arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 395 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 6.9

CAROLYN T.
Australia
February 19, 2016
Handy to everything
This hotel, if you get the specials is good value and it is easy to get to both the cultural centre and the city.

Lindsay E.
Canada
February 18, 2016
Basic riverside hotel in a great location
The hotel is in an amazing location right on the riverside. It is a ten minute walk to Queen Street Mall and adjacent to the Southbank. The hotel itself is quite basic with small rooms and minimal facilities. The swimming pool is tiny and in an odd location. Overall I would suggest the hotel if you want something affordable and convenient.

Linda R.
Australia
February 18, 2016
good value but you get what you pay for
good value and a good location. only place at Southbank that didn't charge extra for parking. Room was quite small and a bit worn however cleanliness was fine. staff were very pleasant and helpful. The upper level rooms are almost on top of the bridge approach so suggest asking for a lower level room

SIU Y.
United Kingdom
February 15, 2016
Overrated 4 star hotel
Friendly staff, near the river.
No free Wifi, rooms are too old, far away from city centre.

TERRY H.
United Kingdom
February 07, 2016
A short visit
The location is good, close to the CBD and riverside attractions. Also close to South Brisbane station which is on the Airtrain line for the airport. Small but pleasant pool.
Mostly good but spoilt by early morning ie 6am excessive noise from departing guests allowing young children to run up and down the corridor shouting. Also, our room was next to the stairway and we were disturbed late night and early morning by the door to it being allowed to bang shut as people used it. There was a school party on our corridor and I'm guessing they were too young to use the lift so had to use the stairs. Not a good idea to put ordinary guests near a school party. For this reason I would not want to use this hotel again. We mentioned these problems at reception on leaving. If we had been staying longer I would have asked for a room change. The food was good, the pool very small but welcome on a hot day.

Margaret H.
Australia
December 08, 2015
Well travelled
Polite staff; food was good; parking was easy
Room dingy; air con not functioning fully; telephone in room was unusable; curtains did not cover entire window; no blanket available in room; soap dispenser in sheer was empty; poor quality tea and coffee; individual milk in fridge was open- not new/replaced; paint in room was outdated and similar to 2-3 star rating. Probably overpriced and over-rated for standard of room facilities. Bar and restaurant generally appeared 4 star.

Michael Y.
Australia
November 27, 2015
Bad Choice
Location
This place is 30 year overdue for a renovation. Bathrooms, lighting and decor are disgraceful.

STEPHEN S.
Australia
October 20, 2015
One Night
Location
We only stayed one night at the Hotel, my partner was doing the Brisbane to Gold Coast cycle ride on the Sunday Morning, the Hotel was just a 5 minute walk from the start line - worked out really well for us. Friendly staff, check in and out without any problems. The room had everything we needed, but was very old and worn, but very clean which is important to us. WiFi connection wasn't free which is unusual these days

Margaret M.
Australia
October 19, 2015
Conference at the Convention Centre
1. Easy walk to convention centre 2. Good value with under cover parking 3 Clean tidy rooms
Great

Lynnette S.
Australia
October 19, 2015
Riverside review
Location, Staff and breakfast
Generally good. The bathroom was small in particular the shower. Location is good with Southbank and the city within walking distance.