arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
All reviews (147)

Business travelers (20)

Couples (55)

Solo travelers (38)

Families with young children (6)

Families with older children (11)

Groups (17)

Excellent
8.6
based on 147 reviews
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Facilities
8.0
Location
9.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Staff Performance
8.3
Value for Money
8.3
Food/Dining
8.5

10 ELIZABETH M.
Australia
November 03, 2012
Great Location, Rooms clean and comfortable.
Location, Comfortable, Friendly staff
Enjoyed our stay at Sokos Vaakuna Hotel. Excellent location right on railway/bus square. Excellent for catching bus to and from airport. Restaurant very nice and breakfast great. Staff very friendly and helpful. Close to good shopping. Easy walk to harbour. Would recommend highly to anyone going to Helsinki.

8.3 Sow Y.
Singapore
May 28, 2012
Convenient shopping mall hotel
Near to airport bus and train terminal
very convenient, 5 minutes walk from the airport bus station. the hotel is located inside the shopping mall. i can see the shopping mall from the room window; which also means the shopper can see inside my room so need to keep window and curtain closed all the time. generally, room is clean and well maintained. can assess internet in the room with password or there are 3 to 4 computers with printer in the lobby centre. breakfast was nice.

8.7 Svetlana R.
Russia
September 10, 2011
Great location!
Location, friendly staff
The location of the hotel is very great, everything is very close: the bus station, railway station, shops, metro etc.! The staff was very friendly. The room was rather big and spatious with 3 big windows with the great view! We can see time and temperature on the street through the window on the building below! ))) But it was cold in the room, and room is a little obsolete.

8.7 Patrick S.
United States of America
July 13, 2011
Nice hotel, great location, excellent service
Central location, excellent service from hotel staff, clean and comfortable room
My wife is Finnish, but not from Helsinki; we have stayed in Helsinki on other previous occasions in other Sokos hotels; the Sokos Vaakuna is considerably bigger than the others we had stayed in (Sokos Albert and Aleksanteri); Sokos Vaakuna is in a very central location (next to bus and train station) within short walking distance from many attractions; but it's not in a quiet and peaceful location; the Sokos Albert and Aleksanteri hotels are in more quiet locations; our only complaint was that the breakfast buffet was far too crowded for the small Sokos staff to handle; the breakfast buffet at the smaller Sokos hotels is lovely and provides a peaceful environment for a meal; on the plus side, we were traveling with a small baby, and the Sokos Vaakuna staff provided cheerful and excellent assistance

8.3 peter F.
Australia
July 17, 2011
Great Location helpfull friendly staff
on site sauna, good restaurant
when making a booking it goes without saying ,you get what you pay for.I noticed a remark when I booked that the rooms were small.so I booked a larger room at a small additional price. Plenty of eating places and grocery shops nearby. Airport bus across the street, also train station. I would stay here if I were to visit this city again.

8.3 chan L.
Hong Kong
May 04, 2011
Great Location but a little bit noisy
Good service & good environment.
We have stay here for one night, the hotel location was great, it's close to the central station & finnair bus station. There are a big supermarket just under the hotel, and lot of restaurant just nearby the hotel. The hotel room is quite big and comfortable & have a great street view. But it's a bit noisy when we are staying on sunday.

8.3 Geoff B.
Australia
April 07, 2011
Aging gracefully
Scandinavian Efficiency
having stayed at the sokos vaakuna some years back it was interesting to see if there were any changes. overall a decent hotel for the money.

9 Ronald L.
United Kingdom
April 01, 2011
Great location with good facilities
Got off the 615 bus at the central rail station and found that the hotel was just on the other side of the station. It only took a couple of minutes to walk to it.
The hotel was very pleasant. Our room was a decent size. It had a roomy bathroom, a large screen tv and was very clean and comfortable. We were very warm inside despite freezing cold weather with lots of snow outside. The staff spoke excellent English and were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast. There was quite a lot of choice although there was not much in the way of hot food. The hotel really is in a central location, very close to all the tourist attractions and several shopping malls.

9 Anna M.
United Kingdom
March 07, 2011
Great breakfast and convenient location
easy to find, free wi-fi, supermarket and department store in same building
this was my first stay in helsinki and this hotel is so centrally located it wasn't really necessary to use public transport at all. it's just across from the railway station and so was easy to get to from the airport bus stop - which is great when you have a lot of luggage. the room (single) was small but as i was only sleeping in it that fit my needs. it was very clean and quiet and the hotel staff were always available and helpful, answering my questions and queries. the best thing for me was the buffet breakfast with a big selection of fruit, salad, breads, cereals and cooked food. that really set me up for the day. all in all, it's great value for money and i would definitely stay there again.

8 lysim O.
Indonesia
February 04, 2011
very strategic, nice hotel
i like the bathroom and the breakfast was delicious
the location of the hotel is really strategic and very convenient and is in the city, just in walking distance and public transportation are everywhere,malls, sight seeing,all reached by bus and tram the bathroom is very nice, the hotel was tidy and modern,i love the breakfast,so delicious and abit touch of local breakfast.