Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 105 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 105 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 7.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.9
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.7
Sort by

Gaetano D. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2015
very unheplful
room
not helpful
Reviewed April 30, 2015

Craig P. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2015
Winter weekend
Quiet, dining, staff
Just beautiful in every way
Reviewed April 20, 2015

Michael W. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Wonderful stay!
Large room, very clean and a great location, minutes from Canberra City by cab.
Third stay at this hotel and it did not disappoint. Very comfortable bed, courteous staff and the hotel is in a beautiful setting. Highly recommended!
Reviewed March 09, 2015

Mitchell C. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Royalty
Clean, spacious and luxurious.
Fantastic!
Reviewed March 08, 2015

Melanie G. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Pile on the smoked salmon!
Splashing out for valet parking, concierge to help with your bags and a wonderful ambien
We had originally booked in at suites on Northborne which was a huge mistake from the start. Stayed the first night and was woken up with grinders and jackhammers next door at 5.45am and was so upset we decided to check out as it wasn't worth the risk of ruining the rest of the stay. Decided to book PH as a treat, was so glad we did. We were travelling with a young baby and was conscious of her screaming the place down but as soon as we arrived life became immediately stress free with the arrival of doorman and concierge. Bags were whisked away and our car parked (had to pay $25 but it was so worth not worrying about ticket inspectors etc) and we were warmly welcomed. Asked if we wanted to upgrade to the ambassador lounge access for a mere $60 I immediately said yes. After checking into our comfortable room I oohed and aaghed at the beautifully appointed clean marble bathroom with its heavenly deep bath and rain head shower. John the doorman pointed out a few scuff marks and furniture that needed to be replaced. If I hadn't worked 5 star myself I'd probably would have complained but I'm sure they know all about it. The ambassador lounge was just a treat. Lovely cold continental breakfast with Bircher Meusli and my favourite smoked salmon. Fresh coffee, fruit, pastries - I felt so lucky to be alive to eat so well! All the staff made us feel welcome, even when my husband strolled in with the baby in a sling. Most 5 star establishments don't like babies because of the noise and discomfort to other guests but I suppose we felt so at ease that the baby didn't cry once...
Reviewed February 08, 2015

Geoffrey O. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2015
for the most expensive hotel in act - not worth it
our first room the bed head was worn and looked disgusting. we were moved to a different room near the restaurant and had the noise of moving tables for the rest of the night and morning. the "vanity packs" in the bathroom had been used and or were empty. not what we expected.
Reviewed February 03, 2015

Elias E. from South Africa
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Superb
Comfort, location, food
Most enjoyable
Reviewed February 02, 2015

H K. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
The Only Place To Stay In Canberra
Location, Style, Staff
Excellent stay with helpful staff, great location, spacious and comfortable room and delicious food - what more do you want?
Reviewed January 31, 2015

Margaret M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014
Dissapointing
the gym, the bathroom and the room size.
Overall a disappointing stay. Room air conditioning outlet over the bed, massively overpriced mini bar. No delivery of daily newspaper. Breakfast terrible 25 min wait for coffee, no bacon, table not cleared for a long time.
Reviewed December 29, 2014

WengWah T. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Excellent hotel with great customer service.
Great design, Clean room, good location, near Lenox Garden.
Great experience, friendly and responsive customer service. Good location and accessibility. Well decorated with classic design.
Reviewed December 13, 2014