Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.7
Based on 33 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 33 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.5
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for Money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 8.4

Brian B. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 8 nights in September 2015
convenient base in tropical surroundings
beautiful beach and tropical rainforest setting, convenient location to many attractions and day trips
We really enjoyed our stay at Kewarra. I was doing work at the local uni (only 10 min away) and Kewarra turned out to be a much better base than hotels 45 min south in Cairns. The beautiful beach and tropical rainforest setting was absolutely amazing. We stayed in early/mid September and the weather was perfect for sleeping with the windows open and just the ceiling fans (no air con needed). We loved waking each morning to the sounds of the kookaburras and other jungle birds, and were just amazed at the local colony of flying fox bats that moved around each dawn and dusk. We had a hire car which made it so convenient to do day trips to Kuranda, Port Douglas and the Great Barrier Reef, down to the waterfront and esplanade in Cairns, and even up to the Daintree. We thought we were settling on a jungle vs. beachfront room, to save some money, but we're really glad we stayed in the rainforest location (room 70 - a bit of a walk to the main lodge but just a dreamy setting). Only very minor complaints were the hot water was limited so we had to be careful about the length of our showers (3 of us), and the restaurant's menu got boring after 8 days (assuming most won't stay as long so this won't be an issue). We would absolutely recommend to others!
Reviewed September 23, 2015

robert P. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
Bliss
Wildlife tranquility sunsets
Perfect honeymoon location - staff couldn't be more helpful, nature is right on your doorstep, beach a delight, ideal base to explore the barrier reef and learn about aboriginal heritage. Wish we could have stayed longer than4 days
Reviewed August 19, 2015

Wai C. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Disappointing massage & spa service
1. Surrounded by a very natural and tranquil rainforest, it gives the stay very comfortable and relaxing. Room design matches well the whole environment.. And I specially love the spacious bathroom.
The whole 3-day 2-night stay should have completed with a perfect ending if the confirmed massage & spa booking was delivered on schedule. It was a real surprise to us and of course a very bad experience to receive an unacceptable service that there is no show of the staff as well as massage specialists while we were waiting at the spa for over 15 mins. We did not realize what happened but finally got back to the counter to give the spa manager a call. It was very disappointing that her explanation was so defensing and not responsible for our confirmed spa treatment. Our stay finally got no chance to enjoy the spa and we will never try that spa again.
Reviewed April 28, 2015

James C. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014
relaxed with understated exclusivity
staff, service and surroundings
Brilliant! Catered perfectly for my needs a an individual as well as my intermittent visiting family including a 17month old. All staff gave me (us) flawless service, but special mention to Harry & Garry who were impeccable ! Having sought similar small intimate resorts in Fiji, the Maldives and Penang; Kewarra Beach Resort and Spa is an exceptional gem !
Reviewed January 04, 2015

Tsang T. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014
Great relaxing hotel
Nice environment, good service and just next to the beach!
Super nice stay! Love Cairns and would definitely come back!
Reviewed October 27, 2014

Sarah L. from Jordan
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Rainforest retreat
service, beach access, areas to explore
Lovely staff and service. Keep doors and windows closed as it is in a natural environment. Yoga is very popular and the pagoda it's held in gets crowded so get in early. Isolated resort so own car or taxi or bus is required to get to shops / attractions. But resort is fine if you want to just stay at the resort and enjoy the beach and rainforest setting.
Reviewed September 26, 2014

Carol G. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Tranquil
Location surroundings quiet
Was wonderful pleasant beautiful place to be serenity a lovely restfully holiday
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Sarah L. from Jordan
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Rainforest retreat
Made it easy to have a group, beach and rainforest setting
Beautiful setting, very attentive and accommodating staff Reminder that it is a resort setting, need own transport to shops or eateries. But perfect if you want to just escape and stay in one place 10minute drive to palm cove beach, restaurant and shopping area - worth visiting
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Kelly R. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Our Stay Was Amazing
Food,Staff and the gardens
Wow Kewarra Beach Resort is a fantastic resort. The restaurant was just amazing. A very relaxing resort. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay there again.Chris & Kelly Ross
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nona P. from United States
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013
best place to stay for relaxation or sightseeing
clean, great staff, super resort, best location
We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Kewarra Beach Resort and Spa. We are planning to return with our families next year. The private beach is great. The staff was excellent. It's very comfortable, relaxing, and makes you want to stay longer. The shuttle was at the airport when we arrived. The Yoga classes and garden tours around the resort are great. Pizza night on the beach with a DJ nightlife is grand. Even the locals come to join in on Friday nights. This was a fantastic time at the Resort and Spa. We will be returning.
Reviewed July 25, 2013