arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Good 6.6
Based on 232 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 232 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 5.8
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for Money 7.2
  • Food/Dining 4.9

Roman M.
Czech Republic
February 18, 2016
very good hotel
very good hotel

M L.
United States
January 23, 2016
convenient and inexpensive
location, cleanliness, security
If you are looking for an inexpensive (for midtown Manhattan), secure, and clean place to stay, this is it. Single room is very small but quite adequate. Shared bathrooms and showers are immaculate. You also have access to the recreation center and pool. Only complaint is a very noisy heating system with very loud clanking pipes that awoke me almost hourly. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Lots of reasonable options for eating nearby.

Bri-Ann W.
United States
January 05, 2016
Decent for the money
The amenities, location, and price on new year's eve
The room was basic for our needs. We just needed a place to crash close to the ball drop. There are great amenities that we were unable to use given the 1 night stay. It's close to public transit and decent for the price.

MIAOCHI S.
Taiwan
December 07, 2015
lgood
Clean, convenient, good service
Good but the door of the restroom is noisy

Sung H.
South Korea
November 13, 2015
cheapest accomodation in midtown
price. location. price.
midtown location for the price? i wouldn't ask for more. be ready to sacrifice cleaniness or comfort though.

Daniella C.
Australia
October 25, 2015
Cheap and uncomfortable
Walking distance to public transport, cheaper than other hotels, decent and cheap coin operated laundry
The YMCA was bearable. I got a private room with shared bathroom but the room was absolutely tiny. To try to increase storage they put shelves on the wall but one was so low I banged my head on it so I dismanted it. The heating was broken or off when I first arrived and I was freezing with one very thin blanket. I asked for more and they did give me one more. The room has a musty smell to it. Some kind of repairs were being done because I was often woken by metal banging and hammering noises despite not being a light sleeper. There is only one pillow provided. The gym is phenomenal so if you want a place to stay that isn't as expensive as most NYC hotels but allows you a good work out then this is fine. Not particularly comfortable but you will survive.

Wahi A.
Malaysia
October 02, 2015
Bad experience in the hostel.
Front desk and storage service for luggage
It was horrifying experience for me in many ways for my 2 nights stay there. The location of the hotel is far frm MTA, arrogant security personnel for night shift, lift and gents not well maintained, room space is taken up by unnecessary furniture and gigantic bunk. Major improvement required.

Cong L.
China
May 27, 2015
Very Good
Location, Price, Convenience

Rachel L.
United States
April 09, 2015
Pleasant surprise
Location, location, location
I was pleasantly surprised by our stay here. Our room was bigger and cleaner than anticipated with a full-size bed and a bunk style bed. And the heat certainly worked in the room. The bathrooms and showers cleanliness would probably be my only complaint. The location of the Vanderbilt is VERY centrally located and near everything it needs to be near which was wonderful. Perfect for a budget and I would stay again.

Cheol P.
United States
April 03, 2015
Stay if you must
Location
reminded me of my old dorm in collage. Absute bare essentials. For me I would spend another fifty and stay at a hotel. Bunk Bed with plastic cover made squishing noise all night and hall way was loud all night with backpackers from Europe. I had to go out twice to tell them to be quiet at one in the morning. Detached bathroom down the hall way was not my thing. Floor was dirty and I for got to bring saddles. Yikes.