's a shame because the staff was certainly very friendly and helpful, and worked to earn repeat business from me, but I won't stay in a room that small again.

Lee T.
Malaysia
August 29, 2014
Very small room
Room is too small, near brooklyn, near subway
The cab fare from JFK Airport is nearly $75 including tips. That's way too high, making the hotel stay way too expensive. You can't really take subway to go to hotel as the road from subway to hotel is too uneven to pull your luggage. The hotel is close to subway, but it's very quiet and dark at night. It's basically located at a industrial park. WIFI is the best, very fast. But the room is TOO SMALL! The design is wrong as the bathroom is quite spacious but the bedroom is too small. I have to put 2 luggage in the bathroom.

sarah L.
Canada
August 29, 2014
pretty decent hotel
location, small hotel, good service
the good: decent room, clean, neat, fresh towels and soap, tv. free wifi, hangers in closet. own a/c unit, good location for me, service was efficient and check in and check out ran smoothly. The not so good: small hotel/room, the door and bathroom door could not be used the same time.tiny space..thin walls, no full length mirror, only bathroom face mirror, no task lighting for bathroom mirror, tiny shower tall, did not get very hot water, coffee in the hotel was crap, even starbucks makes better and that is not saying alot...