Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 144 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for Money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 7.1
Sort by

David R.
Australia
October 27, 2015
It's the simple things that make it feel un 5 star
It's a great location. The rooms are very nice and there is a great pool.
There were simple things that could have made our stay much better. Darwin is a hot town. Our room was not ready when we arrived at 1:30pm. I was suprised when they said the earliest check-in was 3pm but was told that they'd call as soon as the room was ready. We wandered around town in the heat for 2 hours but the phone didn't ring. We walked back to the hotel to find the room had been ready for a while but they didn't call to let us know that. As we exited the lift on our floor, we were confronted by a strange odour that I assume is from some sort of cleaning product. The same unpleasant smell permeated the room. As I said before, Darwin is a hot town and it would have been great to have walked into a nice cool room. Surely the staff could have turned the air con on since they knew we were coming. I have had much lower rated hotels do this for us so we were comfortable upon arrival. We paid extra for the buffet breakfast but we were wishing we saved our money and went out somewhere. The hot food was luke warm at best and the flies sitting on and buzzing around the cold food stopped me from sampling this product. There was no effort from the staff to get rid of them. I have stayed in many hotels where the client experience is the highest priority for staff. That doesn't seem to be the case at The Hilton Darwin.

Burton C.
United States
October 22, 2015
Nice clean convenient
Location, access to dining, access to sites
The hotel is very nice, and standard Hilton quality. Easy access to restaurants and shopping

Suzette S.
Australia
October 20, 2015
2 girls in Darwin
Views of Darwin Harbour from bed, in heart of town- but away frombackpackers, a little bit of lux in a very small town.
Great stay, glad I booked the Hilton. When I go back with friends again will book again, can't wait. If there is anything that could be different would be the pillows- they were a little sad, but I spend hundreds on mine, this wouldn't be very fiscal in the economy rooms. Staff were very helpful, and a pleasure to deal with- not a common theme with nice hotels, everyone from passing the cleaning ladies, to asking for help from desk staff and concierge, everyone was genuinely pleasant, happy to be there, and happy to help.We didn't eat at hotel, so no rating- I had to add something to submit-the menus looked good though and I had 3 vego options- there's usually 0-1.

S J.
Thailand
September 20, 2015
Disappointing
The staff were apologatic in respect to my complaints, It was quiet and central
1. Arriving a little before 3.00pm I was disappointed my room was not yet available. 2. Entering restaurant first morning at about 8.15am to a half full restaurant there were no glasses for juice available: "they are on their way sir", so I thought I'd take some cereal, no dishes to be found, "sorry sir, but we're trying very hard!" Glasses arrive 'red hot', Discussion with very polite young lady staffer on my complaints met with apologies and a request for my room number??? 3.Next morning all OK and a lady staffer particularly asked me if all was now OK? it was except my milk jug had a drowning fly in it! 4.Late check out at 12.00pm was appreciated but possibly that causes delay in having rooms ready for influx of visitors ex flights arriving mid day to early afternoon. 5.Regarding above point, annoying to arrive back at my room on one occasion at past 3.30pm maid was just going in to tidy room when all I wanted to do was have a shower and a rest after some hours out in hot sun. Long time since I stayed in a Hilton, times seem to have changed and I shall avoid the group in the future .

Mr H.
Thailand
September 20, 2015
Treated like a guest
Location , cleanliness and upto date decor, executive lounge
Executive lounge a bonus Good food

Nikitha V.
Australia
September 15, 2015
Hilton review
Location staff cleanliness
Good stay helpful staff

Angela R.
Australia
August 28, 2015
Not my first choice for next visit
the food and restaurant staff
problem at check in, problem with internet, room not serviced properly, inorrect information given about bus transport. Whilst these issues were resolved reasonably quickly, I don't think they should have happened in the first place. It's the little things that make a pleasant stay, Hilton seemed to be most interested in making money, not making the customer feel special.

dave N.
Australia
August 17, 2015
review
location

Scott M.
Australia
August 12, 2015
Very Good
Easy, comfortable, clean
Good

Kim D.
United States
August 06, 2015
Expected more from a Hilton
Location, staff, room size
I have stayed in hotels all over Asia from 1 to 5 stars and this is the first hotel I have been to that did not offer complimentary water but charged for everything. They advertise free wifi which was a big reason I picked the hotel but after a limited use there was a charge for the service. I found it cheaper to buy a broadband stick then to use their service. There was a very limited choice in TV channel selection I guess so they could sell their movies on demand. It is a nice hotel with a good staff and location but for what they charge I was not impressed that they were so money hungry. I will not stay there again.