or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Orient Guest House

Historic Bastakiya Area, Opposite Al Musalla Post Office, Al Fahidi Street, Bur Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates (Show on map)

Book now!

Orient Guest House Dubai - Heritage Room Orient Guest House Dubai - Guest House - Interior Orient Guest House Dubai - Guest House - Interior Orient Guest House Dubai - Courtyard Orient Guest House Dubai - Courtyard Orient Guest House Dubai - Courtyard Cafe Orient Guest House Dubai - Courtyard Cafe Orient Guest House Dubai - Guest House - Majlis Orient Guest House Dubai - Guest House - Decor Orient Guest House Dubai - Guest House - Interior Orient Guest House Dubai - Pool Access at Arabian Courtyard Hotel Orient Guest House Dubai - Zaitoon Spa at Arabian Courtyard Hotel Orient Guest House Dubai - Zaitoon Spa at Arabian Courtyard Hotel Orient Guest House Dubai - Health club access at Arabian Courtyard Hotel Orient Guest House Dubai - Guest House - Exterior Orient Guest House Dubai - Guest House - Exterior
Orient Guest House Dubai - Orient Guest House Orient Guest House Dubai - Orient Guest House Orient Guest House Dubai - Area Attractions - Dubai Creek Orient Guest House Dubai - Area Attractions - Dubai Museum Orient Guest House Dubai - Area Attractions - Gold Souq Orient Guest House Dubai - Area Attractions - Bastakiya Historic Quarter Orient Guest House Dubai - Area Attractions - Meena Bazaar Orient Guest House Dubai - Nearby Al Ghubaiba Bus & Metro Station
Area: Bur Dubai Number of Rooms: 11
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.8

based on
66 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.7
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.2
All reviews (66)
Sort by:
Oliver K. Business travelers Germany, October 5, 2014
A disappointment

Rooms are quiet and the beds apparently good, since we slept well.
4.7
As a very frequent visitor of Dubai I stayed in many hotels, some good, some bad. Orient Guest House is definitely one of the most disappointing experiences. It could easily be turned into a real jewel, boutique hotel style, kind of a small budget Bab al Shams and maybe it was when it opened. Since then apparently nobody cared about the site at all. Some examples: The light fixtures were broken, some with exposed cables, the faucets are not fixed and do not work properly. The interior is old in a filthy sense, the bathroom is more than ready for a complete makeover. For some reason someone installed a pink Baskin Robbins cart in the picturesque yard, very odd and destroying the entire ambiance. Breakfast was mediocre, which is not uncommon in the UAE, but the grim and unfriendly staff is. I would come back if they did a major refurbishment and once the real thing looks like the images on their webpage. But not before.
Theo V. Families with older children Netherlands, August 31, 2014
Stay in old dubai area

location, atmosphere, breakfast
7.3
Fantastic location in traditional house, very good breakfast. One of our rooms was not 100% clean. Not too much luxary, but overall good
Louis J. Business travelers United States of America, July 15, 2014
Nice small place TV could use some improvement.

Great little hide out.
6
Great.. Place all was around walking distance to surrounding area. Will come back soon.
Charles R. Solo travelers United States of America, July 1, 2014
What it is Not- is Important.

Facility, Staff and Location
10
As before - outstanding. One has to understand: This is not your parents Hotel. It is a trip back to what things might have been 50 years ago. It is a visual experience. It is a world apart from what one expects of Dubai. Not over the top, not high tech and not $$$$$. Location is hard to beat at any $$$. Creek taxi, Museum, Shopping...you name it, all within walking distance. Recommend ABC tours while in Dubai. Tell Ancy Ann -Charles recommended you.
Charles R. Solo travelers United States of America, November 26, 2013
Top Notch!

