Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 398 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 6.9

craig N. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
riverside
Pleasant stay
Reviewed March 09, 2016

Patricia A. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016
Great position and value for money.
My wife andI have just spent four nights at the Riverside hotel and were totally satisfied. The position was perfect for us as we were attending the Asia Pacific Triennial at the Queensland Art Gallery and GOMA. These galleries were just across the road. In addition it is close to good restaurants, within walking distance of the CBD in Brisbane and the Southbank attractions. We stayed at the Riverside during the previous Triennial three years ago and it is as good now as then. The style is perhaps a little dated, but we do not go to Brisbane just for a stylish hotel. The room was large and well appointed and quiet at night. I t had everything we needed.
Reviewed March 04, 2016

CAROLYN T. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in February 2016
Handy to everything
This hotel, if you get the specials is good value and it is easy to get to both the cultural centre and the city.
Reviewed February 19, 2016

Lindsay E. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Basic riverside hotel in a great location
The hotel is in an amazing location right on the riverside. It is a ten minute walk to Queen Street Mall and adjacent to the Southbank. The hotel itself is quite basic with small rooms and minimal facilities. The swimming pool is tiny and in an odd location. Overall I would suggest the hotel if you want something affordable and convenient.
Reviewed February 18, 2016

Linda R. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2016
good value but you get what you pay for
good value and a good location. only place at Southbank that didn't charge extra for parking. Room was quite small and a bit worn however cleanliness was fine. staff were very pleasant and helpful. The upper level rooms are almost on top of the bridge approach so suggest asking for a lower level room
Reviewed February 18, 2016

SIU Y. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in February 2016
Overrated 4 star hotel
Friendly staff, near the river.
No free Wifi, rooms are too old, far away from city centre.
Reviewed February 15, 2016

TERRY H. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
A short visit
The location is good, close to the CBD and riverside attractions. Also close to South Brisbane station which is on the Airtrain line for the airport. Small but pleasant pool.
Mostly good but spoilt by early morning ie 6am excessive noise from departing guests allowing young children to run up and down the corridor shouting. Also, our room was next to the stairway and we were disturbed late night and early morning by the door to it being allowed to bang shut as people used it. There was a school party on our corridor and I'm guessing they were too young to use the lift so had to use the stairs. Not a good idea to put ordinary guests near a school party. For this reason I would not want to use this hotel again. We mentioned these problems at reception on leaving. If we had been staying longer I would have asked for a room change. The food was good, the pool very small but welcome on a hot day.
Reviewed February 07, 2016

Margaret H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Well travelled
Polite staff; food was good; parking was easy
Room dingy; air con not functioning fully; telephone in room was unusable; curtains did not cover entire window; no blanket available in room; soap dispenser in sheer was empty; poor quality tea and coffee; individual milk in fridge was open- not new/replaced; paint in room was outdated and similar to 2-3 star rating. Probably overpriced and over-rated for standard of room facilities. Bar and restaurant generally appeared 4 star.
Reviewed December 08, 2015

Michael Y. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Bad Choice
Location
This place is 30 year overdue for a renovation. Bathrooms, lighting and decor are disgraceful.
Reviewed November 27, 2015

STEPHEN S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2015
One Night
Location
We only stayed one night at the Hotel, my partner was doing the Brisbane to Gold Coast cycle ride on the Sunday Morning, the Hotel was just a 5 minute walk from the start line - worked out really well for us. Friendly staff, check in and out without any problems. The room had everything we needed, but was very old and worn, but very clean which is important to us. WiFi connection wasn't free which is unusual these days
Reviewed October 20, 2015