The 'hotel' itself, Location, Atmosphere
9
The most enjoyable stay I have had anywhere. If you want 5 star, in hotel staff, restaurants, bars and spotless....this may not be for you If you want to stay in History...if you have a camera...if you can walk 2 blocks....This is the place. Museum one way...Dubai Creek the other...Restaurants all around...Arabian Courtyard supports this hotel - easy 5 minute walk to the restaurants and bars this does not have. Expect a very good breakfast each day..and expect to buy another digital card for the camera. The photos for the hotel do not do it justice...better in person. Only 7 or so rooms..so it is never crowded. Most people in Dubai did not know it was here...they were impressed. I am totally impressed. Will be back soonest.
Javier R. Groups Spain, October 31, 2013
Needs to improve

Ambiance
5
After reading the rest of comments I am going only to point out what has been missed by other reviewers in our opinion: - This guest house is cozy, and indeed a taste of the past, but for 196 USD /night the bathrooms are too "from the past". OLD and malfunctioning. They just cant have those bathrooms, not acceptable at all, more like a very cheap B&B elsewere. - In general terms all services are understaffed, especially the cleaning services. Rooms are not clean, and you really dont feel like walking barefoot...again not acceptable at this price. - All equipment is too old, furniture looks good being antique as it looks, but Tv, lamps, etc dont need to be that ancient, there's almost no light in the rooms! - It needs some of the money being cashed from the expensive fees to be invested back, first of all in AC split units and refrigerators that are not noisy. Guests are faced with the choice between heat or insomnia in the night due to the noise of the AC....sorry to say but again not acceptable. In brief: needs urgent works on the bathrooms, replacing equipment and hiring more cleaning staff. The standards are not met and it is a shame, we wont come back or recommend it unless this changes
Andre Z. Solo travelers Germany, July 13, 2013
Stylish guest house in wonderful area

location, appearance, staff
8.3
This place is a gem in a mostly super-modern city. Not only is the guest house located in the heritage quarter surrounded by Arabian-style buildings with wind towers, the area is also quiet and just a stone´s throw from the Dubai Creek (perfect for an early morning walk), the Dubai Museum and a Souk. Rooms are clean and stylish, and staff is very friendly and helpful.
Ning Y. Couples China, April 13, 2013
very nice service

breadfast and service and airport transport
8.7
Kathleen L. Solo travelers Australia, March 30, 2013
Did not live up to my expectations.

The location was convenient to key historic features in Dubai, the building & room were charming.
6.3
However, the service was average and no effort was made to assist me when I arrived early off a very long flight. I had enquiries about airport transfers and the response I got was very "off hand", stating the price but saying there was no guarantee the car would be available.
Ziad E. Solo travelers Canada, March 23, 2013
Exotic and at home at the same time

Authentic, private and welcoming
9
I booked the Orient Guest House at the request of my history buff other half and she still talks about how great it was and how she wants to go back. She was safe, happy and in good hands there. She remarked on the exquisite taste in art, displayed in their courtyard. They made us both happy. I'll be joining her next time. Thanks Orient Guest House!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Orient Guest House DubaiOrient Guest House Dubai - Heritage RoomOrient Guest House Dubai - Guest House - InteriorOrient Guest House Dubai - Guest House - InteriorOrient Guest House Dubai - CourtyardOrient Guest House Dubai - CourtyardOrient Guest House Dubai - Courtyard CafeOrient Guest House Dubai - Courtyard CafeOrient Guest House Dubai - Guest House - MajlisOrient Guest House Dubai - Guest House - DecorOrient Guest House Dubai - Guest House - InteriorOrient Guest House Dubai - Pool Access at Arabian Courtyard HotelOrient Guest House Dubai - Zaitoon Spa at Arabian Courtyard HotelOrient Guest House Dubai - Zaitoon Spa at Arabian Courtyard HotelOrient Guest House Dubai - Health club access at Arabian Courtyard HotelOrient Guest House Dubai - Guest House - ExteriorOrient Guest House Dubai - Guest House - ExteriorOrient Guest House Dubai - Orient Guest HouseOrient Guest House Dubai - Orient Guest HouseOrient Guest House Dubai - Area Attractions - Dubai CreekOrient Guest House Dubai - Area Attractions - Dubai MuseumOrient Guest House Dubai - Area Attractions - Gold SouqOrient Guest House Dubai - Area Attractions - Bastakiya Historic QuarterOrient Guest House Dubai - Area Attractions - Meena BazaarOrient Guest House Dubai - Nearby Al Ghubaiba Bus & Metro Station


AS-AGWEB-3A01